We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There was very limited access to the woods.”

Smithgall Woods Conservation Area
ATLANTA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“There was very limited access to the woods.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were there April 11, 2014 and wanted to hike and see some of the area but all but one trail was closed because they had hunters there. Wish we would have known. It was a wasted trip.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank KENTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will W, General Manager at Smithgall Woods Conservation Area, responded to this review, 8 July 2016
Thank you for your visit to Smithgall Woods, I am sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We have since listed the hiking trails and the hunting schedule side by side on the website, whereas they were once separated. We also posted a note at the top of the webpage. Smithgall Woods is not open to season long hunting, but for particular scheduled weekends only. However, our longest loop trail, Laurel Ridge, is open year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Serene, & Private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have been visiting Smithgall Woods for years, and it's beautiful. One of my favorite things about Smithgall in relation to any other hiking location, is that it's never packed. You have a lot of privacy. The only thing I have to say is BEWARE of ticks if you bring your dog. On the back hiking trails, there are packs of ticks EVERYWHERE lurking behind every curve, especially on the trail with the old mine.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Glock19ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

If you love to get away from the sounds of machinery and love to hike, this is the place to go. I am glad to know that such a beautiful place is being preserved and available to the public

Helpful?
2 Thank Poppell3404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiking for Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This park has great mountain stream fishing, I am sure, but we found the hikes and trails to be beautiful and refreshing. Don't forget to visit an old covered bridge! It is a rarity these days!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tucked Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

There are a LOT of trails and it's very quiet. My wife and I went there and we only met with 2 hikers while we were going in, and 4 hikers as we were leaving. We spent 3 1/2 hours in the park and hiked over 8 miles. Some parts were strenuous, but it was work visiting. If you go on the Miners trail, then make sure you take the little path off it to see the waterfall (it's hard to find it).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RauFamily06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smithgall Woods Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Smithgall Woods Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing