We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great time at King's Mountain Laurel”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hiawassee, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene M
2 reviews
“None”
Reviewed 14 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Needs updating, the yard needs to be moved. A good cleaning would be nice, also new sheets and towels. The views however is very beautiful and hard to find. It is almost worth going there for the view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great place to stay in the Ga mountains”
Reviewed 17 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I had booked a whole year in advance for the 2017 eclipse, no extra charges. Cecil sent me the key about a week before we left home.

Got to the cabin, the driveway is a little steep, but no problems even for our loaded down minivan. Had a little trouble getting the key to work, but after giving Cecil a call, I finally got it to work..
Cabin was nice and clean, no problems with cleanliness at all. Beds were comfy, and lots of towels.Saw hummingbirds, but the wasps had taken over the feeders and were scaring them off.
Since there was no internet, I did have to ride my bike down the hill into town to get service on my phone, AT&T did not work at the cabin. Riding the bike back up the driveway was a bit of a challenge.
We would definitely stay there again, even without an eclipse to watch The weather was perfect as well.
Thanks for a great mini-vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Thanks for leaving a great review.You are a brave person to ride a bike down the mountain AND back up! Thanks for stating"We would definitely stay again".Thanks again, June and Cecil King
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newsomeli...
Oviedo, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular view,,, cabin cleanliness not up to our standards”
Reviewed 24 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Spectacular view of the mountains from the cabin. Since cabin is up on the top of a small ridge, there is nowhere to go for a walk unless you come down the winding asphalt road.

Dirty kitchen floor with dead bugs, dusty furniture,smelly furniture and worst of all, the main bathroom tub drain was clogged up---we -used a plunger and retrieved a lot of hairs, grime, mold...We left was we retrieved there so that someone could see what was there....Stayed in the cabin only one (1 ) (the night of Nov 18th 2016) of the three(3) nights booked. We called the owners several times the next morning and since no one picked up or answered our calls, we decided to leave them 2 voice messages informing them that we were departing the following morning and have not heard anything back from them.... We believe we should be reimbursed for 2 nights due to faulty advertising and because we promptly informed them the next morning after our arrival that we were leaving and the reasons. Up to today, November 24th, 2016, the owners have not contacted us. We have pictures of the dead bugs between the refrigerator and the washer, the many cans of insect, roach and bed bug sprays that were available in the bin and of everything that came out of the clogged bathroom tub drain in the main bedroom....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The view from the cabin
Liked least: Dirty kitchen floor, dusty furniture, smelly furniture, main bathroom shower drain clogged up--used plunger and retrieved a lot of hairs, grime mold...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
NINE 5 STAR REVIEWS verses a one star review!!!! I personally inspected the cabin before the arrival and JUST NOT SO! I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS.THE CABIN SITS ON THE VERY TOP OF LAUREL MOUNTAIN; NOT ON A SMALL RIDGE!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jbarrett2...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Annaversary Getaway”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful getaway. The cabin was more than we expected. It was close enough to town to go eat or shop but far enough away to feel like we were the only 2 people in the world. Thank you so much for letting us rent you beautiful cabin for a tome to reconnect with each other. We loved the views and watching the hummingbirds as they ate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura E
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax and Revive”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking to escape the modern world this is your retreat. Prepare for the very tight, steep, twisting one lane gravel road to get to the cabin (we were not); once you do it a few times it won't seem nearly as daunting.

The cabin has all of the modern conveniences for a comfortable stay. We especially appreciated the nice hot showers with good water pressure. There WILL be quite a few insects to contend with but as my husband reminded me, "We are on THEIR turf."

We had no cell service so make sure you bring movies and books and your Bluetooth speakers if you must. The views are incredible, peaceful and thought provoking- we spent most of our time on the front porch-coming down from the mountain once a day to check emails and enjoy a dinner in town.

Upon booking you will promptly receive a key in the mail. Each time we reached out to the Kings they were very responsive in communicating. As long as you clean the cabin and leave it as you would want it to be if you were checking in you will receive your deposit refunded in
a timely manner.

Thank you Cecil and June for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back!

Laura and Donald

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murchcj
Locust Grove, Georgia
1 review
“Outstanding Expirence”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Was exactly what we were looking for. Quiet remote location had everything we needed onsite. Close enough to lots of activities and restaurants if you wanted to venture. The front porch was pure serenity and the view were spectacular. My wife and I had coffee on the porch each morning , enjoyed the hummingbirds and the Birdseye view above the clouds!
Looking forward to another adventure to the little cabin on top of the mountain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Views!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing