We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sprawling Rustic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sprawling Rustic Hotel”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff are all very friendly. We asked for a room with a view, and got a "resort view" of a huge white tent housing a skating rink just outside our room. Lake view is probably better and can be seen from the first, second and third floors from some rooms. The main floor is the third floor and the hallways seem to go on for miles. The place also has cabins, and it is very pretty. The room rates are what one would expect for a Ritz, but the food and beverage prices are excessive, especially since once you're at this Ritz any other food and beverages are a drive away. The breakfast buffet looked very good. We played golf at one of the four courses open to the public (Plantation Course) and it was excellent although I had to provide a confirmation number to make a tee time a week ahead. Odd, since it was winter and I only saw five other golfers on the course when we played.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turtlemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    198
    82
    43
    30
See reviews for
302
373
13
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

It's a bit unexpected to have such a high-end facility in the middle of almost nowhere, making it worth the visit. This is a great lake property with all of the amenities you would expect from a Ritz Carlton resort. We toured the spa, which was quite nice, but we did not end up booking any services. Instead, we wanted to check out the uniqueness of the area nature. I am sure for most guests, walking the golf course is the draw, but we had a great time exploring the area on the bike - a workout on the hills! - and kayak rentals (a tad bit pricey, though fees for tennis and fishing were more reasonable).The rooms were nicely appointed, as you would expect. One disappointment was the food. Both the casual dining at the pool and the fine dining at the restaurant were average, despite the RC cost. You are better off leaving the property to eat. That said, it is a nice touch to have complimentary s'mores at night out by the lake.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslaBonita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Ritz over New Years. Lots of activities to keep children of all ages busy. The property is well maintained and the staff is accommodating.

The club level is disappointing and is not up to Ritz Carlton standards nor warrants the cost. The food offered was limited, sparse and tasteless. In the evening they offered two fried appetizers, cheese that looked as if it had been out all day and a few carrots. I ask for salad dressing and was told they didn't have any! The room is only staffed during peak hours and is small not enough tables to accommodate all the guests on 1-1-14. I have had better food experiences at the Embassy Suites free breakfast and drinks hour.

Room Tip: Do not waste money for the club level it's disappointing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our visit was over Christmas, and the hotel was well decorated. Our standard room was quite large, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bath included both a tub and shower. The spa area really impressed my wife, and the hotel restaurants were very good. The staff was friendly, but I was disappointed that a request I made of the Concierge group before we arrived was not accomplished.

Located less than two hours from Atlanta, the Ritz, with its lovely landscape, is a pleasant getaway. However, the town of Greensboro is very small and activites are limited.

We like this Ritz considerably more than the one in Amelia Island, but not as much as the one in Maui.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is perfectly placed amongst the pines and lake. As soon as you step on the property, you are relaxed. The hotel is impeccable. The service is one of the best we've had. Jen in the coffee shop easily made us feel at home with her professionalism and politeness. We loved Gabby's by the lake. All of the restaurants have great food and service! The spa is out of this world. The spa facility itself is beautiful and the service by all of the employees you encounter is amazing! We had an executive level room. It was spacious with a large main bathroom and a half bath. A balcony just of the living area was comfortable and had a beautiful view of the grounds and lake. We plan on going back in the summer!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We just returned from a stay at this hotel for the Breakfast with Santa Package. There were three of us and we had a good stay. First, we were greeted by Tony the Bellman who was very welcoming. After check in which was very efficient and we were upgraded to a lake view room from a resort view. There was complimentary cider in the lobby (nice touch.) Clay then took us and our luggage to our room. Clay is the kind of employee that the Ritz is known for employing. He was polite, engaging and helpful about the amenities of the resort. Throughout our stay, when we saw Clay he greeted all of us by name and asked if he can do anything to help us. We enjoyed the family swim time in the spa pool. It would have been nice to have access to a locker room to change in but we were not made aware of that amenity if available. We also enjoyed the ice skating and the s'mores around the chiminea. Our son really enjoyed the wide open space to run, the playground and basketball court.

The bed was exceedingly comfortable and the room was impeccably clean (as would be expected.) the buffet at the Breakfast with Santa breakfast was delightful and Wilmer was very happy to greet us at our table. Amanda in the dining room was another staff member that the Ritz should be proud of. She made sure we had everything we needed and even took a family picture of us by the Christmas tree. The pictures with Santa were very good and the Santa was very attentive to each child.

The Christmas decorations were gorgeous throughout the resort. We didn't ride the Linger Longer Express but it looks like there needs to be some clarification of that versus the website description-its really small but cute. As always, a resort of this caliber should have free WIFI access and it doesn't. They used to offer free self park but now its all valet and that is a little silly at this location. They do have a Starbucks in this location which is great but again, complimentary coffee in the lobby should be a no-brainer (even a Hampton Inn has this.) They do have in-room coffee but it is only 2 cups, not enough for us.

Overall, fantastic experience and will return again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBKRev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This is a beautiful and comfortable resort. I've been here twice now for business meetings during the cold winter months, but I'd love to return for a more leisurely spring or summer visit. The lodge is gorgeous and so inviting. It's not inexpensive, but it is a Ritz Carlton with outstanding service.

Dinner at the Linger Longer steakhouse was fabulous, but my two meals at Gaby's were disappointing (and the service wasn't quite up to Ritz par there either).

We especially enjoyed the evening bonfire with hot chocolate and s'mores. It was nice to meet other guests cozy around the fire.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joeylf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
5.0 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
7.7 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
64 reviews
17.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Milledgeville
18.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#4 of 6 in Madison
317 reviews
21.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Milledgeville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Prestigia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee Greensboro, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing