We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder”

Okefenokee Adventures
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Folkston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Okefenokee Adventures is the Visitor Services Contractor located at the primary entrance to Okefenokee National Wildlife Refuge - also known as the East entrance, Folkston entrance or Suwannee Canal Recreation Area. We offer guided, interpretive tours, canoe & kayak tours & rentals, walking & driving trails, full service cafe & gift shop. We cater to individuals & groups. Refuge Visitor Center has a film, exhibits & displays.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beauty is in the eye of the beholder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We took a 1.5 hour cruise through the swamp with our guide, Charlie. Even though the water was at higher level than usually, we saw 5 alligators, fowl, and water lilies and learned about respecting the swamp. We saw large amount of alligators (as well as 11 babies) alone the driving trail.

Our boat had children from 2 to 12 that were just as fascinated as we adults were...family fun.

We will add this to our list to visit again this fall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrit_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    20
    3
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wildlife abounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We took the 4 hour boat tour. It wound up being just our family. We saw gators (including juveniles), carnivorous plants, a barred owl and herons. They adjusted the tour to our interests and provided snacks (trail mix, granola bars, candy) and cold water.

Helpful?
1 Thank DraLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debary, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had a great time in the swamp. We drove out to the trail and took it to the observation tower, then took our time getting back, as my wife is an avid birder and we had lots to see. The sunset tour was fabulous and the tour guide was very knowledgeable. We would have loved to take a kayak, but no time. For another trip! It's a must see for those who have never been in a real swamp before.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverview, FL
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Snakes, gators, carnivorous plants - what more could you want?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We rented a tandem kayak for a paddle through the swamp to see if we could find carnivorous plants. The lady at the desk who rented the kayaks was very pleasant and helpful. She offered suggestions of what type of plants to look for and approximate locations.
By the time we completed the rental purchase they already had the boat and equipment at the shore ready to launch. The kayak and gear was basic but in good repair. The trail was well marked.
We did see several types of carnivorous plants as well as several tiny alligators and a couple not so small.
One thing that surprised us was that we were not bothered by bugs of any kind. Many dragonflies flew around us but nothing that stung, bit, or bothered.
Give yourself plenty of time and make sure you have everything you need before you go - it is pretty isolated.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank timekeeper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kool Kayaking with Jenn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We loved Okefenokee Adventures! We spent the early afternoon driving Swamp Island Road, touring the Chesser Homestead and taking the Boardwalk out to the observation tower. The highlight of our time was the 4 hour kayak trip with Jenn. She was very knowledgable about all the plants, birds and animals. She took us to so many different places around the swamp that we got a feel for the diversity the Okefenokee offers. She was fun too! Highly recommend this outfitter for an authentic swamp experience!!

Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Okefenokee Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing