We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heidi loves the Heidi Motel”
Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Gordon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heidi loves the Heidi Motel”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My family grew up spending many hours in Helen, GA. We always wanted to stay at the Heidi Motel, but never did. I'm glad that I (finally) did! The staff was eager to please and you cannot beat the location...especially for Oktoberfest! The room was clean and tidy and the beds were very comfortable. This is a great place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thanks Heidi for taking the time to send in this review and we want to thank you for your business and kind words it means alot to me and my family and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    97
    24
    10
    11
See reviews for
88
175
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

As part of our vacation plan we went to Helen, Georgia and spent the day there. Wonderful little German Town. All the buildings looked like you were in Germany, even the Dollar General, Wendys, and IGA store They had candy stores, old time clock store, buggy rides around town, german type restaurants, antique stores. They had a river there that you could go rafting, or just float on a inner tube. That night we stayed at the Heidi motel. It was up on a hill overlooking the town. From the room you could see the National forest all around, felt that I was in a chalet, mountain retreat in Germany. The rooms were nice, modern, remodeled. Our room did not have a phone. We either had to go up front or use our cell phones. (cell phones worked great) The beds were comfortable, we slept great. The motel had a huge windmill above it which was awesome. Next morning we walked down to a place called "The Meeting Place Family Restaurant", breakfast was fantastic. Motel is right above in town and can walk anywhere. Town is also Handicap friendly.

Room Tip: Make reservations
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review, and thank you for your business and kind words and hope to see you in the future. We have been working to find a cheap affordable phone service for our rooms and hopefully we can with internet phone. Due to the high cost in phone service by our local phone provider we choose not to have phones to help keep our room prices down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome Ga
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The Heidi Motel is an excellent choice, starting with the location nestled atop of a hill giving the effect of being in a mountain retreat in Germany.Being on the side of a hill the traffic noise level is very low, with the National Forest behind it lets you get back to nature enjoy seeing wildlife of all types. The rooms have all been recently remodeled new carpet, paint, and decor. They are very clean and spacious. The staff will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable easy to talk to and they have compassion for the guest. It is owner operated, the young couple are great seems to always have a genuine smile on their face.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms allow a better view of the beautiful mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rlmatrix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We do our best to not have that Hotel/Motel feel but more of the family operated German B&b feel and are working on getting a full breakfast from one of the local resturants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Heidi Motel was a terrific. The room smelled so fresh and clean, really a pleasant surrpise as most hotels smell musty. It was newly remodeled and very clean. They even wash the comforters after every guest. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel is located within walking distance of the shops and restaraunts.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We do our best to have clean bedding and rooms because i wouldnt want my family or freinds staying in a place that was dirty. Sorry it took so long washing your bedding, we were down 2 dryers and got behind. Thank you for your bussiness and kind words and hope to see you all in the future. We have and still in the process of decorating each room so that each room has its own German feel and cannot wait to share them with you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked a room with a jacuzzi and called the day ahead to confirm our reservations. When we got there, they didn't have any rooms with jacuzzi that worked so demoted us to a regular room. Very disappointing since that is the main thing we requested. They also made everyone pay with cash only which is very suspicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
We are very sorry you had this experience at our motel. We work very hard to satisfy everyone during their stay. If we had your contact number we could have advised you in advance. We have now made it a requirement of our staff to ensure that a contact phone number is taken for all rentals.
We reserve the right to change rental assignments without prior notice or liability in the event that a particular motel room becomes unavailable, particularly when it is beyond our control, as was the case this time. When comparable accommodations are not available, the renter will have the option of selecting from available motel rooms at the published rate or receiving a complete refund. Rooms may be paid for with a VISA, Master Card or Travelers Check. WHEN USING CASH WE REQUIRE A VALID CREDIT CARD ON FILE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The fact that the Heidi Motel is right in the center of town makes it easy to walk anywhere you need to go. The room we stayed in had been remodeled and was nice and clean. The mattress wasn't the greatest quality, but was comfortable and not too wore out. With a combination of the location, price, and cleanliness this place offers a value that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thatguy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review. We cannot wait to share all the new changes we have done to the property and rooms to give it a more German feel and we want to thank you for your bussiness. I am sorry the mattress was not to your liking, we are in the process of looking into better ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We have stayed many times in Helen but have really not been particularly pleased with the lodging choices whether trying chains or B&Bs. This time we were surprised and delighted with the Heidi Motel. Although an older property, it was one of the cleanest and most comfortable places we have stayed at in a tourist town noted for high prices and questionable rooms. Chad and his wife are a young couple who have really worked on providing a good affordable package - the standard room we had was spotless, the carpet new and fresh, the bed comfortable, the flat screen TV super and best of all, even with a lot of traffic in town - quiet. We will always choose this location whenever we are back to Helen.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way - we always like end rooms but didn't really seem to matter since th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PITennisMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send in your review. We do our best to have a clean affordable room for our guest and with your help we hope to continue to do so. Thank you for you business and kind words and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
283 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing