We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fanfreda Gite

Full front view of Fanfreda Gite
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full front view of Fanfreda Gite
The bedroom has a 7 foot bed, bedside tables with lamps, wardrobe and chest of drawers. The other half of the bedroom, has two easy chairs, books, VHS tapes, occasional table and lamp.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Full front view of Fanfreda Gite
The bedroom has a 7 foot bed, bedside tables with lamps, wardrobe and chest of drawers.
The other half of the bedroom, has two easy chairs, books, VHS tapes, occasional table and lamp.
The dining room has a table and 4 chairs and bed settee and a wood burning stove.
Dining and sitting area.
The kitchen has cooker, microwave, utensils, crockery and cutlery.
Rose arch outside Fanfreda Gite
This is a view of part of the guest garden
A photo taking looking out across the meadow at sunset
Another sunset view.
The bathroom showing shower cubicle, Vanity Unit etc
Wood burner in the Lounge/Kitchen area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lussac-Les-Eglises, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 18 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We arrived at the gite feeling a bit stressed and cold. However, we were greeted by warm smiles and shown around. There was a lovely fire to cheer us up and the gite is beautifully clean and very well equipped. Val and Jill were very helpful and managed to be around to help if needed, but not in the least obtrusive. We have two large dogs and the secure garden was an absolute blessing. All in all, despite the November weather, we had a wonderful time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Hello Robina and Richard
Thank you for the review that you wrote us.
It was lovely meeting you both in November and good that you found the gîte comfortable. The two dogs are a credit to you you, they are really well behaved for such big dogs.
Now you know where we are you are always welcome for a return visit.
Happy New Year to you all

Val and Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quiet, tranquil.”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was beautifully situated, guiet, peacfull, and we had fun with the cats! Val and Jill welcomed us then left us alone to enjoy our stay but if we needed help they were immediately available. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Hello
Thank you for the good review that you left us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Fanfreda Gîte.
If we can be of any further help you know where we are, you are welcome to back and stay with us again. Happy New Year

Regards
Val and Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert O
Phuket, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis , restful friendly and with hidden delights.”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

After a strenuous drive from Lyon of nearly 7 hours, we arrived late and tired. Both Val and Jills welcome and support was natural and comforting.
The gite is spacious ,warm and has everything you need to use as a base to discover the quiet rural side of France. In fact it has a farm vibe and the delightful welcome from both Harley the dog and Poive the tabby cat will stay with us for many years. Add to this the most comfortable bed we have experienced on our trip and he cosines of a log fire at night were added benefits. Very conveniently placed to Le Dorat for sightseeing and buying provisionas, we highly reccommend the gite for somewhere to wind down relax and to rejunivate .
Thank you girls for the experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Hi
Thank you for the good review that you sent us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
If you would like to stay again, you know where we are, you are more than welcome. Happy New Year to you both

Regards

Val and Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glennandm...
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a little bit of paradise Jill and Val have here. Stayed at Fanfreda for 9 nights. Beautiful gite, nice and clean had everything one needed. Bedroom spacious, no TV but stacks of books and video to watch. No need for TV anyway, so much to see. Nice welcome pack was provided, lots to do in yhe area. We bbq nearly every night and sat outside till late. It easy very very hot beginning September. Val and Jill were such lovely ladies, lots of knowledge of the area. Montmorillon just 20 min up the road market of about 50 stores on Wed. Go early, get there for 8am. Free parking. Chauvigny market about 45 min, is the best though 160 stalls on Saturday. Just fabulous, get there early as well as this town gets so busy. We were there about 7.45 lucky to get parking just by the market as we came into the town centre. Lussac-les-Églises is just up the road from the gite, there a is a SPA for fresh baked baguettes. Closes at 12.30 till 2pm I think. Fanfreda is actually in Peu Moustiers. I've put photos below, you pass the sign that says turn left to Lussac-les-Églises go straight on about 100m then it's a tiny road to your right, go up the road turn right and follow the sign to the house and gite. But for anyone that loves the peace and quiet and the country side then this is the gite for you. Thanks Val, Jill so nice to have met you, wish you all the best and hopefully we will see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Fanfreda Gite.
Thank you for this complimentary review of both the gite and the surrounding area, we were very touched by your comments. We look forward hopefully to meeting you again in the future. Val and Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J David G
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent gite, wonderful countryside”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Wonderful comfortable gite, with everything you need, and the added bonus of the Tour de France passing close by. The owners are available to help with any queries but leave you alone to enjoy the peace an quiet when you want it. The perfect place to escape the hustle and bustle, but within reach of the towns and cities of the area if you get withdrawal symptoms!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thank you for your complimentary review. We are glad that you found both the gite and the surrounding area to your liking. The added bonus was the Tour de France, which passed really quite close to us this year. Hopefully we will see you again in the future, you are more than welcome. Val and Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Countryside Getaway”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely Home from home with a French feel.Everything item you could need is in the house.
Fantastic setting,very helpful owners close by,but also let you enjoy your time.
Villages around the area are spectacular,plenty to see and do.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1-Dizzy-L...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A little like Dr Who's tardis!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

It may look quite small in the photographs but this little gem is deceptive. We booked a last minute break and I chose this property more based on cost and area. We didn't expect too much but we were very pleasantly surprised. After driving through the night we were allowed to arrive early as there were no outgoing tenants. On arrival we were presented with 6 freshly laid eggs for out breakfast. The owners were very friendly and helpful, both in emails prior to arrival and when we got there. After introductions and instructions on how to get the best out of the bite, the owners become discrete and leave you to enjoy your stay. It is reassuring though that they are right next door if you need anything. Inside the bite, there is everything you need to enjoy your stay. You can cook a meal or enjoy one ready made. The bedroom/sitting room upstairs is delightfully cosy with views of the sunsets. This give is family friendly as well as a gret retreat for couples who just want to get away from it all and relax.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing