We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining on a beautiful lake”
Review of The Oaks - CLOSED

The Oaks
Price range: US$15 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Oaks offers a fine dining experience with a seasonally influenced dinner menu, including fine steaks, prime rib, chicken, and fresh seafood selections. Beautiful presentations of fresh food, simply prepared, coupled with an attentive staff, makes The Oaks the perfect choice for intimate dining or entertaining. Enjoy casual elegance in a stately paneled dining room or cocktails on our lakefront terrace amidst beautiful surroundings.
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine Dining on a beautiful lake”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have dined here many times and have always had good experiences. Last night was especially good because of the exceptional service and attention by Amanda. The new manager Tommy also gave us his attention.
The food is always fresh, creative and perfectly prepared and presented. We come early because we know it gets much busier later in the evening.
They have lots of interesting specials and the service is usually great. I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome dinner experience!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

From the moment I called to place the reservation, through leaving for the night, we felt very welcome and well attended. The service was superb, and the food surpassed superb. We ordered the mussels for appetizer, then the pork chop and seafood pasta. The margaritas were great, followed by vanilla Creme Brûlée. We sat and dined for 2 hours. The atmosphere was relaxing. On a more warm night, next time we will sit on the patio and look over Lake Chatuge, and yes, there will be a next time!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiawassee, Georgia
1 review
“Great service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Tommy greeted us and made us feel welcome. Alex provided great service with a smile. food was awesome

Helpful?
Thank clarkeybaby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We ate here for our anniversary while staying at The Ridges. Seating and initial attention by Tommy, the Manager, was exceptional. He took our drink order and served our drinks. He was very solicitous, but when asked if there were any dinner specials, he said our waitress would let us know what they were. After 45 minutes if no one approaching our table, we hailed a waitress. She apologized and said they were short staffed. We placed our orders and were served our food within a reasonable time frame. The salad was good,,and the pork chop was good, but not exceptional. If traveling in the area again, I think we would dine elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler1018_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Service was great”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had dinner at the Oaks on Thursday 4/24/14 and Saturday 4/26/14. On Thursday we were served by the gentleman who normally works the bar. He was excellent making us feel right at home. On Saturday we were served by Kerri, a young college student. I think she is the best waitress I have had in a long time, maybe ever. She had just finished serving a large table but she was fresh as a daisy for us. She recited the specials perfectly and kept all our orders straight even though we asked for 4 separate tickets at the table. It didn't bother her at all. She is the kind of server I like to see in a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing