We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure how anyone could give this place a thumbs up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not sure how anyone could give this place a thumbs up”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We checked in and were asked if we wanted a comfortable bed or a big TV?? Not sure if the beds we had were supposed to be comfortable? I wonder how bad the ones in the room with the big TV were. My bed (and they were different heights??really) was so highly stacked with old mattresses and some kind of pillow top that sitting on the bed was almost impossible, unless my husband helped out. The fitted sheet therefore was not big enough to stay on the mattress correctly. Spread and skirt had undefined spots.
The shower head was missing, the sink faucet was loose and the whole thing came off when one was not careful. The TV volume could not be adjusted up with the remote. The bathroom was moldy and the floors in the room stopped somewhat shy of the self-made platforms the mattresses were sitting on. We stayed two nights and the cleaning crew did not even bother to remove items that were left from another guest before us from the drawer of the dresser.
The curtains were one layer, either close them so no one could look in, or leave them open for daylight and anyone walking by saw you in the room. For the amount we paid, this was by far the worst stay I have had in any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank grossclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    293
    62
    58
    67
See reviews for
337
712
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My best friend and I stayed for three days. The room was clean and we felt very safe. We could walk to town and didn't have to worry about parking. The front desk employee was funny and very helpful. Can't wait to bring the family and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Charming, clean, quiet, and the owner made a personal effort to ensure we were happy. I would definitely stay there again again and recommend the place to friends and family. Walking distanceto best shops and resrestaurants. Free parking.

Room Tip: All rooms looked good. We had a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The owner is amazing its nice staying somewhere where you know the owner truly cares about your experience in Helen! Not a high class place but its clean the rooms are nicer than the outside. I checked in and the owner said go enjoy your time pay me later as we got into town 3 hrs before stores were closing. He said call me with any questions or recommendation s and you could sense he had your back. I will always stay here from now on. Worth every penny. You could stay at a corporate hotel and deal with people that are just there for a check not you.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RLDUKEDEVIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed over the 4th,had an awesome time. Rooms were very clean an nice. We were very lucky to find this little treasure . Felt very safe ..Will most definitely stay again, an again. The owner is very friendly an helpful. Next to the river, most awesome.

Room Tip: Take a minute to check out this place , before looking else where. Clean, rooms, nice people .Choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Riverbend Motel during the 4th of July weekend. We had stayed there in the past, but this time the rooms had been upgraded with hardwood floors and very modern furniture. I loved the new ceiling in the room! The management is very friendly and helpful. The location is right on the river with swings and picnic tables to sit and rest, very peaceful. It is a very short walk to main street. Would highly recommend this motel to anyone, and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I recommend the top floor for quiteness and the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyCarroll2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marietta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in the hotel on a Sunday night( June 30th) and we had a wonderful time. Our room was very clean and updated. The bed was great-very comfy.
The hotel is right on the river and they have these great swings you can sit in and watch people tube down the river. You can easily walk to all the shops and restaurants from this hotel-great location.
The owner is wonderful....very nice and very helpful. We had a wonderful time and plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor but you can easily get to the river from any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredMarietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.2 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverbend Motel & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverbend Motel & Cabins

Property: Riverbend Motel & Cabins
Address: 134 River St, Helen, GA 30545-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#2 Business Hotel in Helen
#2 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverbend Motel & Cabins 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located conveniently downtown. Flat screen TV, PILLOWTOP king OR 2 queen size beds. Each room has a micro/frig, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron/ironing board, HBO and wireless internet. Located on the Chattahoochee River. Picnic tables, BBQ grills. Free local calls. Our beautiful cabins sit along the Chattahoochee River. Each cabin has a cozy loft bedroom, full kitchen and living room equipped with a fireplace, BIG FLAT SCREEN TV & HBO. Some cabins are equipped with Jacuzzi tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Riverbend Motel & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverbend Motel & Cabins Hotel Helen
Riverbend Motel And Cabins
Chalet Kristy Helen
Chalet Kristy Hotel Helen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing