We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific spot to boat on Chatuge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boundary Waters Resort & Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hiawassee
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Boundary Waters Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence
Black Mountain, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific spot to boat on Chatuge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful accommodations (We stayed in the jacuzzi suite). Relaxing porch and ready access to the office and marina, which is beautifully maintained. The staff was very friendly. The boat we rented ran perfectly and was very clean and well equipped. The resort is a great environment for adults and for families with kids. Easy location to reach. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari19502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I have been going to Lake Chatuge for 6 years and have been there for 5 Fourth of July holidays. We always tow our boat to the Lake and spend most of the time on the water. We have found Boundary Waters Marina to not only be a nice place to stay, but we find them to be a great family run business who "get it". Some of the accommodations are dated and a bit cramped, but they are always clean and well stocked. You can tell the family takes pride in their business as is reflected in the way they tend to the rooms, docks, rental fleet, etc. Whenever we are on Lake Chatuge, we make it a point to spend our money at Boundary Waters over any other marina on the Lake. Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: Mallard Cottage is a 3BR/1BA lakefront cottage with lovely views and a private dock. The interior is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rotsen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We greatly enjoyed spending the morning on Lake Chatuge courtesy of Boundary Waters Marina. Our boat was clean and in great working order. We toured the lake and swam with the children in the clean waters. A+ staff at Boundary Waters made it perfect!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay F
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed 6 nights in Suite B and was disappointed with the lake for fishing. Definitely a boating recreational lake. I did inquire when I booked about the fishing & went so far to say that's why we were coming, to fish! With that being said it was a good value with a beautiful view. Suite B was quite musty when we arrived & it took almost 2 days to clear the air in the rooms. We were offered another room in same building. The first thing I looked for was a corkscrew for my wine. There wasn't one & the office was already closed when we arrived at 6:15. The marina & boats get the high score from us although the boat deposit credit, if you have to cancel because of storms, is a bit unusual pay close attention to this detail. A certificate to use at a later date isn't helpful if you live 10 hours away & pretty much know you'll never come back. All the previous great reviews are because of the marina & I agree. Just wished we would have been told the lake was not a great fishing lake when we inquired.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoundaryWatersResort, Manager at Boundary Waters Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your praise of our marina and boat rentals! We really appreciate your business! I'm sorry that the time you spent fishing wasn't up to your expectations, but unfortunately, fishing is completely out of our control. Our business provides great boat rentals and affordable lakeside lodging, but we do not offer fishing or guide services. Lake Chatuge is one of the cleanest lakes in Georgia, and it was chosen in 2013 and 2014 for the Bassmaster College National Championship. There all also many smaller tournaments nearly every summer weekend on the lake. The fishing on Lake Chatuge is very good, but sometime customers who are not accustomed to fishing a deep water lake may have a difficult time adjusting to it.

To address the cancellation policy: Sometimes customers cancel last minute because of weather, which is also out of our control. We never charge anyone without giving them something for their money. On a normal daily rental, if you cancel within our 24 hour cancellation period, we charge you $100 and give you a $100 boat rental gift certificate that never expires for any future rental. You can also view our multi-day and holiday polices on our website, which are very similar. This customer did experience rain during their 2-day boat rental, and we gave them extra time at no charge rather than giving them a certificate for future use. We always try to do everything we can to accommodate our customers and give them a great experience on the lake. Thanks again for your business, and we hope to see you again!

Thanks,
Kevin Clem
Dockmaster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving in Hiawasse for a long weekend getaway, my husband and I showed up at Boundaries at 3:00 on a beautiful Saturday afternoon. We wanted to just spend a couple of hours on the lake. We have not really boated before. All of the staff were friendly, professional, and helpful. They told us exactly what to do. We rented the Boston Whaler runabout and it was spotlessly clean and in great shape. We had a wonderful time on the water. I would heartily recommend the activity and this marina while vacationing in Hiawasse.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

The service and hospitality at the marina were superb. This was our first experience renting a boat, and we were pleased with the rental prices of both the boat and the equipment. This family-owned and family-run business is one to be admired. We will DEFINITELY visit Hiawassee again and will rent from Boundary Waters. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Hoodkidsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We booked their "Waterfront Suite D" for a three night stay during the Georgia Mountain Fall Festival. Their current special allowed us to get one night free. It perfectly fit our needs and comfort. Our suite was upstairs overlooking the lake and marina. There is a staircase that separates each unit which minimized noise. Although we did not take advantage of their offer we were told that we had the use of their canoes and kayaks.

The kitchen is well quipped for food preparation and cooking. A table with four chairs is in the kitchen/living room area along with a sofabed and chair. The unit has cable TV and wifi. The separate bedroom has a queen bed with a small dresser and a rod for hang up clothes. The bathroom has the basics (but no hairdryer). Outside on the balcony are two rocking chairs which especially came in handy one day while it rained. It was pleasant to sit out there reading and looking at the scenery. If we attend the fair next year we would certainly book here again.

Room Tip: We noticed that the side balcony railing ended halfway in front of a window. The windows did not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
1.3 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
17.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
16.6 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
3.4 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boundary Waters Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boundary Waters Resort & Marina

Property: Boundary Waters Resort & Marina
Address: 107 Boundary Waters Dr., Hiawassee, GA 30546-4071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Lake Chatuge in Hiawassee Georgia, Boundary Waters Resort & Marina is a quiet, secluded haven for a relaxing getaway amidst the peace and stunning beauty of Lake Chatuge and the surrounding national forest. We have perfect accommodations for a family vacation, a romantic getaway, or a day of boating pleasure. Our Hiawassee Georgia vacation rentals are the perfect place to sit back and relax. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing