We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Reviewed 9 January 2008

I have to visit Huddersfield on business and looked up this hotel on Tripadvisor. The staff are very friendly in booking the room and with arranging local transport. Pub is a friendly atmosphere with a mix of locals and hotel guests. Was able to get some good sightseeing advice from locals over a pint one evening. Agree with other reviews that the rooms are a little outdated, but everything is clean and acceptable.

This hotel is also quiet. I slept like a baby after a long international flight. Would book again on future trips.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fleetwood_brougham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Durker Roods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2007

Stayed here in July. My sister had her wedding reception here. The whole day was so well organised and the staff were just brilliant. The breakfast was spot on. Would definately recommend. The only minus is the rooms are a tad dated but are clean and have everything you need.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2004

A friendly welcome (from both staff and locals) was on offer as I checked in. My room was comfortably furnished (albeit with a hint of '70s chic! especially in the grey lino & avacado suite of the bathroom) being in a modern extension to the original building. The bathroom did have more than a whiff of old-people's-home about it however which was a little off-putting.

Good food very reasonably priced was on offer so I was surprised to find I was eating alone.

Perhaps not the exquisite hotel that I was expecting but a very comfortable stay none-the-less.

1  Thank salli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
43
Reviewed 21 May 2004

The Durker Roods Hotel was quite simply fabulous. The staff were all very charming, and also very attractive, some even sexy! The food was mouth watering, and the rooms were exquisite. I would certainly recommend a stay here to anyone.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Northampton
13
Reviewed 2 March 2004

I enjoyed every minute of my stay here. Mouth watering foo. Delightful staff. Beautiful rooms and hotel. I'll definately come again.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antje W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank gegegouvry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing