We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to eat!”
Review of Grits Cafe

Grits Cafe
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Forsyth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Hawkinsville
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to eat!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Attended a dinner meeting.....first time eating here. The food was wonderful. The service was great. Looking forward to going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    42
    10
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vandalia, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Experience Grits Like Never Before”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I am a healthy eater but couldn't pass up a gourmet twist on grits. These are not your pour-out- of-a-box, hot cereal kind. I'm talking larger, crunchier stone ground grits!!! Combine them with wild shrimp, apple smoked bacon, and a creamy shiitake mushrooom sauce and you are talking "Grits Martini" served in. . . . . . .you guessed it. . . . . . .a martini glass. Absolutely superb. My husband opted for the Southwest Spring Rolls loaded with black beans, roasted corn, pepper jack cheese, and shrimp. The chili dipping sauce was the icing on the cake. Oh!! How could I forget the complimentary biscuits, which I never touch. The top was so brown and crunchy looking that I had to have a bite. The best biscuits I have ever had. If you are anywhere close to Forsyth, GA; DO NOT PASS UP THIS DINING PARADISE.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We were traveling to Savannah and were hungry and eager to find a good spot to eat for lunch. We decided to stop off the freeway and give Grit's Cafe' a try. As soon as we entered, we felt as if we had made an excellent choice. The restaurant seemed welcoming and was very nicely decorated. We were immediately greeted with a nice smile and seated next to the window.

The food and service FAR exceeded our expectations! We were not in the least bit disappointed that we had decided to visit this particular restaurant. We plan to go back when we are again in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Still great food...and now terrific service of larger groups!”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Terri and Wayne's Grits's Cafe has emerged from their rebuild better than ever. More spacious seating, better atmosphere, and fun new menu items make this one of my local favorites. My only complaint in years passed has been their inability to serve larger parties in a timely manner. That complaint has been transformed into praise. More staff with more room to move and a larger, more modern, kitchen has greatly enhanced their ability to serve parties of all sizes. We'll done!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maconmerlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful varieties of foods!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were pleasantly surprised at the Grits Cafe! They have a large menu with many interesting offerings. Hubby had the Onion Soup (which he said was great) as his appetizer and an excellent thick pork chop with the herb baked Macaroni & cheese; I had the arugula salad with spiced poached pears, pecans and blue cheese crumbles, and the blackened salmon with a black-eyed pea cake.
Everything was very tasty, would certainly recommend this restaurant for those looking for something different and cooked to order!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MEKA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grits Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing