We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have been staying at the Helendorf for more years than i can remember.From a quiet getaway for me,to meeting friends from other states,to having a family get together, this is the place to be.You will be on the best part of the Chattahoochee river with several places to walk down a few steps and have your toes in the water.The new landscaping and remodeled rooms are outstanding!! You have a great view of tubers floating over the "rapids" Downtown Helen is a few steps away & the festhalle is across the street.My favorite is the relaxing affect it has on me.The only place to stay in Helen in my opinion!!!

Room Tip: If you want to open your screen door and be on the river,ask for a Patio Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved the Helendorf Inn. There were great views of the river and tubers from our balcony. There is a very nice updated patio that has a few different accesses to the river from a few steps. We seen it while tubing a few times and enjoyed playing in the river from the patio and watching the tubers ourselves. The rooms were adorable. Ours was a balcony room and had a screen door. The beds were so comfy and there was a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There were updated fixtures in the bathroom and even a heat lamp. There was a small breakfast included and the front desk staff was very friendly. We were in walking distance to everything and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sosnipperaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The first time we noticed the Helendorf was while tubing the Chattahoochee through the middle of town many years ago. Just as you pass under the bridge the Helendorf with its river view balconies is on the right. People were sitting out on their balconies waving at tubers and having grand old time. We've stayed here many a time since then and have enjoyed ourselves thoroughly every time. Comfortable and clean, it's in the middle of town within walking distance to most things. One little hint...don't get in the pool if lots of kids are in it. They drink lots of beverages and never get out if you catch my drift.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbboomer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice and relaxing place to stay. Walking distance to everything. Very comfortable beds and the Riverveiw is awesome. The staff is excellent. We will be booking there again. We were there during Octoberfest and still the atopmosher was very pleasant and quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with the View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolk2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Love this place! It is a perfect location by the river and close to everything! The rooms are newly renovated and look amazing. The staff is always friendly and personable. It is a great experience every time I stay here and I can't imagine staying anywhere else when visiting Helen!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNelly14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is our second visit to the Helendorf and will not be our last. We had a third floor balcony room the seemed to be newly remodeled. We had a kitchenette and lots of space. Problems were small like getting the soap replaced in our room and the hair dryer kept tripping off and wouldn't start back up, I guess the main problem was that when we arrived, around 1pm the front desk let us go ahead and check in but rooms weren't ready so we were told to return at 3pm. When I went back at 3pm I was told the room still wasn't ready when I was seeing that people that just pulled up were being handed their room keys. We had traveled from Charleston SC and were hot and tired. I was told they could not give me a time on when it would be ready but they could guess 30 minutes. I waited around and about 3:40 our room was ready. That was really the only wrinkle to our stay and it would not keep me from coming back . We are already planning our 2015 stay.

Room Tip: You really don't get a room choice other that balcony or not. Choose the balcony rooms, they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I'm really glad we decided to stay at this hotel. It is in a great location and within walking distance to everything in Helen. The rooms have all been newly renovated...very comfortable beds. I loved our view from the balcony along the river. It was so nice to sit out there and watch the river tubers go by. This is the place to go to relax!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view. Be sure to request a room with a balcony along the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Countrygal063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.9 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range: £50 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing