We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ONLY place we will stay in North Georgia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Henson Cove Place B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hiawassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The ONLY place we will stay in North Georgia”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have stayed 3 times so far at Henson Cove and each time just gets better. The area is beautiful and each time we go, we discover new things to do and new places to go. Dave & Mariah are absolutely the best hosts and are a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area. We now feel like we are visiting family when we go.

Room Tip: Mountain View room's bathroom is located just down a short hall, but has never been an issue for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfhintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windycindi, Owner at Henson Cove Place B&B, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you Kathryn, for your wonderful review. Each time you visit is just as special as the first. We look forward to hosting you for your fourth stay in April for Trevor's race event. The wine will be stocked and the peaceful getaway awaits. Thank you again and Happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    14
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Henson Cove Place B&B
1137 Car Miles Rd.
Hwy 76
Hiawassee, GA 30546

Prop: Mariah and Dave Nugent

1. One-Word Review: Golden

2. Two-Word Review: Top Tip

The setting: A HUGE White Pine in the front yard, east of the porch, across from the bird feeders: “Cue the Cardinals!”

Laurie and I stayed for three days – 2013-08-13 – 16. Should have stayed over the weekend. Live and learn.

Ambiance: A well-detailed, natural wood interior, decorated just enough -- but not beyond. And very clean and tidy. Comfortable … like home … made you want to pick up after yourself …

Our second floor accommodations, “Rainey’s Hideaway”, had cross –breeze windows – with a view of a bird-meeting-place tree -- and a super-comfortable double bed. The bath was accompanied by full-pile towels, pop-up paper drinking cups, lotions and potions (plus balms, unguents, and restorative agents – OK, I exaggerate) for those that forgot them … and the room had enough power outlets for all your gadgets. (We did not bring any drills and table saws, however … )

Located several miles east of “town”, so to speak, the “Cove” looks down-slope across the end of “Car Miles Road” to a horse pasture … back a mile off GA 76 => quiet. Sit out on the sloping lawn, in the see-saw rockers, with your best girl, in the gathering gloom, watch the clouds scud along the distance Blue Ridge peaks, and sip (?) some of the wines provided for the guests … don’ get no bettern’ that! Pinch a paperback from the lending library … is Robert Ludlum OK? “Southern Living” magazine? Roger that.

A highlight, THE highlight, of the Cove (and there are many) is Dave’s breakfasts ... “I do not repeat the menus … “ Fresh fruits, home-baked biscuits, blueberry butter, omeletes, cup-baked “pan” cakes ... and eggs as you-like-them. Keeps a guy (and his gal) goin’ until evening, I’d say.

Sweet well water, too.

Evening has lightly chilled reds and whites for the veranda and rockers. I burned a bag of microwave p-corn …

Mariah and Dave’s “Henson Cove” have brochures from local IOIs such as a local trail riding stable (“Chunky Gal” ... they get a plus-10 rating for a well-orchestrated ride and on a non-trivial route), “freebie” slips to nearby wineries – we hit “Crane Creek” and “Hightower” … with complementary “tastings” (of course, we bought bottles) – and a reservation call to “The Chophouse of Hiawassee” … who does not like the then attending 20%-off deal?

They are well-versed in the are re: eats, GA vs. NC likker laws, roads, wines, nature … and even in-depth discussions about Formula 1 automobile competition!

Did I forget to mention the chocolate strawberries?

Good ... I’m keepin’ ‘em ALL for myself!

Major upsides to the area: friendly, courteous people, well-kept, so GREEN green that it makes your teeth hurt.

Mariah and Dave only have three rooms … plus a remote cabin … they stagger the breakfasts so no one is inundated and crowded. Damn, we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonytP3213PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed at Henson Cove for two nights and enjoyed the whole experience. Mariah and Dave are down to earth and made us feel right at home. They were fun to talk with as were the other two couples we met. The B&B was clean, the bed was good, as was the food. Mariahs' brownies and chocolate covered strawberries will put some weight on you. The view from the front porch is great. We plan to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I had been wanting to visit Lake Chatuge area for some time, and I found Henson Cove on Living Social. Although I had reservations because of a prior experience w/ another B&B, the number of positive comments and ratings left me feeling good with this choice. First, the area with the lake and the mountains is absolutely beautiful. Dave and Mariah (the B&B owners) have tons of local contacts for just about anything, and they set up a canoe trip with NOGA (the local outfitter) for my wife and I. Even in a downpour, we had a great time. As for the B&B itself, it was very comfortable and relaxing, and they make you feel welcome. As mentioned in other reviews, the breakfasts are fantastic, and those chocolate covered strawberries are amazing. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a quick getaway. It's a "can't miss", and the Living Social deal makes it a no-brainer.

Room Tip: With Living Social, you have 2 options...Rainey's Hideaway or the Mountain View Room. I was a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My wife and I spent our 29th anniversary with these nice folks on June 28-30. Dave and Mariah were excellent hosts, have a lot of knowledge about the area and things to do and even made our dinner reservations for us at a restaurant in Hayesville. The room (Rainey's Hideaway) was very nice and comfortable and the breakfast each morning was hearty and tasty. The area itself is gorgeous and having a neat place to stay made it even better. We would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a B & B in North GA.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Be carefule. You should tip. They won't tell you to tip, but apparently you need to. If you don't they will call you several times and ask for you to pay "taxes" on your trip, after you have already paid in full for your reservation. After you pay those "taxes" they will send you a thank you card with whatever money you inadvertently left in your room. If I can I'll attach a picture. Overall, totally not worth it. Book a hotel, they will explain your expenses up front. They won't call you after you have left your vacation returened to your real life, and demand payments for things you had no idea you where obligated to pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Belac46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windycindi, Owner at Henson Cove Place B&B, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Oh my goodness, we had no idea this is the way you interpreted our correspondence. We apologize for any misunderstanding. We are sorry if you took offense. We do NOT ask for tips. Tipping is totally optional. We were only concerned about the taxes due on the stay. The voucher states that the price does NOT include taxes and are collected for your stay. Our confirmation letter mentions the tax monies owed upon checkout. We really appreciate you sending the tax money and wanted to reciprocate by sending your change back. The change in the thank you card was change due, not change found in the room. We will strive to be more attentive and less aggressive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at this little B&B for two nights and we felt right at home! Dave and Mariah are absolutely wonderful hosts and they make you feel so welcome. We stayed in the Mountain View room which has an amazing view of the mountains. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious and aren't your typical "hotel breakfasts". They definitely put some thought and creativity into what they serve their guests. The first night they invited us to join them around a bonfire, but sadly we were already asleep! We had such a wonderful experience and we will definitely come back during other seasons.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhmejia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windycindi, Owner at Henson Cove Place B&B, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We enjoyed your visit as well and hope to see you again real soon. Next time we'll do another campfire for your enjoyment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
5.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
271 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
657 reviews
16.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
901 reviews
8.7 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Young Harris
871 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Cove Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Cove Place B&B

Property: Henson Cove Place B&B
Address: 1137 Car Miles Rd, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2707
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Henson Cove Place B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B is a circa 1940s mountain farmhouse style home. The inn is reminiscent of more laid back days, featuring stunning pasture and mountain views, porch swings and rockers. All 4 guest rooms have private baths. One bedrooms are suites. The Cove Cabin comfortably sleeps up to 6 and has 3 bedrooms, 1 & 1/2 baths and is child and small pet friendly. Located just 1/2 mile off US 76 and five minutes from downtown Hiawassee, GA, Henson Cove Place is a retreat set in a private and quiet "holler". Hiawassee is a North Georgia Mountain community that still has that small town feel. Located just minutes from Helen and Clayton, GA, NC, SC, TN and just 15 minutes from Georgia's highest point - Brasstown Bald (4,784 feet). Nature abounds! Convenient to many great attractions with a variety of things to do... or nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Henson Cove Place B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing