We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Gite in Tranquil area”
other traveller has booked this property
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Alfresco Dining at its best! Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
La Maison Bleue (sleeps 4)
Alfresco Dining at its best!
Lounge
Lounge
Dining area
Coffee and croissants.... what better way to start the day!
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bed
Garden
Back Garden
Enjoy traditional French Markets.
There are fetes and festivals in abundance
Within easy reach is the Golfe du Morbihan
Another deserted beach waiting to be discovered....
A trip to Brittany wouldn't be complete without a crêpe or two!
Nearby medieval town of Malestroit
So much to see and do .....
Canal paths - perfect for walking and cycling
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Treal, Morbihan, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cheshiref...
Cheshire England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely Gite in Tranquil area ”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have stayed before in one of Nicolas Gites and the first thing to say is that the Gites are exceptionally clean and well equipped.
Maison Bleue is well located in the village of Treal with a local shop providing most that you could require with supermarkets in Guer about 10km away.
Whichever village or town you visit locally will not disappoint. Take a look at Nicolas recommendations in the information booklet in the Gite and you wont go far wrong.
We love Malestroit and went there a few times to soak up the atmosphere.
The local french are in the main very friendly and happy to pass the time of day.
Well worth a visit. One week is not long enough

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2017
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday!
I have to agree with you, Malestoit is a lovely town and it hasn't changed a bit in 20 years!. Every other year Malestoit hosts a medieval weekend, and it really does feel like you have been transported back in time!.. the architecture, cobbled streets, traditional shops just add a few knights on horseback!.
I hope that you visited the Malestroit on market day!, and if you did I bet you didn't leave empty handed!..
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we really do appreciate it, and once again, I am so pleased that you had a lovely holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshiref...
Cheshire England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect location for exploring Brittany”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is the second time we have used one of Nicolas Gites and we were not disappointed. Superbly fitted out and spotlessly clean.
We spent a lot of time visiting local towns. Special mention for Josselin,Ploermel,Auray,Questembert, Saint-Martin-sur-Oust, La Gacilly and only 10KM away Malestroit which has a lovely center with lovely Creperies. Basically you can't go wrong.
Ploermel has several large supermarkets to stock up. Damgan has a lovely beach and the sea is not to cold, Just don't expect Med temps. We will be sure to return

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Really pleased that you had a good holiday!.
You have discovered all of our favourite places!.. I hope that you sampled the delights of the boulangerie at Saint Martin sur Oust. If not, next time you must try a Kouign-amann !...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brian h
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Gite in a lovely area.”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay. Gite is very clean (not always the case in some gites we have stayed in) and well equipped. Village is quiet and convenient for visiting the many interesting places to visit. It's location a few km the Nante Brest Canal was a real bonus. We did miss any Wi Fi connection but it is available a few minutes away at the owners property. The village only has a small shop/bar which stocks most essentials including bread but only a limited amount. Croissants only available to order but the very friendly lady has no problem doing this for you. Just ask and they appear each morning. Altogether a good value gite run by a highly professional and very friendly english couple. If you do get any problems they will instantly sort them out. Not that we had any. Lovely area and well worth visiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Liked least: Lack of Wi fi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison Bleue.
The Nantes Breast canal has fantastic tow paths which are great for walking or cycling (no hills!.. always a bonus!).
When you have exhausted the canal you must try the enormous Voie Verte network of tarmaced disused railway lines. Also great for walking and cycling, and again no hills!
La Maison Bleue is our only gite without wifi but I am pleased that you were able to use our internet office which is dedicated to our gite guests.
Once again, so pleased that you enjoyed exploring our corner of Southern Brittany
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOB_13
Mullaghbawn nul United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chillaxed!”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I have just returned from 2 weeks in La Maison Bleu with my wife and daughter. The accommodation was clean and well equipped with good ameneties. My daughter did miss access to WIFI although this is available a few kilometres away with good directions from house to the office. Nicola thoroughly prepares her guests with research in advance on festivals and events of interest which she sent by email. A car is a must on this holiday to access the house and I was glad I hired one with a good in built sat nav which guided me from Paris. Treal is easy access to some of the most beautiful towns and villages I have ever visited in Brittany including 30 -45 minutes away Gacilly ( incredible Japanese photographic exhibition extending into forest); Rochefort en Terre (Artists of every hue); 1-1.5 hours Saint Malo (walled city and beautiful beach); Renne (lumieres). We enjoyed the firework displays around Bastille Day in Malestroit and Gacilly but remembered with sadness victims in Nice.
Locals were friendly and invited us into their houses. The Boulangerie less than 5 min walk was multipurpose and also served as restaurant, bar, coffee shop, and provided essential groceries with wider ranges available 10km away. Enjoyed reading and having quiet glass of wine outside bungalow. In summary it's quiet, rural, ideal for relaxation, good quality accommodation ; car essential. Bonne vacances!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at La Maison Bleue. I couldn't agree more, the outdoor photographic exhibition at La Gacilly this year is magnificent. Well worth a visit for anyone visiting Brittany. (Every year La Gacilly hosts a different photographic exhibition...and every year it is equally as good as the year before)
Rochefort en Terre has this year (2016) won the award for being 'The most preferred village that the French like to visit'. so you are in good company!
Once again, thanks again for your review and I am so pleased that you are relaxed after your holiday in Brittany!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley W
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable gite and a good base for seeing the area”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Maison Bleue is a very comfortable gite in the very pleasant village of Treal. It had all the equipment in the kitchen that anyone would need and British freeview TV in the lounge. The gite was cool which was very welcome during the lovely weather we had. It was a bonus having Nicola and Mark (the English owners) nearby and they were extremely helpful answering any questions we had. Treal is a very pleasant village and is very central for exploring other towns and going to the coast. All in all we enjoyed a very comfortable stay, the only downside was not having WiFi in the property, however, we were able to access free WiFi at the owners property very nearby. I would thoroughly recommend Maison Bleue for a very comfortable and stress free holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2015
The stone walls certainly do help to keep the house cool during the summer months and this summer has been a scorcher!

So pleased that you were able to make use of the internet office which is about a 2 - 5 minute drive from La Maison Bleue. This office had a computer for our guests to access the internet and collect emails and wifi. This office is dedicated only for our guests and is completely free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Brittany in October!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ann b
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great property and area to explore, information in gite just great for getting about and the gite itself was perfect size and equipment good, no doubt will be back again sometime!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
So pleased that you enjoyed your stay in La Maison Bleue. The location of Bleue is great, on the edge of a small village, just two minutes walk to the local bar / shop and restaurant for those warm early morning croissants ! It is also just 30 minutes from the coast, numerous chateaux and the major cities of Rennes or Vannes. You can't go anywhere without stumbling across fantastic small villages and towns... a great base for exploring Brittany at its best! Looking forward to welcoming you again to Le Maison Bleue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn C
Martlesham Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want a warm, comfortable, Gite this is it”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were attracted to the property because it is owned by UK owners and therefore had all the equipment we required plus UK Satellite TV. We can speak a little (very little) French but, watching French TV is not something we like to do.

We were visited by the renting agent possibly the owner who is English and who lives close by. She made sure we had everything we needed and brought a bottle of red wine.

The village is small and locals are friendly. There are some lovely evening walks if you are not already tired out starting from the gite. During one evening walk we heard two Cuckoo's at the same time but in different woods, we still have not heard one here in the UK

The area has some lovely forests and deciduous woods. There are gentle hills with glorious views and yes, beautiful villages.

Unfortunately, there are no Wi-Fi facilities at the property. They are however available at the owner or renting agents property approximately 2.5 miles away in a small office attached to the house. There is a computer or if you have a laptop, a Wi-Fi connection.

A great place to stay and visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2015
La Maison Bleue is located on the edge of a small Breton village so whilst in a quiet location it is only a two minute walk for those early morning croissants!

It is important to us that are guests have the best possible holiday and therefore we are always available should there be any problems or if our guests would like any information about the area, house buying or anything in fact!

There are so many signposted walks in Brittany. Our Walkers Packs contain hundreds of walks within the local area. Southern Brittany is also fantastic for cycling, whether you are looking for a gentle cycle along the Nantes/Brest canal towpath or the massive network of tarmaced disused railways but for the more energetic Mountain Biking is a big thing in these parts!

The surrounding villages are absolutely delightful, La Gacilly, home to Yves Rocher is one of my favourites. The tiny lanes are crammed with artisans making felt slippers, jewellery, macaroons, garden ornaments, paintings and so much more.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing