We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lemon Tree Passage
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We booked at this B and B for 2 nights orginally, but stayed at extra night as we had enjoyed it so much. The room was perfect, lovely fresh white cotton sheets on the bed, bath-robes in the wardrobe, and everything you need to make your stay very comforable. Anne was brilliant, she told us all the places to visit in the area, and the restaurant at the Bowling Club she recommended was excellent. The B and B is in a very quiet location with lovely walks right from the back garden, around the estuary. Don't miss seeing the Koalas in the sanctuary, and the walk around it is spectacular wonderful views across the bay.
We had continental breakfast, with fresh fruit and yogurt, and toast with preserves, served at our table overlooking the pool. Wonderful!!
Thank you Anne for making our stay most enjoyable. Would recommend this B and B to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzamamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

My wife and me only spent one night here unfortunately. Anne was the perfect hostess, she looked after us so well. The room was beautiful, the attention to detail in the rooms is fantastic, robes, iron and extra pillows in the wardrobe, everything else that you can want in a 4 star hotel room. The rest of the B&B is lovely, and while we did not swim, the pool looked inviting. Breakfast, served by the pool, was outstanding. The area is lovely, quiet and very back to nature. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ownerlarkwood, Owner at Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review, we enjoyed having you stay with us and hope that you will come back and visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

My wife and I spent a wonderful 4 nights at Larkwood. Anne's breakfasts are to die for and her knowledge of the area unsurpassed. We only had the 4 days to see Port Stephens and Anne very ably guided us towards the key things to see and do in the region.
Very comfortable accommodation in a quiet location where the most noticeable sounds are the songs of the birds in the gumtrees that surround the house. Our only disappointment is that we didn't see a koala bear in the wild.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iancam47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

We were keen to explore both Nelson Bay and the Hunter Valley and found Larkwood was well reviewed and in proximity to both locations. Ann was a very lovely host and made us feel very much at home in their neat, clean and quaint home. The room was immaculate and the breakfast was lovely. The location wasn't ideal for us and there wasn't a lot to do within walking distance. The only real complaint was that the walls between the rooms seemed paper thin and we could hear our neighbours talking.
Having said that, this is a good place if u are planning on just having a lovely little place to stay after a day of exploring the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiggyjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

I've had few sleeps better than this.

Ann and Alan run a very relaxed, very cosy B&B that borders bushland. They gave us afternoon tea (great jam for the scones), recommended restaurants and a shore walk, and made a delish breakfast.

Rooms are quaint, a bit antique-y if that doesn't bother you. There's not a lot of separation between you and the other rooms (we heard the neighbours snoring). But it's a great spot for those wanting peacefulness, who want to be taken care of, and who want a rest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
449 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

As we have just joined trip adviser, we thought we would pass on our thoughts on the Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B with hosts, Anne and Allan. We have stayed here on three or four occasions and have found the hosts, the accommodation, hospitality and breakfasts provided by Anne and Allan, to be first-rate. We have stayed three nights on all our stays, and are looking forward to another stay in the not too distant future. We would recommend the Bowling Club at Lemon Tree Passage, just a short drive from "Larkwood", who have nice, reasonably priced evening meals. Anne and Allan are only too happy to advise you of other interesting places to see, ie the koala habitat, and Smarty Plants (a plant nursery/gift shop at Anna Bay. They are also happy to order home-delivered local prawns and oysters, which you can enjoy by the pool. We stayed around Christmas time and Anne had the place beautifully decorated with Christmas decorations.

Room Tip: 3 rooms all similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pandd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. Ann provided great local information on check in and she brought us tea in the garden. We followed her advice to walk to the marina for dinner, looking up for koalas, but didn't spot any unfortunately. The first morning we had an early start due to a morning boat dive, and Ann kindly provided some cereal and yoghurt for sustenance before we left. The 2nd morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with fellow guests outside on the patio. We did manage to see some koalas at a sanctuary area that Ann directed us to. We enjoyed dinner at nearby Cookabarra restaurant where they farm Barramundi and hydroponic lettuce.

A definite home from home.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andtarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lemon Tree Passage
3.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Port Stephens Salamander Shores
0.1 mi away
BIG4 Koala Shores Port Stephens Holiday Park
BIG4 Koala Shores Port Stephens ...
#1 of 1 in Lemon Tree Passage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lemon Tree Passage Motel
Lemon Tree Passage Motel
#4 of 21 in Port Stephens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
Sleepy Hill Motor Inn
#1 of 3 in Raymond Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.2 mi away
Anchorage Port Stephens
Anchorage Port Stephens
#1 of 3 in Corlette
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B

Property: Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B
Address: 1 Oyster Farm Rd, Lemon Tree Passage, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2319, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Lemon Tree Passage
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lemon Tree Passage
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Larkwood of Lemon Tree B & B 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Larkwood Of Lemon Tree Hotel Nelson Bay
Larkwood Of Lemon Tree Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing