We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for..”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Reviewed 29 May 2014

.. and as a business stopover for one night at the lower end of the cost allowance, I shouldn't complain. The staff are all pleasant, breakfast service is good and the night porter was very friendly one night when I arrived well after midnight. The building itself is quite grand externally, but with few nice features inside and a very quirky layout. That's the drawback with this hotel -it doesn't deliver on the experience promised from outside but is like stepping back in time - in a bad way. The bedroom furnishings are plain and very drab, like something from an eighties student hall and the bar lounge is out of keeping with the building. Just bad taste really, so nothing worthy of complaint, just very so so, which is a pity, as the staff would probably like to see some money spent on the place too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveS247_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I'm sorry that the decor wasn't to your personal preference, I'm sure you can appreciate it would be impossible to please every taste. The decor is in keeping with the age of the building, for which we receive much praise and appreciation.
We continuously re-invest into the building and have this year alone spent several tens of thousands of pounds improving the hotel from, decoration, bathrooms, carpets and a new restaurant to new windows, kitchen equipment and a new heating system. We strive to improve what we offer to our guests but as your review title suggests we are very reasonably priced for this day and age which makes it difficult to progress at the speed we would like to. None the less I am confident that we will continue to grow and improve with the right balance of providing a good service and value for money.
Kind regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently with my family due to attending a wedding reception there. We had very good, large rooms. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it. The wedding reception was excellent. The staff, service, food were all first class. I would recommend this hotel for any kind of stay and for holding a wedding reception. Lovely gardens for photographs too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38 which overlooked the front of the hotel and was on a corner, so we had two larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, such lovely feedback is very much appreciated.

I will pass on your comments to all the staff involved.

Many thanks, we hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely building, friendly staff and reasonably priced excellently cooked food. The atmosphere is conducive to sheer relaxation and peacefulness. There is a spa on site although we couldn't locate the woman who ran it which was a shame as we both fancied having treatments. The room (number 2) was lovely, spacious and very clean. I wanted to know details about possibly hosting a function there next year and the lady who answered all of my questions couldn't have been more helpful. We were surprised having run up a tab when on checking out we didn't receive an itemised bill especially as no receipts were given when something was signed for. However, overall it was a lovely break at an incredibly reasonable price. We will definitely return as very few places offer such excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catlynda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us, your kind comments are appreciated.

Usually our bills are presented in sections i.e drinks and food, this may have been why it didn't appear to be fully 'itemised'. The bar staff will also be happy to print a second receipt for you when prompted at the till.

We hope to see you again, and would be delighted to host your function next year

Many thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stay at the Durker Roods a couple of times most years on business. The weather on arrival on this occasion was persistent rain and while transferring our luggage from vehicle to hotel the door was opened by an observant receptionist with the offer of assistance which was appreciated. We had opted for the dinner, bed and breakfast option for our two night stay which was excellent quality and value. The Hotel is being refurbished constantly and since our last visit in October the dining room and main function room have had extensive work carried out and look very clean, airy and bright. Wifi is available free of charge in most if not all of the Hotel and when the weather improved we sat in the garden and I connected to the wifi outside. The staff are all very friendly and we had a lovely stay as usual. Thank You.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razor512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your lovely review - we do try our best!

We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Many thanks,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel was ok on the whole but we went to go down for dinner in the resturant on the first day but were told we couldn't eat in there as it was being prepared for a wedding the next day so we had to sit in the bar area which was fine but we also had to have breakfast in there. There were only a few tables set and one elderly member of staff trying to do everything and not coping very well although this wasn't her fault all the food we had was good. It seemed that all the other staff were sorting out the wedding.
Disapointed also as we went down for dinner on the sunday evening at 8pm only to be told they stopped serving at 7pm. None of this was told to us when we booked in so we never got to eat in the resturant.
Most of the hotel seemed clean although there was a giant cobweb on the ceiling behind our bathroom door which was still there when we left after our 3 night stay.
One bonus was that although the staff seemed somewhat unorganised they were all very polite,friendly and happy to try and assist us with any queries we had.
We walked into the village centre on the 2nd evening for food they are a couple of places but we went in the pink elephant indian resturant which we would highly recommend trying if you are in the area,fantastic food and friendly efficient staff. The cafe 23 (may have the number wrong ) but they were also very good for lunch.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank badeyesight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hell and thank you for your comments.
I'm sorry that you didn't experience the food at Durker Roods Hotel which is well renowned. The opening hours for the restaurant and bar are in the Information welcome pack in your room. We have recently started a Table d'Hote menu in the Restaurant with excellent fresh home-made dishes which I would recommend on your next trip.
I will discuss the management of staff during weddings with the wedding co-ordinator to try to avoid it being short staffed in the bar area and over-staffed in the function.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had our wedding on the 26th April held at the Hotel and have to say it really is a lovely wedding venue which offers excellent value for money.
The staff are very hard working and very accommodating to our requests. Every guest commented on the standard of food which was delicious and well executed.
The hotel itself is a traditional ,beautiful and historical building so is creaky but this is its charm! the decor reflects this; the dining room is decorated perfectly for a wedding breakfast.
Special thanks to Helen our wedding co-ordinator and Steve on reception they really made our wedding day run perfectly!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schunda13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for such a lovely review of your wedding day with us- I hope you are enjoying the married life!

I will pass on your kind comments to the staff, Helen and Stephen.

We would be delighted to see you again if you ever fancy celebrating your anniversaries with us!

Many thanks,
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I find it difficult to write this review. On the one hand, the hotel and the service was sloppy - but on the other hand, it was rather grand and quirky, and many of the staff were actually quite nice with a good sense of humour. I suppose the whole long weekend's experience had a certain "je ne sais quoi".
It's an old mansion house in its own grounds, set on the edge of a (tasteful) small housing estate, with attractive lawns and generous car parking. From the outside, it looks quite grandiose and reminiscent of a former time .
Our room was small - and the staircase was narrower than the one in our house at home. We had dinner on the first night and it was good value and of average quality. When we were settling down in our room for the night, we found ourselves locked out of our en-suite (the lock was faulty); this was put right by the bar maid with the aid of a pointed implement. When we got into bed, we found that the TV wouldn't come out of "mute" mode, so I had to get dressed again to summon help once more. This time the girl ran out of ideas and consulted with the chef, who decided that the only way it would work was if each time it happened, we had to switch it off at the wall, then switch it on again. Guess what - he was right! With this annoying but minor restriction in our entertainment, we finally retired.
Next day was a Saturday and we learned by the flurry of preparation that the hotel were hosting a wedding party. We had to eat breakfast in the little bar as the restaurant was out of bounds pending the arrival of the happy couple. We decided to vacate for the day. On our return later in the evening, the boozy crowd was still in full swing, so we went to bed and played with the wall switch for the telly.
On the Sunday we set out again, but thought we would book evening dinner in the restaurant. No chance! It closes at seven on a Sunday as they offer an all day roast. OK.
Despite these little hiccups, my wife and I were beginning to succumb to the intrinsic charm of the hotel and its staff - and we parted friends with the lady on reception...even though she got the bill wrong. Would we go back? Well, yes - we will.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of the hotel have a good view of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seenoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Sir,
Thank you for writing your review. I have to say it did make me smile throughout! I understand things don't always run as smoothly as we would like and hiccups do happen, but it is so nice to read a review written with a sense of humour and not stuffy, expecting the world for £70!
We do always strive to improve our service and our standards and I hope you see this on your next visit! I am surprised that you rated the food as average as we receive great praise for the quality, so perhaps next time you can try our Table d'Hote menu in the restaurant!? (booking advised to avoid disappointment).
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Kind regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#10 of 14 in Huddersfield
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing