We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not what you would expect from a Ritz Carlton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Went for a wedding this June. Way to crowded around the pool. Not big enough for the number of rooms. Service in the restaurant was sloooww. $19.00 for a grilled cheese!!! The rooms are small and the walls are thin so if you want to sleep in it's almost impossible with the slamming doors and voices down the hallway. Food was just average that was served at the wedding.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLCousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear TLCousins,

Thanks for your response regarding your recent visit, your comments are valuable and much appreciated.

As to the size of the pool area and availability of pool chairs, etc., this concern has been made on many occasions and I'm happy to report that we are finalizing plans to enhance/expand the pool deck area for next season. You concern about guest room noise has been a historic concern, but was addressed with the addition of a new wall between guest rooms during our room renovation last year, so your comment does come as some surprise here. We will research your particular room to see what else might be the cause.

In any event, thanks for your comments and we hope that we have another chance to be of better service during a future visit to Lake Oconee.

Best Regards,

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    178
    71
    36
    23
See reviews for
245
321
11
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We are very loyal Marriott customers. We booked a weekend break expecting a five star Marriott experience. We were very disappointed for several reasons. On the positive side our room, the location and the lobby were lovely and we had a fantastic round of golf at Great Waters golf club.

The negatives started with children being allowed to run through the relaxation area of the spa. We had dinner in The Linger Longer Steak House. We ordered their special rib eye steak on the bone. We took the waiters advice and ordered the steak medium rare. Unfortunately, it did not arrive at our table medium rare. It was undercooked. We ate the steak. Our mistake, I was subsequently ill with an upset stomach during the night! The following day my husband had lunch at Gaby's by the Lake. The food was fine, but the waitress forgot to bring the beer my husband ordered. The final straw was despite paying a resort fee, our bill included a charge for valet parking. This was subsequently removed. We also received a refund for our meal at Linger Longer Steak house, but despite completing a post stay questionnaire expressing our dissatisfaction we have not received an apology from the resort for the lack of service and a stay that was spoilt by my illness.

Not the customer service or experience you would expect from a 5 star Ritz. We have been far more impressed with the 3 star residence inn hotels. Don't waste your money.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank carolhooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Carolhooper,

Thank you for taking the time to alert us on your recent stay, as disappointing as it was. Let me first apologize for not meeting your expectations. We do consider ourselves to be a very "family friendly" resort, especially this time of year. We did hear of your Linger Longer Restaurant experience and investigated immediately upon notification, fortunately we did not encounter any other concerns relating to the food. I am glad however my staff took the time to adjust your billing as referenced as a courtesy.

I hope that we have another opportunity to fulfill your expectations in the future, if I can ever be of service please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards,

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern nj
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The only way to get to this remote location is via car (1 1/2 hours from Atlanta). Yet despite being located on many, many acres, this hotel charges $25 per day per car to valet park and does not offer you the option to self park unless you complain vehemently. It also baffles me when an expensive hotel charges guests for Internet access ($15 per day per room) when lower priced hotels and motels provide it free of charge. But even being a loyal Ritz Carlton rewards club member gets you NOTHING at this facility. They only offered me the option of paying a $40 per day per room resort fee vs paying $25 plus $15 - as if that was some kind of deal!!! If it wasn't so ridiculous it might have been funny.

We were attending a wedding being held at this property with approximately 250 guests. Nonetheless management did nothing to accommodate the wedding guests in any way. We got turn down service only 1 of the 2 nights. I had to call for extra bath towels as the used ones left on the floor were not picked up. The hair dryer in our bathroom was broken. The bedside lamp was missing its turn on/off switch. The pool is lined with wall to wall lounge chairs, so don't expect any personal space whatsoever if you are sitting poolside.

The final insult was that on the night of the wedding, the air conditioning in their grand ballroom was malfunctioning leaving 250 wedding guests quote uncomfortable. It was obvious that there was a problem as soon as we walked in as the room was warm and stuffy. No one did anything to alleviate the problem.

This property is clearly poorly run and should not be affiliated with the Ritz name. While it might be voted # 1 in this location, trust me that is because there are very few other options.

If you are coming here and expecting to be treated as you might be at other Ritz properties, I suggest you cancel your reservation and go elsewhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 201 and 203. A tent was set up just outside our rooms to host a conference cockt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank woodmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Woodmom,

Thank you for taking my call today, I apologize once again for your experience while visiting our resort on Lake Oconee, but appreciate your detailed feedback so that we may learn from our mistakes. As I stated, there is no defending the indefensible.

Please know that it is our sincere commitment not only to meet but exceed our guests expectations, please forgive me for failing you in this commitment.

The best to you and yours for a Happy 4th Holiday.

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was a great hotel to relax the week away. Even though we went on a business/personal trip, it was really nice. The food was wonderful, the hotel staff was accommodating, and the weather held out to be beautiful, especially since we had a couple of outdoor functions. The Spa was absolutely wonderful!! The restaurants were great! The hotel rooms were comfortable for sure!! We even went on a pontoon boat ride on the lake, fabulous! The Ritz lived up to its name.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dixiedarling123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This place was fantastic. The service was great and the grounds are beautiful. I recommend this place to anyone who lives in Georgia and wants to get a way from a nice and relaxing weekend. There is a lot to do; jet skis, paddle boats, the pool, and the spa. One thing I especially liked was the hammocks that they had randomly throughout the site. My first morning there, I got up and went outside, and laid in a hammock for about an hour. It was very relaxing. There are also three great restaurants on site. The only thing that was slightly annoying was when we went to the steakhouse with out reservations, we had to sit outside, even though the steakhouse was only 25% full and remained that way the whole night. When we sat down it wasn't a big deal though because we ate overlooking the golf course and were able to watch the sun set.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1234560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

This place is obviously worthy of the Ritz-Carlton brand name. Everything seems to be well thought out and the staff really enjoy your presence. That all comes with a price obviously but if you can afford a Ritz this is certainly going to hit your expectations. This place is seems to be a weekend resort for many Atlanta families and there is a ton to do for everyone.

The fire pit at night is fantastic and can't say enough for the whole pool setup, they do a good job and everyone is extremely attentive and friendly.

All in all it's one of those place I would definitely visit again, however probably not until I have young kids. Not quite the place I'd go for a relaxing/romantic weekend with the wife but rather would be a great trip with another couple or a few friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

I hate that I did not have a good experience because I wanted to and I am a Marriott fan, but I didn't. Fortunately there was a nice Italian restaurant not too far away with delicious food and great service, as well as a nice wine shop, so that helped somewhat. Other guests may have had a different experience but unfortunately I left unhappy. I do expect professionalism, attention to detail, and I did not find that here. Between this Ritz and Key Biscayne it was night and day. If Violetta from the concierge floor at KB worked here she could teach them a few things (in fact, the entire KB staff should just be the Ritz model because they're all fabulous).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank x7p3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ralph v, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear x7p3p,

Thank you for posting your experience on TripAdvisor and I apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations. If you would be so kind, I would love to talk with you directly in order to obtain some details as to the nature of your dissatisfaction so that we can improve.

Please contact me at your convenience at my direct line at the resort. 706-467-7040

Sincerely yours,

Ralph Vick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greensboro
4.9 mi away
The Lodge on Lake Oconee
7.6 mi away
Jameson Inn Greensboro
Jameson Inn Greensboro
#2 of 3 in Greensboro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
17.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Madison
Hampton Inn Madison
#3 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
22.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Milledgeville
Comfort Suites Milledgeville
#2 of 10 in Milledgeville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
18.2 mi away
Quality Inn Madison
Quality Inn Madison
#5 of 6 in Madison
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee
Address: 1 Lake Oconee Trail, Greensboro, GA 30642 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Greensboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Greensboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 75 miles from Atlanta and the world's busiest airport, a stunning lake shimmers in quiet tranquility. Cradled by verdant hills where pines tower to the sky and eagles dance with the sun, this secluded getaway transports guests to a place far away from daily cares and pressures. It's little wonder the family who formerly owned this land called it Linger Longer. Once here, guests yearn to stay, whether for golfing on championship courses, netting their daily limit of fish, discovering uncommon shops in antebellum towns or enjoying a delightful roster of outdoor activities. Amidst this engaging backdrop, the commanding presence of The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee offers an elegant invitation to meet in the heart of nature. The Ritz-Carlton on Lake Oconee, GA offers guests legendary service highlighted by gracious Southern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Lodge, Reynolds Plantation Hotel Greensboro
Ritz Carlton Reynolds Plantation
Ritz Greensboro
Ritz-Carlton Greensboro
Greensboro Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton Reynolds, Lake Oconee Greensboro, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing