We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Durker Roods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durker Roods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for a wedding in May 2014. Room was nice, though a little dated. Beds were comfortable, thought the pillow a little hard. The room guide said there were spare pillows in the wardrobe, but there were none there. Dined in the hotel a few times, food was wonderful. Felt that serving a cheese sandwich on a slate tile was a bit over the top. At the wedding there were these mini canapés, which were very nice. Hotel was a bit chaotic the next day though as there was a wedding happening right next to where everyone was trying to check out from the wedding before. As has been said on another review, it would be nice if there was an itemised bill when checking out so you know what you have paid for

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank klausrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you also for your suggestion of itemising the bill so it is clearer on departure. I will look into whether this is possible with our software. I'm glad you enjoyed the food and the event that you attended and hope to see you again soon. I will also try to source some better quality pillows with a longer-lasting bounce!
Kind regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Durker Roods Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night.
Both the bedroom and bathroom where clean, linen was fresh, but I could smell stale cigarette smoke.
The breakfast was lovely and so was the little lady that served it.
The TV didn't work but a quick call to reception and a replacement was found in five minutes.
On the whole,our stay was fine but the hotel needs updating and some money spending on it to bring it into the 21st century.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sandra n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments. We are a non-smoking hotel and I'm sorry if the previous guest had been smoking in the room. It is very hard to eradicate the smell despite our best efforts and is very inconsiderate of those who do it.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and I will be sure to pass you comments onto Barbara, the breakfast lady!

We are regularly re-investing into the structure and content of the building and have spent 10's of thousands of pounds this year alone in updating, modernising and re-furbishing the hotel. Whilst I can't boast that is it a 4* hotel just yet I am pleased with the progress we have made since owning it and we will endeavour to continue in the same vain.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Fiona Sheeehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed one night in the Durker Roads whilst in the area. From the outside it's a lovely looking place and the reception area carries this on however once you leave the reception you also leave the character of the place.

On checking in we were informed that the restaurant closed at 7PM which is a strange time for a hotel's restaurant to close (especially one which advertises 'excellent traditional cuisine') as this is the time most people are just thinking about eating dinner.

The bar area was extremely quiet (just the barman) so we gave it a moss and wandered into the local town instead, if only to find somewhere to eat.

The room was very clean and quiet however the bed was a little soft and the mattress felt like it had seen better days. That said, the pillows were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngusDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry that the hotel restaurant was closed off after 7pm, I can only assume that there was a private function on. It is usually open from 5pm-9pm as is the bar which also serves excellent cuisine. I am sorry that you missed the opportunity to try our food which receives amazing feedback. You also missed a very characterful room in the restaurant with many original features such as intricate coving, wooden floors and an ornate fireplace, however the lounge and bar also contains many impressive original features.
We hope you will consider us in the future for a full experience of our hotel.
Regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

my sister was having a wedding at this hotel, it's very beautiful,and the staff are lovely, but the grooms mother who was in a wheelchair had requested a floor room, due to obvious reasons, a week before we were to arrive, they said that was fine, we got there and she was not on the ground floor but actually up the stairs, and we was told there was no access upstairs for the disabled, so we had to walk her up the stairs, which took a while and she was tired and in a fair bit of pain, in y opinion if you tell a women in a wheelchair that the can have the ground floor, then when we arrive you put her upstairs she shouldnt of had to pay for the room that night, ruined the experience for everyone, although the wedding was beautiful so i rated a 3, but still the staff should pay more attention to the customers, especially if they requested a certain room, because of a certain issue, and you tell them that they can have that room, absolutely disgusted me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbiee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We held our wedding reception at Durker Roods on 24th May 2014, the service we received was excellent. We had to have most of our photographs taken inside due to bad weather and staff were very accommodating. The timing ran over a little which meant that the staff didn't have much time to change the function room from wedding breakfast to evening do set up but it didn't cause a problem the room was changed quickly and efficiently which cause minimal disruption for our guests. The food was of a very high standard and all our guests told us how lovely their meal was. The staff are all lovely and nothing is too much trouble, I can't recommend this place highly enough! We have eaten in the restaurant a few times before and since the wedding and the food never fails in the quality and portion sizes and the service is always excellent.

Room Tip: We were in the Bridal Suite when we stayed, very large and comfortable room which over looks the gar...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Rachael and Jon,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are so happy to receive your feedback; we try our best :)

We hope to see you again soon, maybe for your many anniversary celebrations to come.

Many thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Only stayed one night and the location is out in the wilds but nice little village.
the hotel is a bit worn out and needs some refurbishment done to it.
The double bed is quite small and too soft and we kept disturbing each other with the slightest movement.
The bathroom has no supplies except a soap dispenser, the pillows and towels were very good and smelt fresh.
We booked breakfast and the night before asked the reception if there was any vegetarian option as all four of us were vegetarians and she went away and asked some one and told us they will sort something out if we ask the staff in the morning.
We asked the staff in the morning and were told nothing is available except toast and cereal and a far cry from a full English.
The stay was pleasant but expected better.
There was a wedding reception just before we arrived and seems like this is a popular hotel for this sort of thing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your comments.
I'm very sorry that there was clearly a communication error with ordering in some vegetarian sausages or similar the night before breakfast. Besides the cereals and fruits available you could of course have eaten everything else from the full English menu other than bacon and sausage, like beans on toast, poached eggs, scambled eggs etc.
We are currently re-doing the breakfast menu and a vegetarian option has been included.
Many thanks again and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

.. and as a business stopover for one night at the lower end of the cost allowance, I shouldn't complain. The staff are all pleasant, breakfast service is good and the night porter was very friendly one night when I arrived well after midnight. The building itself is quite grand externally, but with few nice features inside and a very quirky layout. That's the drawback with this hotel -it doesn't deliver on the experience promised from outside but is like stepping back in time - in a bad way. The bedroom furnishings are plain and very drab, like something from an eighties student hall and the bar lounge is out of keeping with the building. Just bad taste really, so nothing worthy of complaint, just very so so, which is a pity, as the staff would probably like to see some money spent on the place too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveS247_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline H, Manager at Durker Roods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

I'm sorry that the decor wasn't to your personal preference, I'm sure you can appreciate it would be impossible to please every taste. The decor is in keeping with the age of the building, for which we receive much praise and appreciation.
We continuously re-invest into the building and have this year alone spent several tens of thousands of pounds improving the hotel from, decoration, bathrooms, carpets and a new restaurant to new windows, kitchen equipment and a new heating system. We strive to improve what we offer to our guests but as your review title suggests we are very reasonably priced for this day and age which makes it difficult to progress at the speed we would like to. None the less I am confident that we will continue to grow and improve with the right balance of providing a good service and value for money.
Kind regards,
Fiona Sheehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meltham
4.1 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
2.7 mi away
Old Bridge Inn
Old Bridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Holmfirth
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
5.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Huddersfield/Halifax
5.2 mi away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durker Roods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durker Roods Hotel

Address: Bishops Way, Meltham, Huddersfield HD9 4JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield > Meltham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Meltham
Price Range: £80 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Durker Roods Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despite its’ quiet location, it is only 20minutes from Junction 24 off the M62 and offer’s complimentary WI-FI , restaurant, beauty salon, and free parking. Situated within 1.5 acres of beautifully mature gardens and woodland, this historic 19th Century family-run hotel is perfect for those seeking a peaceful, yet welcoming retreat. This magnificent Hotel was originally built in 1870 and converted into a hotel in 1975, ensuring that it still retained the traditional grandeur and charm of its’ Victorian origins. Stylishly blending the old with the new, it succeeds in crafting a distinctive ambiance of luxurious splendour and homely comfort. This, coupled with its’ picturesque location, beautiful grounds and impeccable commitment to service provision, has helped the Hotel garner an impressive reputation for exceeding all expectations.Each of the 30 en-suite bedrooms are individually designed and furnished whilst still retaining the traditional character and allure of the building’s historic origins.Comfort and relaxation are very much the order of the day and this is reflected in the wide range of modern conveniences and luxuries that each room has to offer. Including; complimentary Wi-Fi access, remote-controlled TV, hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities and fluffy bath towels. There are a range of cosy room options available, from double and twin to Family size and singles, a luxurious Bridal suite, and several rooms on the ground floor for disabled access.No visit to Durker Roods Hotel would be complete without first whetting one’s appetite at Oscars, the on-site restaurant. Renowned for its outstanding cuisine and its’ unpretentious approach to quality dining, it has gained an enviable reputation for using fresh seasonal produce and locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. With extensive menus providing good honest food, there is something for everyone whether it be home cooked bar meals and snacks, traditional Sunday lunches or elegant evening dining. There is also an extensive wine list & Champagne Specials which together perfectly compliment the depth of flavours that the menus have to offer.Durker Roods Hotel are pleased to offer a sensational range of personal salon treatments within our professional beauty salon providing services tailored to meet your individual needs. Whether you require nail treatments or wedding makeup our professional beautician will be more than happy to oblige.The Hotel is located in the foothills of the Peak District National park, yet is only a 15 minute drive from the market town of Huddersfield. It is easily accessible from junction 24 of the M62, Huddersfield train station offers fantastic transport links to most major destinations across the UK and for those flying in; Leeds Bradford Airport is only a 50 minute drive away whilst Manchester International Airport is not an hour’s distance from the Hotel.Just a short distance away, there are a wealth of local attractions and tourist sites to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durker Roods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing