We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins
Ranked #2 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little bit of Heaven”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We were in town for a wedding and this place was recommended. On arrival we had a quick check-in and tour and were left to enjoy the place. Beautiful room with a red heart shaped spa tub. The bed was so comfortable but the best part was breakfast the next morning. Go at your leisure and enjoy the home made waffles or pancakes or whatever wonderful surprise the chef has in store for that day. Delicious local juices and syrups and fresh fruit. The town is so cute and fun to walk around and this B&B is in the perfect location to take off on foot and enjoy but also not in the thick of things so that you can go back to a peaceful place to relax. Also the only place we noticed in town with a "NO Vacancy" sign. That should tell you something!
We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We chose to stay in a lower room near the house rather than climb the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Black Forest B&B. When we checked in, we were told that we were being upgraded to a larger suite at no extra cost to us because it was available. The breakfast was very good. Also the staff was very good at recommending places in Helen to check out as well as places that were not worth our time and money. Very friendly staff. The bed was comfortable and their was plenty of room to spread out. Would definitely stay with them again.

Room Tip: Check in is at 2pm. Check in right at check-in time. If you are the first to check in there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Let me start by saying that the room was fine, although for a suite it was on the small side there was great use of space. The fire place was lovely, it had a timer you would set before retiring for the evening. The room was clean and the bed was quite comfortable. The TV is in a cubby over the fireplace but it was an older set and had lines running through the screen. The hot tub was red heart shaped with mirrored walls it was clean but we didn't use it and there is a heating/ac unit in the room which like all other hotels are noisy, we turned it off. My initial contact with the owner when making the reservation was pleasant she took my info and told me there would be a reservation e-mail forthcoming, no e-mail sent! The morning we left for the trip we received a call from the owner asking what time we would arrive, I told her we thought we would be there around 2 or 3pm, she gave us instructions to find the room and told us to go right in, the door would be open, she had personal business to attend to and would not be there. We arrived around 2:30, found the room without a problem and left to go sightseeing. The next morning we walked to the main building for breakfast, to this point we had no contact with anyone representing the establishment. On the web site the picture of the dinning room looks very warm and inviting, we did not eat in that room, we ate in a small room off to the side. On the web site it lists delicious coffee and desserts, we did not have either. We were given Styrofoam cups and told to serve ourselves. The breakfast was cold, scramble eggs, rolled crapes and hard overcooked bacon and sausage patties there was also an assortment of fruit, when I asked for bread or a roll the waitress said the owner was not available and there was none. After looking in the refrigerator she did find a piece of whole wheat bread which she toasted for me. I expected sweet rolls and pastries " Bavarian cooking from the chef " to quote one of your TripAdvisor reviewers. We expected to sit down and to be served a nice breakfast! My wife and I are an older couple and we have visited many B&Bs over the years, usually they are good experiences because they are not run by nameless, faceless chain corporations. We paid a premium for the nights stay of $201.25 including tax hoping to be afforded a little personal service which unfortunately did not happen in this instance. When we arrived home the next day I called the proprietor and spoke to her about our experience, she was not receptive! I would not recommend visiting Black Forrest B&B when you could stay at the local chain hotel and have a better experience.
Joe, South Carolina

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joseph643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My family rented a townhouse for the weekend. It was very clean and the hot tub was nice and warm. The kitchen had plenty of amenities with modern equipment. There are plenty of televisions but they could use updating. Outside there was a great view of a small stream in the backyard. The pictures do not do it justice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medikit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Fabulous breakfast! When we booked, they warned us about the 50 steps to get to our cabin (it was 52, but who's counting?). Loved the in room double jacuzzi (except for the heart shape and red color) and king bed. The natural light coming in was amazing as was sitting out on the porch in the peace and quiet. Great location to be able to walk into town without hassling with parking.

Room Tip: I preferred the highest room on the hill stairs at the end so there was no one walking by our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Thank to the wonderful owners of Black Forest for making our Anniversary perfect! We stayed in the Tropical Cabin. It is situated on the end and very quite. The church bells ringing makes it extra nice to sit outside. I perfect location and walking distances to downtown Helen. we kept the car parked and took romantic strolls however parking is free unlike most of downtown Helen. Can't wait to stay again. Thanks to Art and LouAnne, hospitality of the staff is excellent!

Room Tip: Be specific for what you want they will gladly accommodate you,with a smile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ihearttraveling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our one year anniversary from 8/2-8/4 and it really exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the European Garden suite and it was SPECTACULAR!

Room: I was blown away by the details in the murals. The entire room is painted to look like you're in a garden and the furniture is a light antique look. When we go back (and we will) I will definitely want this room. The picture online don't do it justice, it is so beautiful. It was also VERY clean. The bed was a huge king bed with the softest sheets I have ever felt. It is probably the best bed I've slept on while on vacation. The heart shaped Jacuzzi was a really nice tough, the warm water doesn't run out like at other places and the jets were great, it was also very clean (zero soap scum). I just loved this room so much.

Grounds: The Black Forest B&B has really well kept grounds. Very beautiful landscape and stone paths. You can really tell how much love and work they put into keeping it beautiful. The outside patio where you can eat has a waterfall with koi fish and pretty flowers surrounding it, it's a nice view for breakfast. This places is also located really close to the heart of Helen where all the action is, but it's also far enough to avoid all the noise. We walked the whole time we were there and loved it. There is a church across the street and we could hear the bells every now and then but never at night or in the late evening and it was kind of nice to hear church bells. Also there was zero traffic noise because there isn't much traffic going this way, all the noise seemed to be in the center of Helen.

Black Forest B&B: The people who work here were all so sweet and helpful. We were checked in by a very sweet older woman, she really made us feel welcomed as did all the women there. Lou Ann I believe was the lady who cooks and it seems like she manages or maybe owns the B&B (forgot to ask), She was SO helpful and she truly went above and beyond to help us. The breakfast was amazing too! On saturday morning we had Belgium waffles and bacon with local apple cider, and on sunday we had apple cinnamon pancakes with apple syrup, eggs, sausage and fruit. It was so good, all of it was great and we have no complains.

Places we recommend: Betty's country store, Helen Candle Company, Troll Tavern, Cafe International, Sunburst stables, Cool River Tubing.

All in all Black Forest B&B was a great place to stay. We don't have a single complaint about it, we stayed 2 nights and it was perfect in every way. We're really happy that we stayed here and now we have a favorite place that we can visit for many years.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.1 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins

Property: Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins
Address: 8902 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2315
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Forest B&B and Luxury Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Forest b&b And Luxury Cabins Hotel Helen
Black Forest Bed And Breakfast And Luxury Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing