We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great service!”

Georgia Mountain Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Covington, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food, great service!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

we ate there twice during our weekend in the mountains.... supper and breakfast the next morning... wonderful country cooking! cant wait til next time!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    57
    38
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Popular and good!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was very crowded when we went for lunch here on a Sunday. A lot of after-church crowd going for the buffet. My husband and I ordered off the menu, however. I ordered a club sandwich with cole slaw and my husband ordered the Reuben sandwich with cole slaw - both very good but the Reuben was messy to eat. The cole slaw was creamy and sweet. We had good service even though the "joint was jumping." We would eat here again if we return to this area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I'm just not feeling these reviews... I have driven from near Atlanta just to eat here... An excuse for a day get away. I love the chicken and banana pudding is the best. It's not real fancy, more of a mom and pops type place... Very country feeling... Hole in the wall kind a place.. Can't imagine anyone that would prefer fast food over this place... I'd rather have a country kind a feel than a fancy place to go when I just go out casual dining... Even had thanksgiving lunch here several years ago... I like it very much..

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pay more for less options”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Worst experience ever....very few options available for over 10 bucks excluded drinks!!!, ribs were not fresh daily made and chicken tasted old. ...never go back again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MIYA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gross! Didn't stay long enought to eat- left after seeing how filthy everything was!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My husband and I came in here for brunch and left shortly after leaving once we saw how filthy and grimy EVERY surface of the restaurant was. The menus were sticky, the floors were nasty, the buffet looked disgusting and was a mess, the tables were filthy, and the place stunk! I felt dirty just walking through the door. One of the waitresses followed us out to our car to ask us why we were leaving (she assumed we couldn't afford it lol I politely told her I was uncomfortable with the unsanitary condition of the restaurant and told her to have a great day). I will never come back here. I'd be worried a hoarde of roaches would carry my plate away.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Amberleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Georgia Mountain Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Georgia Mountain Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing