We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed here several times. Beautiful view, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Call hotel directly to make reservation and ask for a lakeside room. Very close to the fairgrounds and concert hall (walking distance). Short drive to shops and restaurants. Close to Brasstown Bald, the highest point in Georgia. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. As you mentioned, our property adjoins the Georgia Mountains Fairgrounds. You can walk there from our hotel. We are located on the city limits of Hiawassee so shopping and dining are just around the corner. I'm glad that you are a repeat guest. Please stop by the front desk the next time you are here so that I may thank you personally for your kind words.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Lake Chatuge Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our first time to the Lake Chatuge Lodge but it will not be our last. The location is fabulous and the view is amazing. The rooms are clean and the amenities are good. We made some extra requests and they were all accommodated! The front desk desk, especially the GM Katie could not have been more lovely. Heck, we even cooked her family dinner at the Eggfest! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dpifer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

And what a fest you made for my family. We thank you so much. The Green Egg Fest is always a delight to be a part of and the people make it that much more special. I will pass your comments onto our team so that they can see that their hard work is paying off. I look forward to next year's Big Green Egg Fest and especially all of the awesome participants that make it so special.

Thank you again for everything,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were there for 3 nights for an event at the fair grounds over the weekend. Staff was very nice location was great and a pretty decent Chop House is at the entrance. Katy was super helpful and a pleasure to work with. Will stay there again if we return to Hiawassee.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are a must at this hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

I am glad to see that you had a great time while you were here. We do have a great restaurant called the Chophouse of Hiawassee on our property. We are located next to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. Thank for your kind words about me. I try to always help our guests the best that I can. I look forward to the Big Green Egg Fest next year and we can take their reservations now.

Thank you and I hope to see you and your family again next year,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We've stayed at this property, (as part of a large group of 15 to 25 rooms) for what would have been the 4'th year. Up until this year it was under the Ramada Inn umbrella. The problem here has never been the facility perse'...it's the Hotel's Management. To be clear...it's a great location...reasonably priced for what you get, (it's a pretty basic 2 star type property)...and most every time the front desk personnel, (usually kids) are very friendly!

Due to an unforeseen family situation we are not able to attend this year, and have to go out of town for an extended time. i emailed the Reservations dept on the Website on Monday evening. When I didn't hear back on Tuesday..I called them first thing Wednesday morning to follow up on my email.

After not being able to get any answers as to why I hadn't been contacted...I was sent to the GM. It won;t be a surprise that like others here who have complained about the lack of professionalism of the senior management...I was pretty much called a liar...told they did not have my email...and that that I would be charged for the room's first day...(in spite of the obvious fact they had all day to re book the room)!

As you might imagine...I wasn't very happy and did not have any problem letting her know. Her contention was that I was to believe "her" that they had not received the email...but she wasn't willing to believe me that it had been sent. When I asked her what sense that made...she hung up on me...lol!!

Most any professional in the travel industry (seeing the number of rooms our group was already renting this weekend)..not to mention the 15-25 or so rooms we have reserved each weekend in the last few years..you'd think she might have had a better solution than to hang up on someone who wasn't pleased!

Reading the prior comments here it appears to be a pattern...when presented with a problem... years of loyalty and good will mean nothing...as long as they get your money!

Suffice it so say...next year..we will find other accommodations!

Needless to say..."she got the money, and the satisfaction of hanging up on an unhappy Guest! Next year...many of us with the Georgia EggFest will book elsewhere...believe it!!

This is the kind of short term thinking and unprofessional management that will cost them
many... many.. many times my one night's penalty!!

Buyer... Beware!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank Snoobeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Lake Chatuge Lodge is very pleased to be a host for the Georgia Mountain Egg Fest. This is a great event that we look forward to every year.

In response to your review, we are sorry to hear that you will not be able to attend. Since there are policies in place regarding cancellations, the hotel needs to verify that a cancellation was made in time to avoid any penalities. As mentioned to you several times, we are more than happy not to charge you a cancellation penalty if you would just forward the email you sent on Monday to us. We understand that emails get lost and do not always end up where they are being sent. Please feel free to forward us the email you sent cancelling your reservation and since it would then show that you cancelled in the right time to avoid any penalty, we will be more than happy to refund your cancellation charge.

Since the hotel has had a long waiting list for several months for this event, it is not fair to those who tried to come but could not find a place to stay when someone cancels the day of arrival. This is the reason the hotel has cancellation policies in place.

We look forward to another great year with the Egg Fest!

Thank you,
Katie Stancil
General Manager
Lake Chatuge Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at in this lovely hotel a couple of months ago. This is one of those stays you won't regret. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a room with a breathtaking view of Lake Chatuge which only added to the lovely memories made of our trip. The staff are friendly, courteous and helpful. The location is convenient with restaurants and shopping nearby. I have no complaints at all. As I said: a place to revisit while in Hiawassee, GA.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. Our lakeview rooms offer fantastic views of Lake Chatuge. All of our rooms offer private balconies to view our fabulous sunrises and sunsets. I'm glad that you mentioned our courteous staff. They are always helpful and they try their best to make sure our guests enjoy their stay. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in beautiful Hiawassee.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had to take care of family business in Hayesville, N.C. Picked this place as it was close. We enjoyed everything (even in the winter) so much we booked it in March and met our son's family here. The grand children enjoyed it as well. The breakfast was fine. Plenty of choices. Loved the fireplace in lobby. Staff has always been friendly. I would recommend for a weekend trip. It is a great location to go to different areas for hiking ,boating and fishing.

Room Tip: Top floor! Great views. Love the mornings,!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruzinptgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your great review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay here so much the first time that you came back again. We do offer lakeview that offer a great view looking over Lake Chatuge lodge from their private balconies. I will pass along your great comments to our staff. Please stop by the front desk during your next stay so that I can thank you personally.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
665 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Milton Inn
Best Western Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
191 reviews
16.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Young Harris
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Highway 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2150
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing