We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great location”

Chophouse of Hiawassee
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Spring 2017. The Chophouse of Hiawassee will be closed beginning on January 2nd for renovations. Chef James will be introducing his new concept "Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House" sometime in early spring. This will be his 4th such restaurant with the other locations being in Clarkesville, Commerce and lake Burton, Georgia. The renovations will include a redesign of the dining room and kitchen areas, covering the front lakeview patio and building a new smokehouse. Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House is known for it's authentic BBQ and the freshest catfish available. We look forward to welcoming you to the new restaurant this spring!
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
196 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Great atomsphere, good food, nice service. There are a wide slection of dishes and those i have tried are well prepared. I've seen Chop House in a number of locations and believe its a chain, but the ambience and service put it a notch above the standard. The crab cake was all crab with little filling. A decnt wine list.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    120
    79
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Second try”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were staying at a lodge near by so the first night we weren't very hungry and thought we would just try their appetizers. I had ordered the smoked salmon appetizer with capers, onions & cream cheese and the crab soup. The salmon appetizer had no salmon and the soup had peppers but no visible crab. Needless to say, the manager did come over and apologized and did not charge us. The second night we reluctantly decided to give it another try and went to the early bird dinner. I had prime rib which came with a large salad, baked potato and vegetable of the day was cauliflower. The dinner was delicious and I was glad I gave them another try!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heyjude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastpoint, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

don't miss this place, the food is great, the price is right and the people are friendly. can't beat that

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ron v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place is nice, but the service was horrible and the food was twice for what you get. The waitress never came back to check on us until we flagged down a bus boy and asked if we could get a refill on our water. Then she checked back. Once. I didn't want a big steak so got their burger. Most places like this have a thick, juicy burger. Not here. It was so thin all I could taste was the onions and bread. About 1/4" thick! We got the sweet potato fries and they gave us this little serving. A Five Guys burger and fries would beat this place by a mile. We wouldn't recommend or go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The restaurant was quiet, fitted for a nice evening in town.The food was excellent, the waiter was pleasant and not very talkative. I personally don't like waiters who are trying to keep a conversation going with their customers, asking me where I'm from and how did I get there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lastun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chophouse of Hiawassee also viewed

 

Been to Chophouse of Hiawassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing