We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tispy Gypsies” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Martyn House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ellijay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Martyn House
Ranked #1 of 3 Ellijay B&B and Inns
Longwood, Florida, United States
1 review
“Tispy Gypsies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

What a great retreat! This was a girls trip for me, without husband and kids. I do a girls trip every year and usually to a big city, beach, or tourist town. I have to say I loved being nested in the woods and secluded from the hustle and bustle. We had 5 tipsy gypsies total and our hosts at The Martyn House were so gracious. The farm-to-table dinners were awesome as were the breakfasts. I would recommend this destination to anyone that likes great food and hospitality. The tents are so creative and comfy, beds and bedding were fantastic. I loved the campfire experiences and hanging out in JoAnn’ studio after dinner. Hope to see you glaming soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I have never been glamping and our experience at the Martyn House was wonderful. With indoor plumbing, it is as close to camping as I will get. Rick and JoAnn are entertaining hosts and fabulous cooks. Each meal was a treat and I would highly recommend the farm-to-table dinner. We felt very welcome. Three other couples were also glamping the same weekend. It was fun getting to know each one around a roaring campfire with s'mores. JoAnn even had a night time surprise for someone's anniversary. The weekend was a very relaxing retreat from city life filled with hiking and biking adventures. After touring Rick and JoAnn's indiviual workshops, I left feeling very creative and inspired. And the hisory of the property is interesting too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

We selected early September so we could experience the Farm to Table dinner. Turns out there was so much to experience in addition to the wonderful dinner of incredibly fresh foods and wines from a local vineyard. The breakfasts were exceptional. Each morning there was a new and different extremely healthy entree. JoAnn and Rick are lovely, warm people and have created an almost surreal venue. We found Glamping very glamorous and comfortable. This is one adventure I will definitely repeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I celebrated my birthday with five friends and enjoyed it so much I wrote a blog about the experience. http://gocomics.typepad.com/7day_menu_planner/

I gave the experience 5 stars because every part of it was terrific: food, "rooms", hosts and surroundings. The place even has resident cats and dogs who are part of the welcome "committee." From all reports, everyone had a great time in the north Georgia woods.

Room Tip: All the rooms/tents are good. I have no favorite or ones to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I loved EVERYTHING about the Martyn House. JoAnn and Rick both, were such amazing individuals. I can't begin to explain the warmth from them, their hospitality, generosity, and passion for what they do for others. They opened up THEIR home, and shared it with US, to explore. Our accommodations were so incredibly beautiful, (We had the Hummingbird Haven) tidy, clean, and COZY, not to mention our sweet and occasional escorts Maya, Grace, Ruby and
Essie! JoAnn & Rick truly went out of their way to make our mini vacation one we will NEVER forget. Did I forget to mention they are AMAZING chefs too! We will certainly be back...wish it could be tomorrow!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peachymomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft worth texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and treated very well through out our stay. It was very relaxing. It was very cold in fact the coldest it has been since they opened but we were kept warm in the tent by the heater and outside by the warm fire pit. The breakfast's were unbelievable, very fresh, tasty and felt like it was gourmet and plenty of it both mornings. We did not do the dinners since we were out and about but the other guest said we really missed out on some great food. Next time we hope to do dinner. Enjoyed meeting other people and sitting around the firepit and having a great time. The time of year was beautiful with the fall colors, very nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caligal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We had the best time Glamping. The "tents" are comfortable and homey. We went in late October when it was fairly chilly at night, and the heaters in the tents were more than adequate to keep us toasty warm. JoAnn and Rick are amazing people, talented artists, and remarkable hosts. We went during a Farm to Table dinner and that was awesome as well. The other Glampers were great people and we made new friends. The surrounding area was great for shopping, horseback riding, and just relaxing. We are already planning our next trip!

Room Tip: There are 4 spectacular "glamping" tents. They are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ellijay
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mountain View Inn
21.1 mi away
Forrest Hills Mountain Resort and Conference Center
17.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Reid Ridge Lodge
Reid Ridge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Blue Ridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
18.3 mi away
Seventy-four Ranch
Seventy-four Ranch
#2 of 4 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blue Ridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martyn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martyn House

Property: The Martyn House
Address: 912 Flat Branch Rd, Ellijay, GA 30540-1716
Region: United States > Georgia > Ellijay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ellijay
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Martyn House is a unique B&B where camping is glamorous and luxury in the wild means fine linens and gourmet meals. We have four luxury sleeping tents each with their own complete bathroom. Each tent is secluded on our 18 acres of woods.In addition to renting the individual tents, you can reserve the entire property. We can accommodate four couples or eight individuals for a truly unique weekend experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Martyn House Hotel Ellijay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing