We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Sharpsburg, Georgia
1 review
“Vacation trip”
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Hello to all,
My name is Barry Crook from Sharpsburg Ga. and i want you all to know that the Helendorf River Inn was a very neat and clean hotel. The service was great and very friendly. Continental breakfast was dead on time. If your looking for a neat clean hotel, i suggest this one. Now of course you got some people that nothing can satisfy them, but yes, this hotel is just as good if not better than most. We had a great stay and will book this hotel next year. Have fun everyone and might i add that the location is the best.......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kilavon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    196
    63
    31
    22
See reviews for
200
257
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Let me start by saying my husband and I went to Helen with another couple. They had reservations at the Helendorf and we didn't. I didn't book reservations because there was nothing big planned in Helen that weekend. We all rode in our vehicle and checked in at the same time. They did let us check in a little early which was a plus, but the girl at the check in desk was not very friendly and made me tell about 3-4 times what I needed.
She said we couldn't be in the same building as the other couple we were with unless we wanted the last smoking room. I opted to go to the other building rather than get the smoking room. MISTAKE- Our room looked like it hadn't been updated since the 1960's and although it might have been clean, everything in there was so old I felt like it was dirty. The television was even on the old type stand that locked the tv to it on a pedestal. I didn't want to sleep with the lights off in this room.
Our friends' room on the other hand, was a lot smaller, but everything looked brand new (and cleaner). (for the same price of over $100.00 a night) If I was filling this review out for their room, it would be a lot different.
The hotel definitely had the market cornered because of it's location downtown.
There was a continental breakfast with cereal, bagels, danishes in the lobby which was something good to say about the hotel experience, I guess.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travelga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

My colleagues and I just spent a week at Helendorf in Helen, GA. We had all called in our reservations early and the staff at Helendorf was ready and waiting for us. They were very prepared which made our "check in" so easy. They were all so friendly and made sure that we had everything we needed. They have a conference room that accomodated all of us. We really had a wonderful time. They made our business trip turn into a vacation. Thank you very much to the whole staff and we WILL be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lutz,fl
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Excellent location, nice larger room, overall good experience. I would highly recommend a stay here. Easy walking distance to town...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maribel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We had a Bike weekend in Helen. The staff especially Pam was great when we checked in she told us all the places in town to visit as well as the restraurants. The room was right on the river,extremely clean with the sound of the river coming in the back door!When the rains came in we watched the river rise quickly. My hubby left his GPS on the bike by mistake. They call us w/in 15 min to let us know, so we could retrieve it before it went missing!. The place was right in the center of town, so we could walk to most places outside of the events. Looking forward to Octoberfest, we made our Resv's when we checked out

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PammieGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We visited on a weekday, left on a whim with no reservations. We were about a hour from helen when we called and spoke to a nice gentleman who informed us they could accommodate my family even with no notice. When we checked in the young gentleman informed us where to head for good german food. They were right food was amazing.We stayed in a riverview room after talking to the front desk and them recommending it for a relaxing rest. We slept with the screen door latched and had one of the best sleeps ive had in a while. When visiting get a room where you can listen to the river.. quite relaxing. Also we had forgotten our laptop at home but were suprised to find they had a public terminal so i could check email and grab mapquest directions to our next destination on our trip. They also left the pool open a little longer so my kids could play even though they normally shut it down around ten.Rooms were very clean and the staff made it warm and inviting. We are planning to come back during Octoberfest with a group of friends and experience it without the children. We passed by a couple house keepers and groundsmen while walking around property and they seemed as nice as the front desk. All together we were very suprised with the helendorf. Experience it for yourself the location is prime you can walk to anywhere in helen from shops,restauraunts, and even the local grocery store(Bettys) Thanks helendorf staff, for now on when we come to helen your the only place we will be staying.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autisticdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

we had stayed at the Helendorf several yrs ago and it was fine...great location. Decided to stay again on this trip. Called for reservations and asked about elevators and were told they did have them....we actually remembered them from our last stay. When we arrived, they had us in a bldg that did not have an elevator.....said we wouldn't need one. We're both in our 60's but basically healthy....thank goodness!!!! We had to literally DRAG
our luggage up 21 very narrow steps. The room had NO immenities....only 1 tiny bar of soap. We also had to drive around looking for a place to park and finally parked in an area that wasn't designated as parking. We again had to DRAG our luggage down the 21 steps when we left. We decided that would be our last stay at the Helendorf!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomyers1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center

Property: Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Address: 33 Munich Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3644
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Helen
#4 Family Hotel in Helen
#7 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
American owned and Army family operated for over 38 years…Whether you’re looking for a family vacation place, meeting space or a party venue, The Helendorf is ideal. Our 99 lodging rooms and multiple meeting facilities have hosted everything from weddings and reunions, to mountain bike clubs and sports car rallies, to groups of all kinds. Even your pets have a place here! Celebrating its thirty-eighth year as a mountain community hotel with a Bavarian flourish, the Helendorf offers access to a wide array of attractions — ranging from Native American burial sites, to wineries, to 200+ specialty and import shops offering everything from candle making to cuckoo clocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helendorf River Hotel Helen
Helendorf River Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing