We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most beautiful and memorable places I...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
138 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
14 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 45
Gainesville, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 138 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
SharonWin...
Torbay, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“One of the most beautiful and memorable places I have EVER stayed!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We just spent a week at this amazing place for a family reunion and I just wanted to say what an amazing venue. The Ark is set up as a little piece of paradise, it is elegant and luxurious, yet so comfortable and unpretentious. We stayed in the original homestead part of the house and felt truly blessed to wake up each morning to the gorgeous view out over the pool to the lake. Every room and every area has it's own character and style and I reckon it's absolutely the best place for a family (or friends) get-together. Fingers crossed that we can do it again someday... Thank you 'Ark'

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston Jamaica
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KathyStCl...
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lake house for family gatherings”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The owner was very easy to work with and accommodated all our needs. It was nice to have the privacy of individual rooms or cottages and still be together for all meals and activities. The lake house was beautifully decorated inside and out. We loved the swimming pool with hot tub and the short walk to the lake. Even G'mama could take in all the events.The location is a nice quiet spot on the lake making for a beautiful setting. The best thing to us was the evening gatherings after a full day of activities like swimming, volleyball, boating. Everyone enjoyed the time together in a beautiful setting.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
david h
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Fantastic place.”
Reviewed 1 May 2016 for a stay in July 2015

This is a great place, and can easily accommodate a very large group. There is so much to do, it's almost like being away at camp but with nicer facilities. There is the lake and pool, tree swings, tetherball, pool/ping pong table, trampoline, disc golf, etc.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent B
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The Ark is like Disney Land on Lake Lanier”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I've stayed at the Ark many times and each time it gets better. This resort is cozy for 40 people! There are luxurious suites in the main house , separate bungalow hideaways multiple bunk rooms for kids, game rooms and fun places all over the property. There is are beautifully landscaped grounds, swimming pool, volleyball court and water games lakeside. The design of the Ark is one of a kind and so unique. Some of the best takeaway memories were spent skiing around the lake and coming back and building a fire and making smores in the massive firepit. The secluded lake cove is perfect for either vacationing couples, families and group retreats. I look forward to my next trip to this one of a kind vacation getaway!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
478812345...
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I can't believe I waited so long to rent this place”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Located at the foothills of North East Georgia you will find a conveniently located quite, updated retreat just 15 min. from Georgia 400. This place continues to amaze us each time that we have entered through The Ark, the owner goes out of their way to make it the stay of our lifetime by making sure each item is perfect for us. The Ark is also located close to Gainesville, Ga. where you can find most of the The Big Box stores, along with quaint small town eateries and shops. We enjoyed a one day outing to the mountains, where we enjoyed walking around Helen, rafting down the Chattahoochee, horse back riding and of course we cannot leave the zip line out. Most of the time we just enjoyed sitting by the pool at the fully stocked pool house, enjoying watching the children play on all of the amazing toys which the owner provided. This is a " "I can't believe I waited so long to rent this place" statement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds and layout of the rooms
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tcolwell
Marietta
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shangri La only and hour from the fast lane of Atlanta”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in May 2015

Memories for a lifetime were created in the four days we spent with family, friends and Jeff & Alycea our hosts. To have all ages together for that many days with activities for all was incredible.
If you're looking for a place that feels like home away from home then the Ark is your place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Only 4 days
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing