We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Castle Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Helen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We loved this inn for the location in the heart of Helen! The balcony is perfect overlooking the river. The room was just OK and could really use remodeling. The carpet was very stained. The bed was comfortable and the staff is great. It would be perfect if they put mini fridges in the rooms and updated the decor. It's a very basic room. We enjoyed our stay, but I'm not sure we will return. I prefer to stay in places with breakfast and descent coffee.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank JessandJoey2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    27
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
27
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynn Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed here on 11/23/13 ... Had a great time! The hotel is on the main strip, so it's close to all the restaurants and shops! Stephanie at the front desk was very nice and helpful! The downside to the hotel is that there is no elevator. So, you have to carry your luggage to the 2nd/3rd floor. Also, you can't book this hotel online, it has to be done over the phone. My parents and my family stayed in Rooms 203 & 204. It's on the backside of the hotel, so it faces the parking lot and you can see the stream and the Helendorf Hotel from the rooms. Both rooms were roomy, but cozy at the same time. We also had balconies. It was nice to drink coffee out their in the mornings! No refrigerator in the rooms, but you can request one.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CSHelmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Location is great it's right in the center of town, service was excellent everyone is super friendly, rooms are clean and have great amenities. We stayed for two nights during Oktoberfest and when I say the location can't be beat, it really can't. The balcony attached to the room is a huge plus it offers a great view of both the town and the river. Fantastic all the way around!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Sean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Very clean and nice place to stay! Right in the middle of Helen which made for great shopping and walking! Really loved morning coffee on the balcony! Staff was great and very polite. Enjoyed being so close to the river and watching the people tubing.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank hdavis249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the castle inn on Helen for one night on Labor Day weekend just because we liked the balcony over looking the city for people watching. It is really old and outdated but the location can't be beat. It is in the middle of town and we did enjoy the balcony. There was no refrigerator in our room but I think they do have a room with refrigerator. The main problem is the stairs. They do not have an elevator and there are 2 sets of 20 steps each to haul luggage up. Old carpet that needs to be replaced. Looks dirty. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suppes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is located in a great location, you can walk to restaurants and all of the shops in the area.. The hotel is dated, the rooms are dark, however, the balcony is nice...it overlooks the river, which is nice. We had a deluxe room with double beds, no phone, flat screen tv and a very uncomfortable bed. The bed in this room was the worst bed that I have ever slept on in my life. Every time that you moved on the bed it made a crunchy sound and it sinks in the middle. My entire body is in pain and very achy from my sleep last night in room 202. If you are not looking for a hotel with a comfortable bed than this is the hotel for you. Although, the location is great, it is not worth all of the aches and pains that I am experiencing today. The lady at the front desk is friendly, however, be mindful if you have to check in late (after 6pm), I don't think that they stay in the office late.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cozy2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Georgia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This little hotel is a great bargain smack in the middle of Helen on the Chattahoochee River. We stayed here with a couple of my siblings and their spouses early in August. Two out of three of our rooms could not have been better, especially for the money. The third room had a stained carpet and a patch on the wall that had not been painted over, however my sister and her husband had no complaints and appreciated the roominess and the great balcony, eventhough it overlooked the parking lot. Our room was smaller, but not cramped, and not only overlooked the river (great view of people tubing and the flash flood that occured while we were there) but had the bonus of a "turret" just off our small balcony. No refrigarator in our rooms (they do have suites with kitchens) but we were fine in that we brought a cooler with us. The lady at the front desk (now located in the gift shop downstairs) was very accomodating in allowing the 2 couples who were arriving late (6:30ish) to check-in over the phone. I would suggest, based on a couple of other reviews, that you communicate with her regarding what time you expect to arrive and arrange a back-up plan in case you arrive later than that. Accept that Helen is a small town and everything shuts down fairly early so arriving at a small hotel late at night is probably not going to work for you. If you must arrive late without such a plan then you probably want to book at one of the no-character chains. On that same note, we did not find being in the middle of town on the main drag to be a problem. The cafe' across the river closed around 9:00 and the tavern right below our room stops serving around 10:00. This is a fun little place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LENGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.1 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn

Property: Castle Inn
Address: 8580 Main St, PO box 209, Helen, GA 30545
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bavarian style building with magnificent views! This Hotel is located in the heart of Alpine Helen on the banks of the Chattahoochee River with fantastic views of the mountains. Enjoy the comfort of our rooms after a full day of; trout fishing on the Chattahoochee River, the action packed family fun of Helen's Main Street attractions, or endless hours of browsing and shopping the most unique shops in the Georgia Mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing