We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Jekyll Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My wife and I were invited to stay with family at the Villas resort. We had never been to Jekyll prior to this trip and we weren't sure what to expect. We are familiar with Atlantic beaches, compared to the Gulf, but we were anxious to experience a new place. We were very pleased from the beginning. The island is much more relaxed and laid back than other beaches. We were pleased with the location and views our room had to offer. The parking was somewhat tight and confusing, but overall the entire experience was wonderful. We have decided to return to Jekyll soon. This resort will be our pick.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zownbey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a great stay in Room 389. This is a two story villa but the living room, dining room and kitchen (full size refrigerator) is on the ground floor so there is no view of the ocean from those areas due to the trees, shrubs,and dunes, but a boardwalk is a short distance away. The upper level had a master bedroom with a balcony overlooking the gorgeous ocean view and the 2nd room had two twin beds. The villa has 1 1/2 baths. The pool area is beautiful and the entire grounds is very beautiful with the live oaks and plants. We brought our golf carts to the Island and we were allowed to keep them on the backside of the villa. You can carry your trailer to the local campground located at the north end of the island by the pier and store your trailer for $6.00. This worked out great for using our carts to tour and explore the island.

I would recommend carrying a fan ( we brought 2) to help circulate the air especially since it is the summer and we were in and out of the room. There was a ceiling fan but the added cooling effect of the added fans really helped.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaKayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from August 2-5 2014 in villa 507. Wow. It was a two bedroom, two story villa with a full kitchen and living room and beach view. The living room had an amazing view of the ocean and provided a comfortable sofa. The kitchen had everything you would need to cook. The beds were comfortable and one had a balcony with stunning views. It is so quiet and peaceful, with the ocean a thirty second walk away. Good restaurant on site and nice staff. Highly recommended, but I believe all the villas are different-this is just our experience.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank BigTraveller8293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay! The property was clean and well maintained! My grand kids loved the view from the ocean front room, the pool, and the accessibility to the beach! We rented a surrey and explored the island. Had a great time!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NettHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked a one-bedroom unit with ocean front access. It was just a little more shabby than I would have liked - nothing awful, but there were several small repairs that needed to be made, and the place could have been cleaner.
The grounds of this place are absolutely lovely - the windswept, moss-hung trees are just captivating. It's just a shame that a hotel set in such a delightful spot doesn't receive more care from the folks who operate it.

Room Tip: If you really want a great view, get an ocean-front room that's on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Galen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We were there from July 5-12 . It was wonderful - I loved u - we were excited to be back - last yr we only had two nights there .we spent out entire vacation there. From the check in to late nite trips for snack food - they took care of us. I cannot wait for my next time there.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackintheboc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom condo with ocean front access, full kitchen, and laid back atmosphere. Jekyll Island Club Hotel didn't really seem to be very customer friendly when I called to ask general questions so we picked Villas by the Sea. I am a career hotelier so I am a stickler for clean and this place was really clean. Friendly staff, bike rentals, and nice boardwalks over the dunes. Very relaxing and a nice break from the full service hotel scene. I would come back here again when in Jekyll Island. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Get oceanfront room- it's worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Chad_Armistead1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
786 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: £82 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea
Villas By The Sea Resort & Conference Center Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing