We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Piedmont, Alabama
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We visited Helen for Octoberfest as we do every year, and were able to get this room for one night. Usually all the hotels require at least a 2 night minimum this time of year, so we were very pleased to find this on short notice. This motel is very well maintained and was clean and comfortable. The owner was friendly and genuinely interested in how we enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send in this review and for choosing us for your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time in Helen and with us at the Heidi. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    94
    24
    10
    11
See reviews for
85
175
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I checked in late on Wed evening. The owner was amazingly friendly and made us feel at home. We stayed in the windmill that had a fireplace. We don't like to stay in the chain hotels because we like more of a local feel to our stays. This location was exactly what we were looking for. We were in walking distance to everything in Helen and we would recommend this to others for their travels.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on delivering a unique Alpine experience, and hope to see you during your next visit to Helen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Booked the king size suite with hot tub & fireplace back in July for mine & my husband's 20th anniversary and have to say it was wonderful!!!! The room was very big & perfect. King size bed, huge fireplace, hot tub & shower with dual shower heads. Walking distance to town & right across the street from Betty's Grocery. Before arriving we asked if the owner Chad if he could help us with a renewal ceremony and he agreed. We were able to have the ceremony right out front with the pretty flowers in bloom & the windmill right behind us & Chad's wife Tyanna taking pictures for us. It was very special. We stayed here back in Feb. and fell in love with it then and knew we had found the place that we'd stay at from now on. Nothing like a chain hotel with the same ole same ole. This place is ran by a young married couple who does their very best to make your stay comfortable & memorable. If there is anything you need you just let them know and they will do their best to help you out. With there only being 14 rooms it is very quiet nestled up on top of a hill and has that private feel to it. If all other hotels could be like this then there would be no worries but with chains they sometimes forget what's important. With Chad & Tyanna you are a part of the Heidi family and that is very special to us and what makes it top of the list.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalissaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Second time staying at The Heidi Motel. First experience was so memorable, we actually chose to come to Helen for our 20th wedding anniversay based off of the lodging alone. How many hotels can say that?! Would not have trusted such a special occasion to just anyone. And as expected, the owners did not let me down. Was a wonderful time and will be back again ...and again ...and again ...and, well you get the point. Oh, and yes, we have stayed in other hotels and cabins in Helen. None, in my opinion of course, even come close to comparison.

Room Tip: The windmill suites are well worth the extra money. If available, I will always choose one of these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at The Heidi Motel. It was the quietest place that we have ever stayed at, also very reasonably priced, super clean, great location, and the owners were so nice. We even stayed in the wind mill which was special! Loved it! So if you are looking for a fun place to stay in Helen, Ga. go to The Heidi Motel you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Stay in the wind mill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you and your husband enjoyed your time with us. Have a safe and happy holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabaster, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Visited Helen, GA for a couple of days and stayed at Heidi Motel. The motel is so quaint and cute and very clean. The young couple who own it are extremely nice and anxious to do anything at all to make your stay wonderful. They are in the process of renovating the entire motel but many things have already been done. Our room was ground floor and we did not hear any outside noise or noise from above. The room was comfortable and the only negative comment I have is that our room did not have clothes hangers. I'm sure we could have gotten them if we had asked but it just wasn't important enough to us to bother. Our visit was great and next time we are in Helen, we will certainly stay with Chad and his wife at the Heidi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parrothead43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working hard on several updates. We look forward to your next visit. Have a safe and happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was a surprise getaway trip with my husband. I made the reservation on Tuesday October 9th and have no disappointment on it. We got there that night around 11pm. The staff was friendly and we got our key to room fast. The room was big and the setting was great. Me and my husband had a great time and are looking forward to go back. Hubby was so happy that he wants to got at least once a month...lol so with that been said we loved this place

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliyahHaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chad J, Owner at Heidi Motel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Helen. This time of year is amazing, so we hope you and your husband get to come visit soon. Have a great holiday season.

“Lovely”
Reviewed October 11, 2013
This was a surprise getaway trip with my husband. I made the reservation on Tuesday October 9th and have no disappointment on it. We got there that night around 11pm. The staff was friendly and we got our key to room fast. The room was big and the setting was great. Me and my husband had a great time and are looking forward to go back. Hubby was so happy that he wants to got at least once a month...lol so with that been said we loved this place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing