We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better,”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Proud to be British
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Could be a lot better,”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

It is the little things that spoilt this hotel for me and friends that were also staying at the time. In the main it was fine, my room clean and comfortable, reasonably priced and good quality food, amenities very good, bar prices were also reasonable.
The staff were polite, friendly and helpful, most of them seemed very young and I do not mean that in a derogatory way, but they did not exhibit professionalism. The reception and bar on a number of occasions were left unattended, I informed reception that the glass shelf above the sink in my bathroom was at such an angle that it was impossible to put anything on it, I had to tell them again when I left. Both myself and a friend asked for a call at 0800 one morning and did not get one, another friend asked for a non slip shower mat to be placed in his room in the morning and had to ask again in the evening. These combined with - bad lighting in rooms, poor quality toiletries, tea/coffee supplies not replenished in the morning and other smaller things spoil what could be an excellent hotel situated in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longhair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello and thank you for your review.
I'm very sorry that these small things were over looked during your stay. I can understand your disappointment when we do so many things so well and these things let it down you felt. We have since increased staffing levels to give a better service to customers and staff training is ongoing to strive to improve all round.
If you would like to discuss anything with me directly please do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    159
    75
    49
    57
See reviews for
133
232
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Had our weddng at Durker Roods on bank holiday weekend and it was a fab day from beginning to end! Wedding planners Helen and Cerys couldnt do enough. The rooms were set up beautifully for the ceremony, wedding breakfast and reception. Everybody commented on how lovely the food was in the day in the evening for the reception!
The team at durker roods even went the extra mile when a bridesmaids bag was left in one of the wedding cars she went to collect it as the driver could not come back!
Had some lovely photos taken in the gardens and inside the house!
The day was perfect!!
Thanks Cerys and team for all your hard work to make our day super special!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your wedding with us. We aim to please! All comments will be passed onto the team.

Don't hesitate to drop in for a meal or pint if you're ever in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Lovely clean spacious hotel breakfasts really nice with a choice of cereal, toast fresh juice and a cooked full English breakfast very pleasant stay although there were noisy guests coming in late early hours and you could hear everything through the walls saying that it didn't put me off and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawkmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind comments.
We are very happy to hear your stay with us was a pleasant one, many apologies for the noisy residents!!

We look forward to seeing you again if you are ever in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary and visit the Last Of The Summer Wine Country. There were no complaints whatsoever about this hotel. On arrival we were greeted very friendly and check in was very efficient. I had requested a quiet room and our room was in the most quiet end of the hotel. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We decided to eat early in the evening to take advantage of the Two Courses for either £7.95 or £8.95. The food was sumptuous, plentiful and great value for money. Also piping hot which is a must for me. The beef and ale pie and apple crumble were to die for. Bar prices very reasonable. There was a wedding on but we weren't bothered by any late night noise. The grounds and gardens are very well maintained. Breakfast was plentiful, tasty and piping hot and cooked to our request. All staff were attentive, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel very welcome. The Manageress was extremely welcoming and friendly. Should we visit holmfirth again, we would definitely book at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, ask for room 28.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time here. I will pass your kind comments onto the chefs and staff.

We strive to keep our standards high at the Hotel and feedback such as this is very important to us.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The building is beautiful, the entrance is stunning, and the gardens are a serene place to wander in the morning. Admittedly the hotel is in the middle of a (modern, quiet) housing estate, but this does not detract from its appeal in the slightest. It was well signed, and parking was abundant. We received a warm welcome from the staff.my family's room was in the attic but it was spacious, clean, and adequately supplied.The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom spacious and modern.The dining room was stunning and bar area nice and fitting for the house. Good quality curtains blocked out light in our room,While there was not the usual toiletry selection in little bottles, the wall-mounted dispensers one was half full the other empty.Breakfast with a choice of cereal,juices,full english, ample coffee, and toast, only problem there was a wedding on the sat and the crowd were very loud until 1045pm as i got a young son it was not to his liking as we as a family do a lot of hill walking but after that my stay was very relax indeed.

Room Tip: take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is lovely to hear such kind comments.

We hope to see you again if you are in the area again.

Kindest regards,
Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed the bank holiday weekend, for 3nights, we had a wonderful time, the rooms were cleaned everyday and fresh towels and tea and coffee replaced. The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome, one particular barman was really nice, he went out of his way to make to help you.
I'd stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollyanna1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is important to us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My husband and myself wanted to get away to the countryside, so West Yorkshire sounded ideal. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the building itself is old with traditional features. We had booked a bed and breakfast deal and both mornings the food was fresh and tasty. The first night we decided to eat at the hotel and the selection on the menu was good and the dishes were well presented and delicious. We particularly liked "The baked brie starter for two" . Lovely.
We also had a few drinks in the Hotel pub which was very pleasant and the staff were attentive and friendly. We were in Room No 2 which is just above the Main entrance so it was a bit stuffy but the room was clean and the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of hot water.
On the Saturday night we had been warned that there was a Wedding on so it could get a bit rowdy and busy. Which it did.
We ate out in the local village at a place called "The Pink Elephant" which serves Persian/Indian fusion food which we can highly recommend. When we returned to the Hotel later on, the Party was in full swing and quite noisy so we retired early.
The Party did go on until about two the next morning but we managed to get some sleep anyway.
But if you wanted a more peaceful weekend away then I would recommend to check ahead before you book to make sure there are no events being held as it changes the atmosphere.
Besides that we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had been booked into Room 2 which is just above the Main entrance so one does get a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I will pass the comments on to our chefs regarding the food. Many apologies for the noise from the wedding party, we do try to keep wedding guests in the Function room for the evening do but sometimes it proves a difficult task.
We hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Cambridge Hotel
Cambridge Hotel
#4 of 17 in Huddersfield
532 reviews
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
269 reviews
8.7 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Property: Durker Roods Hotel
Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing