We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We only serve locals here"”

The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"We only serve locals here"”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you are in the hospitality business then you need to be hospitable.
On arrival we 'Stopped Before Entering Site and Report to Reception' then a rather disgruntled lady came running over and TOLD me to pull the car into the site before coming into reception to report in!!!!!!!!
No welcome just rules, rules, rules and that we should not chase the ducks because we were privileged to be in their garden!
I am 46 not 6 and would like a warm welcome and to be treated like an adult with some common sense. I paid for the 'privilege' to be in their garden. I actually requested when booking, an electric hook up and was told that there were none available as they were all taken. When told to park anywhere in the middle of the field I then looked around the outer edge and counted over three quarters of the electric hook ups available and they were still available on our departure.
We arrived on the bank holiday and were told in no uncertain terms that food will not be served after 7 pm.. We rushed to get the tent up as we only had an hour and were hungry after our 4 hour journey and were in the middle of nowhere.
Rushed to the pub and were 'unwelcomed' by a dirty looking man who stank of cigarettes behind the bar. Purchased a drink in plastic glasses and inquired about food. It was again drummed into me that I needed to be quick as the kitchen would shut at 7pm SHARP!!
On looking at the menu I assumed that because of the prices the food would be that of a bistro pub using the finest cuts of meat, oh sorry I meant that looking at the prices that they were taking the mick. Who would pay £7 for a jacket potato??? or £7 for a bap!!!! I decided to wait with the wasps to see if someone else would have their food delivered, sorry, have their food left on a pedestal across the road and number shouted. On seeing an unlucky customers food it looked as though it was brought in the back of a van the day before, nuked within an inch of it's life and thrown in a dirty plastic bowl. I escaped to Gloucester and found some FOOD!
The three days we were there I didn't shower as it was disgusting, the mops in the cubicles were yellow and the water in the buckets was stagnant. The shower/toilet block should be condemned.
We adhered to the 10PM curfew and decided that we were supposed to be on holiday not in some kind of punishment regime.
The friendly matriarch would drive around in her 4 x 4 three times a day to check that everyone was in line and adhering to her 10 commandments and that the ducks were not being run ragged by unruly HOLIDAY MAKERS!
There were no closed bins we had to throw our rubbish in open skips which was lovely and hygienic.
We left a day early and will NEVER return. These people are not suited for the tourist trade. If I was a bricky I would of bricked up their door as in an episode of 'Auferdersehn Pet', they should be closed down and not be in the business of happiness and relaxation.
We were not very impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AFCD0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    9
    9
    38
See reviews for
18
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Just arrived back home after one nights stay, and had to submit a review straight away!
Agree totally with all of these reviews. We are not seasoned campers but have travelled the world! A smilie and a warm welcome is not much to ask for? On arrival during the 'grumpy' check in, the lady owner was shouting through her Walkie talkie to her grandson, threatening to smack his bum! Nice - not! After being told the first set of rules......We pitched up on the site - the views are lovely and the tent pitch level and well drained. Myself, my husband, 3yr old son and our dog headed up to the pub for a late lunch. A very grumpy landlord informed my husband that his card would not be acceptable as a guarantee for the tab for lunch and two drinks as we were sat outside! Two lame baskets of scampi and chips £7 each! arrived and your number is shouted out and left at the side of the road- you have to collect it if you are sat opp the pub by the river! We were the only ones eating and the guy couldn't walk 5 metres to us?????
The loos are ok- not as bad as India! They are in need of a good clean and a lick of paint. I wouldn't touch the showers! Gross!
We went out to the nearest sainsburys to get our supper as we were not going going to repeat the lunchtime experience!
Overall the location is nice but the site is not worth the hassle- poor attitude and grumpy site owners, loos that are way to far away and a pub that serves deep fried food with pints in plastic glasses and hostile atmosphere. What a shame they have wasted an opportunity to make this a fab family campsite. Will not be returning ever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orchardportman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The owner is just a rude and ignorant human being
Saw his brown nictinined, long finger nailed hand serving chicken in the basket (how 70's)- and then 'handle' himself- whilst calling out the food number.
Shirt unbuttoned 3/4 of way down exposing his (large) belly
Children not welcome either
Great location- if only someone with a CSE in hospitality could buy this place- they'd make a fortune
Don't go- please...!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeevesthebutler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Not exactly a fine start to be welcomed by the owner making homophobic remarks about some of his guests. Surly, rude and totally unhelpful when he couldn't correctly work out our booking details. The location is lovely but the facilities are tired and dirty. Cheap but you most definitely get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PointyHairedBoss78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

people owning this site or running it want to learn to be more hospitable to there customers.and they definatly want to look at the appaling toilet block they were disgusting they wernt cleaned in the 4 days we were there the shower didn't empty and the light did not stay on long enough for you to shower especially if you were washing your hair .twice went to the toilets to find no paper and the décor went with the smell disgusting .what a real shame this site could be brill in the right hands

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanslesou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We are experienced campers, accept variable standards, but expect a welcoming environment, hygienic facilities and no smell. The standards at this campsite, setting idyllic, are constant. The welcome is set between sullen and hostile, the showers foul (literally), the loos unpleasant, and the smell, which you first think is coming from the sewage plant, is actually from the overflowing skip of rubbish; recycling is not an option. The couple who run the site are not in the right profession.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stopped by here as we heard it was a scenic and reasonably priced site. On arrival we were not greeted by a less than immaculately turned out gent with shirt open to the waste. He seemed less than happy to have someone trouble him and kept conversation to a minimum, preferring to smoke his cigarette instead. After parking up we went into the pub for a drink and the same level of warmth was extended there too. The 'waitress'(?) was not much better dressed or mannered than our host The food was reasonable for the price and the view from the garden was lovely.
I can only imagine that these people have little interest in making money as this is a potential goldmine going begging

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darren y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Property: The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Caravan-Red Lion Inn Wainlode Hill, Norton, Gloucester GL2 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Norton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Norton
Number of rooms: 245

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing