We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Peanuts!”

Fred's Famous Peanuts
Ranked #5 of 30 Shopping in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rockledge, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Peanuts!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Don't just drive by! We were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who let us sample just about everything. Their boiled peanuts are amazing, worth the stop!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LCo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    10
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tasty peanuts! STOP ! Don't drive by”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Every time we visit Helen we stop for some peanuts ... Brittle, fried, and roasted ... Unfortunately none of them make it back home ! Luckily they ship ! Awesome family run business ... Make the stop you won't be disappointed ..

Helpful?
1 Thank Griffinmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celebration, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Thank you for the samples”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I have never had a boiled peanut til now, and enjoyed this store to the max. The owner shared stories and samples of his peanut brittle, pork rinds, variety of peanuts and the best cider ever. Just a delight! Expect a line, and do yourself a favor and get double of whatever you are seeking. We liked it so much we sent the men back for more!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank poppingupdaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndale, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Hot boiled peanuts. Done wrong they're miserable...mushy, overcooked. Done right they're wonderful. Fred's does them right. Got both the regular & cajun...fresh, crisp & delicious-wife said they were the best she'd had in a long time. Quaint little place with a small selection of other items as others have noted in their reviews-will be back.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We got the cajun peanuts and pork skins...very yummy! Friendly service, they let you sample everything. Neat little place to check out if you are in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LK4Bama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fred's Famous Peanuts also viewed

 

Been to Fred's Famous Peanuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing