We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so good”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Not sure if the other reviewers stayed in the same place. Booked online and Villa 258 is where we were reserved. Old furniture and curtains, no decor, moldy smell, broom in the entranceway. Felt like Motel 6 without the inexpensive cost. Awful!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ldm54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Had we know of your displeasure while you were here we would have gladly found you other accommodations at our resort. We appreciate you sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    173
    66
    55
    51
See reviews for
197
199
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milledgeville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I spent 3 nights here with a small convention. The rooms were wonderful, the staff was great! Peaceful and beautiful. The convention area was great and the meals were excellent. We will definitely come back next year.

Room Tip: Beachside 2 bedroom had a beautiful view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

My husband surprised me with this trip for my birthday and it was wonderful! We were so pleasantly surprised when we got in our 1 bedroom villa..it was so clean and nicely decorated! We had a 1st floor villa that walked right out to the pool. It was the perfect size and so convenient for our 2 dogs we brought with us..1 being a 60 lb Goldendoodle! It's also so quiet and relaxing! It is true that when the tide is up there is zero beach at the resort but when it is low tide there is a very nice beach which we walked with our dogs every morning. When the tide was up we walked above the rocks to driftwood beach a short walk away. We also brought our bikes but there are rentals and biked around quite a bit. We were there from April 5-9 and it rained every day except the day we left...that being said we had a BLAST anyway! There is so much to do and see here and this is a great place to stay! DEFINITELY be back.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KoriAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo overlooking the beach for a week for a family gathering. It was clean, spacious, had a gorgeous view from the balcony, and the floor plan allowed for a good mix of privacy and togetherness. Beds were very comfortable, though I wish the kitchen had been equipped with a few basics (beyond dishes) like dish soap, salt and pepper. The grounds were pleasant, staff were friendly and helpful, and the restaurant was surprisingly good, particularly for southern specialties (lwith great deals on bottles of wine). It's not the place for those who require luxury, but very pleasant and comfortable for those who want to relax in a home-like setting.

Room Tip: Higher floors and overlooking the beach/boardwalk for best views and easiest beach access, if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed in condo 252. It was tastefully decorated, spacious and clean. We will definitely return to this location. The condo well exceeded our needs. The grounds was meticulously manicured with lush palms and ferns.We were within steps of the quiet beachside location already equipped with chairs and a charming, tranquil view. I fell asleep twice. If you're looking for peace and quiet and a break from all the noise and bustle, this is the way to go. We rented bikes to ride around the island which was a great family moment discovering the island. The staff was exceptional delivering fresh linen and towels each day. Full service was available, but for us basic amenity supplies were fine. This was a great stay and definitely a repeat.

Room Tip: The island view is just as quiet as the beach view. The entire villa is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRM321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We honeymooned here and will definitely be going back to Villas by the Sea on future anniversaries. Our room was cozy and had all the comforts of home. You are able to adjust the thermostat to make the temperature most comfortable for you. We had a full kitchen with all dishes and accessories to cook with. The bedroom was separate from the living space. Plenty of windows for sunshine and a small patio to sit on and listen to the waves crash. The boardwalk was beautiful and relaxing with lovely Adirondack chairs. It is also within walking distance to the eerily beautiful driftwood beach. Lots of walking and biking paths. Plenty of amenities, including bike rentals, washer and dryers, pool, playground, and yard checkers. The restaurant on site, The Driftwood Bistro, was delicious!! Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, but I believe if you get a room on the 3rd floor you might have an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I was a little scared to book this because of the 30+ bad reviews. I'm so glad we did. Our 1bedroom island view condo could not have been more cute or clean. It was perfect. Great bike rentals, great on-site restaurant, very personable staff. The outside is a bit dated but the prices are very reasonable and the grounds are beautiful. Great shaded playground for those with younger children. Good boardwalks and beautiful driftwood beach is a short 3-4 minute walk. You can not beat the bike paths on JI. So quiet and relaxing. Thanks for a great weekend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Starke_FloridaKdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
701 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea
Villas By The Sea Resort & Conference Center Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing