We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”
Review of Inn at Folkston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn at Folkston
Ranked #1 of 1 Folkston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2009

On our first trip to the South after we visited Charleston and Savannah we stopped in Folkston for 2 nights. My husband is a rail fan and he wanted to visit the Folkston Funnel. The Inn at Folkston is one of the nicest B & B's we've ever stayed at. We had the Lighthouse room which had it's own screened in porch, a very comfortable king-sized bed and a nice bath with glass block shower. The breakfasts were plentiful and delicious which was good because the restaurants in the town leave much to be desired.
Wonderful spot for railfans and folks who want to visit the Okefenokee.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atlanticshoals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2009

This was our first night out and it was a great place to stay so we could get down to the entrance to the real Okefenokee Swamp with a boat trip by Okefenokee Adventures . (The "Swamp Park" near Waycross is a sorry excuse, with critters in dirty cages, and little else to draw it's many visitors, exp. kids. There may be other entrances for those with boats, etc.)

Janice and Bill were great fun and we wished we had another day. The theme is rail history because of its location. The room was attractive and comfortable with a huge bathroom. Some birding in large yard and they're working on drawing more birds to feeder.

BTW, don't expect any "good" restaurants any closer than Waycross, but you won't stave.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dodgema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hosts Janice and Bill were very friendly accommodating. We stayed 2 nights and went to the Okefenokee swamp during the day. The Inn was very convenient for that.
Our room, English Garden room, was large and very comfortable. I hate to mention a negative about the room since it was so nice, but we were bothered by the gas smell from the fireplace, so we didn't use it. Also it was difficult to get into the jacuzzi tub. Someone younger might not be bothered. If we were to stay there again I would pick one of the less expensive rooms. They all look very comfortable.
While we were there we met Dixie, the ex-mayor. She was very friendly. I wish our mayor was as nice.
For breakfast Bill made very good coffee Janice cooked us a couple of great breakfasts. Each morning she served us a fresh fruit bowl to start with. This was followed by eggs benedict the first morning and delicious blueberry pancakes the second. Since we were leaving that day she gave us each a piece of delicious pineapple cake for our trip.
The wireless internet access worked well in our room.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

After flying into Jacksonville, FL we wished to spend the first night close to the Okeefenokee Swamp. We stumbled across this wonderful B&B in Folkston, GA. It is close to the east entrance to the swamp. For railroad afficionados it is the site of the Folkston Funnel where approximately 60 trains pass daily. More importantly Janis and Bill, the Innkeepers were so friendly, informative, engaging, etc. we spent another night with them. The Inn is spotless under the direction of Janis a semi-retired operating room nurse. Breakfeast was delicious, the beds comfortable and the other guests mellow. We highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Checkerberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2005

I stay at B&Bs all over the world and was delighted to find this little gem on a recent trip to the Okefenokee Swamp. If you are in the area, don't miss this rare combination of hospitality, exquisite furnishings and delicious breakfast. The innkeepers have thought of every possible luxury to make their guests feel pampered. What a value!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
26
Reviewed 30 April 2004

We don't normally stay in small places but thought the Inn as Folkston was absolutely lovely. We stayed in the Lighthouse Room which was freshly decorated and painted, quite a large room which a separate private screened porch. The hosts were really friendly and helped us arrange our trip to Okefenokee the next day. We enjoyed the hot tub and they also gave us free wine and had lots of complimentary snacks / chocolates and soda. Even though there were only 4 rooms it felt very private. Only downer is that trains run through this town all night and hoot their horns and its loud! - otherwise this would be perfect. It would also have been great to have a tv in our room (they had one in the lounge but the room was so nice it would have been better).

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GGG7571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Inn at Folkston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Folkston

Address: 3576 Main St, Folkston, GA 31537-7536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Folkston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Folkston
Price Range: £98 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Folkston 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Inn at Folkston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Folkston Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing