We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodbye Forever Helen, GA”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Crandall, GA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Goodbye Forever Helen, GA”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First let me say that we stayed here on the 4th of July and the room rates were more than double what they normally run. Our room was on the back side of the hotel away from the NOISY water park across the street. The room appeared clean, the bathroom and sink was clean, the carpet had been recently cleaned. The room had a microwave, small fridge, a blow dryer, iron and ironing board. You could hear people slamming doors and partying at all hours of the night. We had our 4 Chihuahuas with us and they were disturbed the whole time. The bed was OK and the pillows were standard flat hotel pillows. We have no desire to ever return to Helen because we didn't like anything about the town. We have stayed here twice before but this third time was NOT a charm and Helen is OUT of our travel plans ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaandBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m glad you had a generally acceptable experience with us despite not liking the town. For any ways we let you down, I apologize. We take real pride in our hotel and are now providing a better experience than ever before if you should choose to return at some point. We’ll always be here for you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    38
    29
    17
    53
See reviews for
66
59
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Clean hotel room, decent value, room was very outdated. The worst part was the bed! It was the worst sleeping experience I have had in a long time. Pool could have been cleaner and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry we let you down, and I apologize for our shortcoming. We’ve made many changes since your stay that have improved the overall guest experience. When you come to town again, I hope you will give us another chance to satisfy you. You’ll be surprised by the improvements.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Helen hotels

Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is sick. We took the top blankets completely off and stored them away because God only knows when they were last washed. The TV was from 1989. Literally. Look up the manufacturer's sticker. If you hold your arms straight out you could be in the living room, bathroom and bedroom at the same time. We wore shoes on the carpet because it was that dirty. If we couldn't hear people having sex in the next room we could here them physically and verbally abusing one another. The night latch was broken. The space between the door and the carpet was almost big enough to make out what brand of shoes the person on the outside of the door was wearing which wasn't conducive to keeping the bugs out. I regret staying here as long as we did with our children. I would not recommend this place to any one. It's sad that they can get away with this because there is not a lot of competition. Helen is a tourist town, so when there are events, people will stay any where and pay ridiculous amounts of money for a crap hotel. Pay the extra dollar or drive the extra mile. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cstew254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry we weren’t at our best when you visited. For all lapses, I sincerely apologize. Since your stay, we’ve made significant changes in the property and in our staff, and all of these things add up to a better guest experience than ever before. When you need us again in the future, we’ll be here for you with a greatly improved experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed July 1st and for the money, it was a great deal. My only complaint was a dirty shower head Everything else was fine. The free breakfast room was adequate, and it's a short walk into Helen. I would definitely go back. When you're on a budget, this is your go to hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This review is based upon our mid-week rate vs the quality of the property. Friends stayed in another motel and paid 4 times our rate for a smaller, more centrally located, not better, room, but not nearly the value for the buck, and their breakfast was much less substantive. (Get to breakfast early because the breakfast area is tiny.) The beds were OK, just not pillow top. The room was clean. The night clerk was esp accommodating. This motel is on the edge of town so if the touristy central area is what you want to visit, you'll pay to park ($2.-$5. for all day.). Use Edelweiss St, not Main St, from the motel to the central parking area, about 3 min. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because the bath area light fixture had an annoying power hum that was worked on, but not remedied and you must leave notice if you want a linen change.

Room Tip: No elevator. Swimming pool can get noisy. Don't confuse the entry drive with the church next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pell City, Alabama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very, very old TV....Limited channels and the ones that worked were very fuzzy and snowy! The shower head in the bathroom was disgusting...it was brown. The mattress was very old as well. I was going to check the tag on it but it had been removed. Nice appearance from outside but don't let that fool you. Rooms need makeover! Room was very hot and had musty smell. Lady at office needed some English lessons. Could not understand what she was saying at all! We will not be going back there!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PCBANKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
econolodgehelengeorg, Webmaster at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, 25 June 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. I’m terribly sorry we failed to meet your expectations. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and in the overall experience we provide to guests. I sincerely apologize that we let you down and assure that action is already being taken to make things better for the future. Your experience is not an indication of how we normally do business, and we’ll work to provide a more consistent experience in the future.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was offered a last minute check in with my girls. The staff was friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was simple yet fulfilling. COuldnt ask for a better quick rip, overnight stay! And the room was clean and so was the pool :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InuHadiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#17 of 19 in Helen
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-3638
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen near Unicoi State Park, Piedmont College and Truett-McConnell College,features spacious guest rooms that has standard features hairdryers, coffeemakers, refrigerators, wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, and cable television. Some rooms have whirlpool bathtubs. Seasonal outdoor pool, and a meeting room are available at Hotel Helen GA. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is located in Alpine Helen, GA at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest. You'll find Downtown Alpine Helen with all its shops, restaurants, attractions and the Helen Festhalle a short 2 minute drive from the hotel. The Swiss inspired accommodations of the Econolodge await your arrival in scenic White County, GA located alongside the Chattahoochee River. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is adjacent to the new Helen Water Park and only minutes from Unicoi State Park, Anna Ruby Falls and the Cabbage Patch Kids Babyland General Hospital. Whether shopping in one of the many local Artisans shops, tubing down the Chattahoochee River, hiking up to Anna Ruby Falls or golfing at Innsbruck a pleasant nights stay will round out the enjoyment of a day well spent. The Econo Lodge Hotel near Chattahoochee offers all guests complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Deluxe Continental Breakfast and USA Today. Every room offers an iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, hairdryer and 25" TV with premium cable making you feel at home the minute you arrive. Centrally located in Helen Georgia, the Econo Lodge is your perfect lodging choice for a wonderful trip to Alpine Helen and the upstate Chattahoochee Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Helen
Econo Lodge Helen
Helen Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing