We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing after 6 day hike.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing after 6 day hike.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We walked in without a reservation and was offered a very reasonable rate considering the amenities. The room was very large and the bed was comfortable. The pool area could have been cleaner, but I did enjoy the hot tub and pool. The breakfast was good. I would have rated this hotel lower, but the value was very good for the price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    55
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
52
51
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The room was clean but the heat/air unit "knocked" all night. The unit was off but it still made noise. You could hear the showers running in other rooms. Breakfast was a disaster. They had one person on duty in the kitchen and people were standing around waiting for the food to be put out. The hot water dispenser was out and so was the pancake machine. There was not enough seating to accommodate all the guests waiting. There was a 15 minute wait for the eggs, biscuits, gravy, and bacon. The girl was doing the best she could to keep food coming but she definitely needed another person on duty.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Nancy R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roswell,georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This hotel is extremely outdated. Hunter green carpeting, peeling wallpaper, sticky bathroom floor,unpleasant odor throughout. The rooms are hot and stuffy due to inadequate cooling system. The furnishings are tired and shabby. I'm sad I have to spend the night here. I hope you never have to.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishkabibblegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear ishkabibblegirl,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I showed up in the late afternoon and was able to get a room without a reservation. I was surprised at how large the room was and it had amenities. Contrary to what others have said about the place, everything worked well in my room and the A/C-heater noise wasn't bad. If you are accustomed to a Hampton Inn breakfast, the breakfast in the Holiday Inn was a little skimpy but the buffet had all that I needed. Management was friendly too.
By way it is a short walk to the PO, stores, etc. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: My third floor room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38EdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Outdated room's. Missing the desktop friendly electrical outlets. Had to pull out furniture unplug light's to charge my devices. The free Holiday Inn Express breakfast continues to be a big disappointment. Time for a overhaul HIE ?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Tom C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us with feedback about your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We do take these reviews very seriously as they help to us to target any problem areas that need updating. We have shared your comments with the staff and are confident they will aid in ensuring our guests have the best experience possible.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We checked in and the phone in the room wasn't working which made me uncomfortable to not be able to reach the front desk in case of an emergency. I was transferred to another room which had other problems, not the least of which was the A/C which was making horrible noises. We were put into another room and found out the next morning that the shower only ran very lukewarm water so was given a temp pass to another room to shower. This has not been a good experience and I would definitely not stay here again. There's not much choice here though. The breakfast is marginal at best. If you have a choise, do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Nancy W,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at the property while travelling on business. Admittedly, I got there after midnight and left the next morning after breakfast, so I did not get a chance to see much of the property or take advantage of the amenities. Certainly, this is an older looking property with very dated architecture. However, other than an ice bucket that had been used as a trash can and hadn't been emptied by the maid, the room and common areas was clean and tidy. The rooms are considerably larger than I expected and included a sitting area with a sofa and table and a dorm refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast was generous and good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwmullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
1.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#1 of 5 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
12.8 mi away
Best Western Milton Inn
Best Western Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#2 of 18 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
17.4 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Address: 300 Big Sky Dr, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2239
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Hiawassee is located in the beautiful North Georgia Mountains near the growing towns of Blairsville, Young Harris and Hiawassee. Our Hiawassee hotel is in close proximity to Lake Chatuge, the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds, Brasstown Bald, and the Appalachian Trail. We host groups for the Schedule of Stars and the Rhododendron Festival, and welcome hikers exiting the Appalachian Trail. Enjoy North Georgia hospitality at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Hiawassee. Be sure to ask about our golf, spring break, and romance packages! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee Hotel Hiawassee
Holiday Inn Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing