We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the pictures” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins
Ranked #2 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than the pictures”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My family rented a townhouse for the weekend. It was very clean and the hot tub was nice and warm. The kitchen had plenty of amenities with modern equipment. There are plenty of televisions but they could use updating. Outside there was a great view of a small stream in the backyard. The pictures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
50
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Fabulous breakfast! When we booked, they warned us about the 50 steps to get to our cabin (it was 52, but who's counting?). Loved the in room double jacuzzi (except for the heart shape and red color) and king bed. The natural light coming in was amazing as was sitting out on the porch in the peace and quiet. Great location to be able to walk into town without hassling with parking.

Room Tip: I preferred the highest room on the hill stairs at the end so there was no one walking by our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Thank to the wonderful owners of Black Forest for making our Anniversary perfect! We stayed in the Tropical Cabin. It is situated on the end and very quite. The church bells ringing makes it extra nice to sit outside. I perfect location and walking distances to downtown Helen. we kept the car parked and took romantic strolls however parking is free unlike most of downtown Helen. Can't wait to stay again. Thanks to Art and LouAnne, hospitality of the staff is excellent!

Room Tip: Be specific for what you want they will gladly accommodate you,with a smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihearttraveling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary from 8/2-8/4 and it really exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the European Garden suite and it was SPECTACULAR!

Room: I was blown away by the details in the murals. The entire room is painted to look like you're in a garden and the furniture is a light antique look. When we go back (and we will) I will definitely want this room. The picture online don't do it justice, it is so beautiful. It was also VERY clean. The bed was a huge king bed with the softest sheets I have ever felt. It is probably the best bed I've slept on while on vacation. The heart shaped Jacuzzi was a really nice tough, the warm water doesn't run out like at other places and the jets were great, it was also very clean (zero soap scum). I just loved this room so much.

Grounds: The Black Forest B&B has really well kept grounds. Very beautiful landscape and stone paths. You can really tell how much love and work they put into keeping it beautiful. The outside patio where you can eat has a waterfall with koi fish and pretty flowers surrounding it, it's a nice view for breakfast. This places is also located really close to the heart of Helen where all the action is, but it's also far enough to avoid all the noise. We walked the whole time we were there and loved it. There is a church across the street and we could hear the bells every now and then but never at night or in the late evening and it was kind of nice to hear church bells. Also there was zero traffic noise because there isn't much traffic going this way, all the noise seemed to be in the center of Helen.

Black Forest B&B: The people who work here were all so sweet and helpful. We were checked in by a very sweet older woman, she really made us feel welcomed as did all the women there. Lou Ann I believe was the lady who cooks and it seems like she manages or maybe owns the B&B (forgot to ask), She was SO helpful and she truly went above and beyond to help us. The breakfast was amazing too! On saturday morning we had Belgium waffles and bacon with local apple cider, and on sunday we had apple cinnamon pancakes with apple syrup, eggs, sausage and fruit. It was so good, all of it was great and we have no complains.

Places we recommend: Betty's country store, Helen Candle Company, Troll Tavern, Cafe International, Sunburst stables, Cool River Tubing.

All in all Black Forest B&B was a great place to stay. We don't have a single complaint about it, we stayed 2 nights and it was perfect in every way. We're really happy that we stayed here and now we have a favorite place that we can visit for many years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We purchased a voucher from livingsocial.com for this B&B. I was excited to know I could stay at a B&B in a Cabin. The Cabins are all separate little houses behind the main B&B. Each one is decorated with a theme. We ended up in the Black Bear themed cabin. It was nicely decorated. Each cabin has a two person hot tub and an in-room waterfall feature. Our room was very clean. We also had a loveseat which was nice for a place to sit and relax together. Breakfast is included. This is prepared by the owner, downstairs at the main house. There is indoor and outdoor seating for breakfast. The parking at the B&B was a little difficult as maneuvering your vehicle out of a parking space and making it out to the street was sometimes an ordeal. I imagine this would be the case at most "mountain" places. This was on the North side of town, almost out of the hustle, but close enough to walk into the village. This was a good first stay in Helen.

Room Tip: Cabins are worth the upgrade, if you're looking for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglecitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

We didn't have a great stay. We rented a suite for our anniversary. It was very dated, with missing panels in the bathroom, soap scum in the shower stall, stained towels, and a VCR in our room. If I had paid half price for the room, I would have felt better about it - the room was clean except for the soap scum, the bed was comfortable, and the owners friendly. Breakfast was ample, but not great. It is very convenient to the small town of Helen. The heart-shaped Jacuzzi (which was my main motivation in staying here) was nice. I would never recommend this place to a friend, though, because it just wasn't worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sr70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

When we arrived it was a Saturday at 7pm, they gave us an upgrade on the room to a suite. This was the second time we have stayed here. It was nice. Sometimes you need a quick get away and this seems to fit the bill. Even though it is good, I wish there were a few more breakfast options. They are very nice people. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: In the suite we stayed in you could hear traffic and church bells. I'm a light sleeper so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank extra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.1 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.4 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins

Property: Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins
Address: 8902 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2315
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest b&b And Luxury Cabins Hotel Helen
Black Forest Bed And Breakfast And Luxury Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing