We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab 60th birthday celebration”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Reviewed 3 December 2012

we recently had a surprise 60th birthday family and friends meal for my mum at this hotel, we had a party of 20 and not one person left unhappy. the food and service was top class, nothing was too much trouble. the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was excellent.
I will definitely be back and recommend to other people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LamornaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
There are newer reviews for Durker Roods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

I can't praise this family run hotel enough me and my family have been numerous times for meals it's great value for money food is locally sorced and totally amazing nothing is too much for this friendly crew. Only wish I could go much more often but as I live in the north of Scotland ( Lossiemouth ) it's not possible. Keep doing what you do and I see you all again soon. Thank you for always making our visits special. Kerry

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lilchef12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed overnight as we were attending a dinner for a large group. The room was rather faded and had seen better days. The linen looked as though it should have been replaced by now. The bed was comfortable though. The shower height could not be adjusted, but the water was nicely hot. The breakfast was not of the standard expected following the excellent dinner the night before. We could not sit where we wanted to as the tables for 2 were against a wall and we couldn't sit at at table for 4 near the window. It would mean that the young lad, who served us would have to reset the table after we had finished - big deal! What was more annoying was that as we left a couple sat in the window table and were served by the lady waitress without being made to move - she obviously didn't see a problem. There was no soya milk, which in this day should be available. Only one tea bag in the pot for 2. The food for the dinner was excellent, well presented and served by very helpful staff (all female), which is why we particularly noticed the young lad in the morning being unhelpful and forgetting that it is customers who pay his wages.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights to attend a wedding which was being held there.
The reception we got when we arrived was very good with staff offering to help with our bags. The room was homely and very clean. We had a meal in the bar which was excellent. The young man behind the bar was very attentive.
The wedding went off without a hitch and the staff were extremely helpful. The manager was very professional but also very friendly and approachable.
We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank des736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Booked a one night stay dinner, bed and breakfast so we could see a show in Holmfirth. Hotel clean and staff were great - eager to help and very friendly. Food was lovely - both in the evening and at breakfast. Would definitely use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranFairclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

As we had been to this place before for a meal which was outstanding, we returned for our anniversary meal and had a very poor evening.It did not help that there was a wedding reception on at the time which the music and noise drounded any chance of conversation.At the time of booking we were told there was not a wedding on that day.We ordered exactly the same starter and main courses as last time but this time there was a vast difference. Not only were the portions a lot smaller,the quality was a let down.My husband ordered the fish course with mushy peas and found a big lump of ham in the middle of the peas when he was halfway through the meal.We didn,t complain but mentioned this to the manageress when she came to collect the plates, only to be told that the menu was to be changed next Monday and ham would be in with the peas.No real apology that would have be enough.We were told that the chefs had changed recently which we could tell with the quality of the food.The young waitress did her best which made this review not as harsh as i could have made it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank valkelly315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We arrived for Sunday lunch and made to feel very special by the manager who said she was expecting us and told us our table was ready when we were. We ordered drinks and visited the Christmas Fayre being held there before sitting down to lunch. Nothing was too much trouble. The carvery was good value, good choice of meat, home made Yorkshire puds and fresh veg With the main chef away the charming Connor was standing in and literally stood up to the plate, The pork and beef melted in your mouth. The venue is most charming,Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, Front Office Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Thank you for your most welcoming review, of which we have so many, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and good service from our staff. We aim to please all our guests and find comments made helpful in keeping up our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range: £78 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing