We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top in service and hospitality...a must visit!!~”
Review of The Helmstead

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Homerville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Helmstead
Ranked #1 of 2 Homerville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Ms Jane was out of town celebrating her birthday day...but her staff did not miss a beat. They were amazing!!! Everyone in our party had the best night's sleep and the most delicious breakfast by Ms Mary. Jerome was the best host, ensuring we all were well taken care of...as the saying goes "The true test of a man's character is what he does when no one is watching.” Ms Jane should be so proud to have a staff that makes the "Spirit of Excellence" look so effortless.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great! If you need adjoining rooms then you want to utilize The King, Queen &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

I had never heard of Homerville, Georgia, until we planned a trip to Valdosta and started looking for a bed and breakfast in the area. We made reservations based on the reviews here at Trip Advisor and could not have been more delighted with our experience.

Our hostess Jane Helms is fond of saying "Helmstead is my passion!" It certainly shows in the care she has taken with her propertry and the care with which she treats her guests. From the moment we arrived, we felt as if we were staying with a longtime friend. The home has been thoughtfully appointed, and every convenience you would want is there. There are several rooms to choose from- we stayed in the Kings Room, which featured a king-sized bed, bath with double sink and shower/tub, and a separate sitting room with sofa, desk, and TV, plus wifi. I did get a glimpse of the Queen Room and would recommend it highly to those who are OK with a queen bed-- it is a bright, sunny room decorated in pastels and has comfy-looking seating within the room. Guests of all rooms are free to use the downstairs parlor, where we enjoyed drinks (BYOB) and fascinating conversation with the owner and other guests in the evening.

Breakfast each morning is included--ample without being an overload and features many traditional Southern favorites. There are numerous places outdoors to sit and enjoy the beautiful grounds, including a pool and covered conversation area. We explored the community a bit and found Homerville to be a wonderful respite from suburbia-- much more vibrant and upscale than many of you might expect, while maintaining a quiet, homey feel. And don't be fooled by the restaurant names-- the food is among the best you will find. We had excellent seafood at Hoagie's and barbecue that will rival any out there at Jimbo's Log Cabin.

We will definitely plan a return trip to The Helmstead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I only wish I could have stayed an extra night at this inn. It is a lovely home, tastefully decorated and delightfully quiet. If you are going to the Okefenokee Swamp, this is the place to stay. While you're there, check out the neat things that are happening in downtown Homerville and make sure you stop at one of the local honor system honey shacks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ylshaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Delightful place, delightful grounds, delightful owner.

Went to the area to visit the Okefenokee Swamp.

Jane is a wonderful hostess, She arranged a great guide to see the Swamp.

Her place is so peaceful and comfortable. Would recommend just for a place to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

I had to come to Homerville Ga. because, of a funeral and The Helmstead was there for us. The place is very lovely and felt like home. Everyone was so nice and understanding. Went out of there way to help us. They are sending me a paper of the funeral. Didn’t even asked but, they are doing it for us out of there hearts. Couldn’t be a nicer place, I travel a lot and love this place. Prefect for any occasion thanks so much for everything you have done for us.


Sherri Elmore

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherri4016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Everything considered, this may be the best place to stay when visiting Okefenokee Swamp. Yes, you'll have to drive a few miles to get into the National Wildlife Refuge, and small children aren't welcome at the Helmstead, but the comfort of the accommodations, and the caring staff, offset any such minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Our recent trip to Georgia for a quick getaway brought us to The Helmstead. This lovely old brick home has been turned into a delightful bed and breakfast. We were greeted by Ms. Jane Helms, our gracious hostess and now a friend. Jane made sure that we had everything we needed for our stay in Homerville, making calls locally to ease our plans for the day and giving directions for places to see and people with which to speak. Breakfasts were wonderful, not only the meal, expertly prepared by Mary, but the conversation with other guests lead by Ms. Jane.
Jerome Riley, the property manager saw to it that we were comfortably settled into you our room. He skillfully keeps the swimming pool sparkling and the grounds pristine looking.
Your stay at The Helmstead gives you access to a fitness club a few blocks away.
While in the area, visit the antique shops such as Nance’s Antiques, The Antique Market, and a brand new antiques and collectibles on the corner of 84 and 441. The conversations with the owners will be as interesting as the aged patina on the antiques they sell. For a few eclectic gift items visit Ellie Kats.
To say the least we would highly recommend The Helmstead, we are anticipating our next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluesky157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Helmstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Helmstead

Address: 961 Fargo Hwy, Homerville, GA 31634-2740
Region: United States > Georgia > Homerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Homerville
Price Range: £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome, and enter into a safe place flowing with charm, hospitality, ambiance, and comfortable appointments..Five rooms, pool, gardens, conversation nooks, and lawn games,,Relax and enjoy the home and the local color.Beautiful surroundings; fascinating owner; great staff; great town! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing