We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quick visit to Helen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidi Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heidi Motel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A quick visit to Helen”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We planned on visiting Dahlonega, but many restaurants were closed on Tuesdays. So, we decided to visit Helen. Hampton Inn was booked as well as Black Forest B&B - places we have stayed at before. Someone had told us about Heidi Motel, so we gave it a try. We had a choice of a room in the windmill or a king bed room, we chose the king bed room. It is plain, but clean. The prices are reasonable. We could hear people talking outside of our room, but they weren't there long. Right on the strip and close to everything. People were very nice and accommodating. Allowed us to view the rooms before choosing one, since we've never stayed there before. Although I do like a more neutral color in the rooms, the blue is not bad. They do not offer breakfast, but there are a couple places within walking distance (such as Hofers.) We would stay there again. Thank you for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask the owners - they are happy to help. All rooms are non-smoking, which to us is a definite plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank extra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    92
    21
    10
    11
See reviews for
81
170
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend of the Fourth of July rooms were over priced and very outdated hand made beds that were broke mold on the ceiling of shower air conditioning worked when it wanted to old brown carpet do yourself a favor don't stay here

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Let me first say that the manager/owner that we delt with was extremely helpful and nice. This is definetely a dated hotel. The curtains were translucent and furniture mismatched. The mattress was a very inexpensive spring mattress that left our backs aching by morning. We booked for a family of 4. The room was said to have a king bed and a pullout sofa that sleeps 2. When we arrived, however, the pull out was a small loveseat with single mattress. I spoke to the manager, who advised it has a pull out bed and they do not have any roll away beds. My small daughters 7 & 8 tried to sleep on the single but one ended up sleeping on the floor for the two nights we were there. The King suite sleeps 3, not four. If you bring your own aerobed there is space, but we did not have ours with us. Service was great, but the motel is just run down.

Room Tip: King suite sleeps 3, not 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is super cute and we were greeted by Michael who works in the office. He was nice and welcoming and accommodated to our every need. The room we had was the King jacuzzi suite and it was perfect spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel location was great too!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

It is a small motel. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The owner/manager was very pleasant, willing to help us out with places to go and eat. The location was perfect for us-across the street from a small store but was at the end of the busy tourist area. Also very close to good hiking trails.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked well in advance and the owner/manager corresponded with me via email, answering many questions we had about the area. When we arrived, he greeted us as friends and was very helpful and informative about the area. Our room was at the other end of the building as we reserved the King suite and we had a little patio out front to use, a nice view of the mountains and a fairly quiet area. It is a bit old but yet is kept well cleaned and updated. The rooms could have used more lighting, but the bed was comfortable and the a/c worked great. We were able to walk most of the time to where we were going, which is good as all the public parking in town wanted 2 to 5 dollars each! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant at motel but some are very close by. Drive is steep, if you have difficulty wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosifraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

this motel was very neat and clean...beds were comfy and was right in town. I would definantly stay here again and plan to soon. Friendly staff. Perfect for families and children. All the shops in walking distance and the park also.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanyandreko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidi Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidi Motel

Property: Heidi Motel
Address: 8820 N Main St, Helen, GA 30545-2335 (Formerly Heidi Motel & Windmill Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Helen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Heidi Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heidi motel is located in down town and is one of the most Photographed building in Helen, GA and is one of the landmarks to the town and also are currently the only Motel in this area that you can actually stay in a windmill. We do not do a Breakfast due to the fact that we are across from Bettys country store and 2 buildings down from Hoffers Bakery which we recommend to all our guest to go for a great German breakfast and lunch. We have no pool due to the fact that we are so close to the river and that there are 2 water parks in town. We are American owned and operated and live on site. We work very hard to make your stay great and really appreciate your business. Thanks Chad Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Heidi Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidi Motel & Windmill Hotel Helen
Heidi Motel And Windmill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing