We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good People Make Good Stay”
Review of Western Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Motel was clean, that's nice, been all over, Nita and Pat (the owners) are very nice people and the housekeeper, Alice, is really GREAT at her job. A laid back kind of place, no noise which made resting a very pleasant experience! Pat, Nita and Alice are great people and cared about making our stay very comfortable (which it was). Consider them our friends. Will definitely stay here again and will refer others to stay here, too. THANKS Nita, Pat and Alice for making our stay enjoyable. :)

The Sheffields

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank racersdream71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

me and my husband have been staying here for years very nice motel great owners very clean rooms nice swimming pool security no problems what so ever i highly reccommend western motel folkston georgia

Room Tip: any room is excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This motel provides fine basic accommodation. It was clean, well lit, spacious. quiet enough,had comfortable beds, and everything worked as it was supposed to. The staff was helpful and friendly. It is a good place to stop prior to going to the Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge. We awoke well rested and relaxed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I stayed in Folkston to do some train watching and visit the Okefenokee swamp. Check in went smooth and the owner was very nice and helpful. The motel needs some repairs and updates but it did what we wanted which was sleep. There were no bugs and the overall experience was ok. We thought it was a little pricey and the taxes were very high.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danandleona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Western Motel in Folkston is really starting to show it's age. The bed has seen it's better days and was in need of replacing. The carpet and furniture also showed signs of wear and tear. The micro/fridge was in good shape and the room was pretty clean. If you are staying in Folkston, the Western is the best bet but Waycross and Kingsland offer better hotels for the same price as the Western (I paid $73 a night with tax). I hope they decide to upgrade the rooms soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SBDFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

For this to be Folkston's newest hotel, I found it to be poorly furnished. The mattress/box spring was in terrible condition, ~ it looked as though it had been pulled from a trash pile! We disinfected and cleaned the room before we felt comfortable using the restroom or sitting on the beds!
Would I stay here again? Absolutely not!!!

Room Tip: directions to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saras7645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

The motel was more like one of those extended stay motels. The beds were terrible. Dirty carpet, stains on bathroom walls and the continental breakfast is fine if you like prepackaged bear claws. The coffee may have been OK but both pots were empty and there was no one around to make more. I waited for five minutes then left. I would not consider staying there again

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJCAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Folkston
20.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kingsland
6.9 mi away
Okefenokee Pastimes
Okefenokee Pastimes
#1 of 6 in Folkston
38 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn at Folkston
Inn at Folkston
#1 of 1 in Folkston
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Motel

Address: 3340 Second St S, Folkston, GA 31537-4303
Region: United States > Georgia > Folkston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Folkston
Price Range: £67 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Folkston GA. The Western Motel is a well maintained motel with restaurants nearby. Close to all of downtown The Western Motel is your destination when you want to relax in Folkston Georgia. Just minutes from scenic parks and Folkston Funnel. Privately owned property with friendly staff and all the amenities you could need. Let our friendly staff make sure your visit is the best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Western Motel Folkston, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing