We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Unwelcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Quiet and Unwelcoming”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were looking for a quick get-away in the No. Georgia mountains and chose Unicoi Lodge as it was near a craft fair. We stayed in one of the lodge buildings (versus cabin or campsite) - the room was generous size with sink in bathroom and another outside bathroom. Plenty of counter space and room to make coffee. Desk, chair plus easy chair and small table came in handy. Room was clean and basic but had everything we needed. We did not see mention of a TV on their website, but there was a flat screen in our room. The wifi was excellent and very speedy. As for the resort itself when we checked in we were given the basic info of where to park and how to find our room - that's it! I had to go out exploring to find the gift shop, restaurant and information about entertainment that was to be held that evening in the main lodge. Absolutely NO information about any of that, and none was volunteered. Had to pull every tidbit of info out of the staff, find the restaurant location and there was one board at restaurant entrance with menu and price. No information in lodge lobby where we checked in, nor in the room. Had to ask for info about park trails, etc. We did walk the lake trail and it was okay but not much to see. The trout buffet on Saturday night was pricey at $21.95 and food was okay for sitting in a steam table. The 2nd night we ordered at the bar and the food was very good. In the morning I wanted to get coffee and a little something to take back to the room - coffee service was in the gift shop at $2/cup and muffins, etc. were all packaged goods you could have purchased at a gas station. If you stay here, bring your own snacks and fruit.
There were no real views in any of the rooms - even the ones not facing the parking lot you could not see past the nearby trees. We will not be staying here again. A couple years ago we stayed at Amicalola lodge and that's where we will go from now on. It had a beautiful large lobby with huge fireplace and wonderful views of the mountain valley. Also many of the rooms had that same view. You can also take an interesting walk to the falls and they host a ranger program on the weekends which is lots of fun. Also their staff is welcoming and enthusiastic. Unicoi would do well to have signboards in the lobby area announcing restaurant location and menu as well as that evening's entertainment. Maybe this state lodge is geared to hosting groups, not individual parties? Staff could sure use a few smiles!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    169
    125
    65
    32
See reviews for
228
125
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LEESBURG
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

For the guest ratings and the price, you would expect a very nice hotel. It's the opposite of that. The hotel lodge rooms are dated, musty smelly and remind you of a roadside motel of the 1960's. Ice machine did not work. Water was off when we came back to room, took hours to repair and front staff seemed unconcerned about the lack of water to bath or flush toilets. The only redeeming quality is if you get a "room with a view". Nice panoramic view of mountains. Perhaps the State of Georgia should get out of the hotel business if this the best it can do.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank walrus99Leesburg_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helen hotels

Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went to visit our son during his intersession break from summer camp. The cabins looked nice on the website so we gave it a try. Awful! The cabin was dark and musty. The chair in the living room had a major stain on it. The linoleum floor in the kitchen was cracked and missing pieces with sharp edges. The mattresses were hard and the pillows were thin and worn. We didn't even unpack. Instead, we went back to the registration office and said we did not find the accommodations acceptable. The young man at the desk was very understanding and cancelled our reservation with no charge. I got the feeling this was not the first time this had happened.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We reserved a tent walk in camp site on the 4th of July. As we were setting up the tent, two deer walked through eating about 15 feet from us. That was great. Pros: The site had plenty of shade, was set up nice with a fire pit ,plenty of space,not right on top of the next camper. Cons: had to park in different spot not in front of the campsite so you had to hug your stuff a great distance, the bathrooms were gross,the door to the bathroom was so loud that you could hear it all night with people slamming it and we were 50 yards away, all in all we will not go back. We will be back to the buffet at the lodge restaurant, it was wonderful.

Room Tip: pick a tent site away from the bathhouses. The door slam loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonder W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Camping lots not kept clean bathrooms in disrepair and not Clean such a great location just a shame is being run by a private company and is underfunded and not being kept up I suggest you go to Vogel State Park

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Intothewildjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, GA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The lodge, which is located inside Unicoi State Park, looks to be from the late 70's or 80's. It is a solid structure -- made with plenty of metal and cinderblock (like a school or military building). There are no elevators, only stairs (on the inside of the building), so if you have mobility issues, be sure to request a ground floor room. The room itself is a normal, average budget hotel room. The bathroom was old, with formica countertops and desilvering around the edges of the mirror. The beds, however, are very comfy! They obviously have premium mattresses in place. We stayed on the second floor. The ice maker wasn't working on that floor, so we got our ice from the first floor. There is a coffee pot and hair dryer in the room. They do serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets here. We ate dinner in the nearby Bavarian town of Helen (a nice and fun touristy area that will give you plenty of photo opps), but enjoyed the lodge's breakfast buffet, at $10.95 per person, not including drinks. There wasn't an incredibly large amount of food choices, but there was still enough to satisfy just about any appetite. The scrambled eggs tasted REALLY good . . . they tasted like they came from a small farm, free-range hens. The best thing about this location is the location! Unicoi State Park is a gorgeous park. We spent part of our trip renting a kayak there ($8.00 an hour). They also have paddleboats to rent, as well as new Stand-Up-Paddleboards at $10/hr. We also drove over to Anna Ruby Falls, which is right next to Unicoi State Farm. You will have to pay an extra fee to visit Anna Ruby Falls ($3.00 per person) but they have very nice paved trails (only 1/2 mile in length) that take you to the twin falls, which are gorgeous.

Room Tip: No elevators, so choose a ground floor if you have mobility issues. One side of the lodge has incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

rooms were nice, great walking trails, close to Helen. The restaurant offered only a buffett, the food was not hot and sitting for a while. It would have been nice to order from a menu and get freshly cooked food. Great scenery and location. Would go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Juan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.9 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
1.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.9 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Unicoi State Park & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Unicoi State Park & Lodge

Property: Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Address: 1788 Highway 356, P. O. Box 849, Helen, GA 30545-2326
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Unicoi State Park & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Unicoi State Park & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Unicoi State Park Hotel Helen
Unicoi State Park Lodge And Conference Center Helen
Unicoi State Park Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing