We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campsite management - the rudest I have ever met!”

The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Campsite management - the rudest I have ever met!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I certainly do not want to put people off from visiting this fabulous location or from trying out the newly managed pub as it sounds they have sorted out their customer relations and service. What a shame the campsite management have not learned the same lessons! On arrival we were met by the rudest management I have ever met. When I said the names of our friends who had booked the pitches, I was told there was no record of our booking but that would be because it was just for one night and it wasn't worth the paperwork as 8 out of 10 people who booked for 1 night never materialised (they had probably read previous reviews). We had agreed to extend our visit until 6pm on the Sunday evening and duly paid extra - however at 4.50 our host came round to advise us that we needed to leave because the gates would be closed at 5.30. We were camped next to another 2 couples in tents who were told brusquely to keep their dog on a lead at all times or GET OFF THE SITE . I am in some ways quite glad to have experienced this unbelievable attitude as it will make me appreciate visits to other campsites where they believe that customer service and common civility is important. My advice to the owners - bring in Alex Polizzi as 'The Fixer', although I have to say I think even she would have her work cut out here as I really don't believe that the management like the public. We will be back when there is new management!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gorings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    10
    10
    39
See reviews for
19
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Will start with the positives. The pub was great, good staff, service excellent, clean, food great, and location superb.

We camped for two nights, Camping Pitch was ok, had electric hook up. Showers ok, although were only just warm on first day, second day was better.

TWO complaints, rubbish bin was a skip that smelt like it had been there for months, smell was foul. This was located at the front of the site as you drive in, quite an eyesore really.

Second complaint was the loud music that appeared to be coming from the higher ground on the top of the site, it went on until well after 11pm.

Luckily the weather was good so made up for everything, not sure if we would come back unless the rubbish was sorted.

Ratings are for campsite only, the pub was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a lovely campsite that is run by very friendly owners who went out of their way to help us despite rubbish weather . Pitches are huge and the views are stunning . Toilet block was always clean with plenty of hot water water in the showers .
Plenty os space for the kids to play in .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just arrived home from this site. We were running late on Friday night due to heavy traffic on the motorway. I rang ahead to advise to be greeted by a very rude response and asked how far we were away (20 miles) on arrival I paid our money to be told the owner could now go the pub. The site itself is lovely, in a great position right by a lovely pub and the river. The toilets I do have to say needed a good clean and were scruffy. Today on the day of our departure as it was a beautiful sunny day we decided to stay until about 2pm as we never arrived until 7pm on Friday and didn't use the facilities we paid for) thought that this would be ok especially as the site was empty. On leaving we shouted our thanks to the owner saying due to its lovely position we would be back. On this he shouted back that if we did we needed to clear off before 11am!! This response has now changed our mind and we will never return going the much nicer Willows site near by.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Claribell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

New management, been told that the pub is now run by the same people who have the Royal Exchange so it's promising. The campsite is not part of the pub any longer, its a separate business.
The barman who's day job is a supply teacher is excellent - very welcoming and chatty, nothing was too much trouble.

We've been there twice in the last two weeks, and he was there both times.

Few teething problems, such as running out of gas meaning some of the beers weren't on, but seeing as this place is now being run by the same folk who have another local pub nearby Im afraid there is really no excuse for the need to clean the lines - our real ale was decidely cloudy and I'm afraid Wye Valley is not meant to be cloudy!

Also I dont think the new managers have got the hang of this being a busy riverside pub, especially when the sun is shining. Today we called at about 7pm and there were a handful of tables in use outside, but every single one was covered in empty glasses and crockery, and the bar wasn't busy. Surely it's not too much trouble to get someone to pop out and clear tables, come on, you must be running short on glasses to serve with!

Hopefully things will settle down soon, because the staff are fab and this place could be a goldmine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This has always been a favourite of ours during the summer months and called by today on it's first day re opening under new ownership.

That has to be a bonus, the people here previously left a lot to be desired, they were rude and unfriendly and the other staff always looked as if they were stuck with no escape! it won't be an easy task to build the reputation back up again but they seem to be making a positive start with a warm and friendly welcome. This place in the summer months is always busy do they will need to sort some things out before then.

We stopped here today for a drink and some lunch. You now take a menu and you have food ordered at the table, I think the new owners may soon come to realise that this isn't the best way. Having ordered drinks at the bar when we collected the menu we then had to wait a fair while to order, we then had a considerable wait for the food, with orders taken after ours coming out before. After we had eaten we then had to re-queue at the hatch to pay, this took longer than anytime I've ever had to wait and over 15 mins later it was sorted. people entering inside despite getting there after our queue at the hatch were served first.

The new owners may consider that they have one person dedicated to serving at the window Hatch especially if they are going to do table ordering. However it would be much better to return to the old way of ordering, people select their table and order the food at the bar with their drinks and pay. Then then avoid the need to re-queue. Also makes it easier on the staff as they are then simply serving foods to the tables and clearing them not having to get and serve drinks, take orders and deliver food.

They couldn't find our order on the system when we went to pay even under the table number, so this took even longer to sort out.

New owners will always have teething problems but how busy this pub was today is nothing to how it can be in the warm summer months, the order at table then having to pay is going to be nothing short of chaotic and I think they could find potentially people disappear without paying, or things end up on wrong tables or on wrong bills. Table ordering would work ok for the inside tables but outside order and pay works better. I really think they need to revisit this.

The food, has to be said is on the expensive side. 8oz cheese burger £8 with £1.50 extra charge for chips. These prices are more than a lot of restaurants and better quality gastro pubs. The ploughmans was £6.25, this was very tasty, could have done with some fruit, whether it be an apple or some grapes. The salad however was fresh and tasty. The chutney was delicious, crusty bread would have been nicer than sliced, but it was an overall nice ploughmans. The chips were hot, tasty and well cooked.

Paninis etc are all around £4.50, homemade coleslaw looked lovely but 75p for a spoonful these prices aren't cheap, the burgers and hotdogs are on the expensive side as they do not include chips so it makes it a pricey meal. Too expensive really when you're eating at a wooden bench!

I would certainly say for the price you'd expect a lot more. Portions have decreased to what they were although the quality is better. There needs to be a balance and perhaps for the burger prices include the chips because these are over priced.

The food was fresh and tasty however, served by friendly staff who seemed to have been thrown into a system that wasn't organised. Hopefully with time it will improve, but certainly hope the reconsider the ordering and paying system because they are in for a shock when it's busy.

The location is lovely, the seating area outside was clean and tidy.

We wish the new owners well but hope some small changes to improving, ordering and portion sizes will certainly improve what they are putting in place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenT_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

The location of this camp site is lovely and the site itself does have a lot of potential BUT I have never met such rude and unfriendly people ever anywhere in my whole life!
We met friends there to stay over the August bank holiday weekend, all arriving separately due to travelling from different areas of England. All of us, on arrival, were greeted by an angry looking and sounding woman to be told that we should have all arrived at the same time as it was awkward for her to keep a track on who had arrived and who had not.
On the first night, one of our group noticed that the man was standing in between 2 of our tents at 1am, just standing and watching. The second night, which was NOT windy in the slightest, someone (not from our group) was tapping on the window of my tent which, was extremely unnerving and prevented me from sleeping for most of the night as I was unsure of what to expect next! The day before coming home, we all went out but on returning found that our tables had been moved and one of our group thought that someone had been in their tent!
The owners also often drove around the site and stopped to watch us for several minutes - this was very strange behaviour and they did this to other groups too!
The human waste disposal was not a tank as is the norm but an open air drain which obviously produced a bad smell, this is close to the open skips of rubbish so, as you can imagine, both smells close to the toilet block and the area where you wash pots was extremely unpleasant.
The site shop was very poorly stocked and what they did have was of very poor quality but was on sale for far too much.
The pub was also expensive, the average price for a bagget was £4.75 each, needless to say, we didn't have anything else from there so I can't comment further
They do have a disabled toilet/shower which was actually in the same room/block as the washer but this was locked overnight - I have a mobility disability so tried to use this on 2 out of the 3 nights! 117rai stated that the showers each had a filthy mop and bucket in each one which is absolutely true - they all are in need of being thrown out! Shower curtains need a good wash too, they not only looked grubby but felt it too - highly unpleasant.
This place would be so much better with a bit of TLC and with different owners!!!
My advice? Stay well clear, we came away feeling far more stressed than ever which is not what you need!

Room Tip: N/A, we took our own tents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank janb13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Property: The Red Lion Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
Address: Caravan-Red Lion Inn Wainlode Hill, Norton, Gloucester GL2 9LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Gloucester > Norton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Norton
Number of rooms: 245

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing