We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort to Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great Resort to Visit!”
Reviewed 2 June 2006

My family and I recently stayed at the Villas by the Sea over the Memorial Weekend Holiday and loved it! Although the resort and Island seemed busy, we did not feel like we were crowded on the beach or at the pool. Our condo was larger than I had expected and stocked with more cooking supplies than other condos we have stay at on Amelia Island. I highly recommend this place and would return again. My wife and I really enjoyed sitting and relaxing at their ocean front gazebo in the evenings while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    173
    66
    55
    51
See reviews for
197
199
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, GA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2006

Initial impressions were good. However, we had roaches show up the first night. Then, the roaches showed up in the upstairs rooms, even on the bed. Housekeeping staff came around knocking and entering the condos on the morning of checkout 2 hours before the checkout time. No manager was on duty at all on Sunday of Memorial Day weekend. The manager on duty Monday was only the "On Duty Manager". The general manager or anyone else with decision making abilities was gone for the entire weekend. The staff responsiveness was poor and there was not a single apology. The only response we received was that we had already gotten a discounted rate and that the general manager would be back on Wednesday. We will never stay here again and I will be advising everyone I know to avoid this place as well. We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GRGT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2006

Villas by the Seas handled a golf outing for 32 players flawlessly, from check-in to check-out. The facility sits on a prime piece of waterfront real estate on Jekyll Island and the newly renovated rooms are a pleasure to stay in. Staff is friendly and eager to help which contributed to a perfect weekend.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
6 Thank IronmanGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 12 May 2006

I attended an annual conference at the Villas by the Sea in April and once again I was impressed! I attend meetings and events all over and no other hotel has ever made me feel as comfortable as the Villas by the Sea. Each time I have stayed at the Villas by the Sea, which has been 3 times now, I have been greeted with smiles upon arrival and have always been impressed with my room which has always been different each trip. I look forward to my trips to the Villas by the Sea and wish more hotels were as nice.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 April 2006

We attended a Spring Conference at Villas By The Sea and we were all VERY pleased with everything!!! The Villas (more like condos), were all very nicely decorated and clean, it was nice because we could share a villa (we had a two bedroom) and yet, did not feel as though our privacy was diminished in any way. The meeting rooms were great and worked very well for our agenda, and the food was delicious as well. What a lovely place to 'get away' from the hustle and bustle of where meetings are usually held, (Atlanta) - no traffic to fight, and people are so friendly and the atmosphere is relaxing. We really felt as though what we gained from the conference was so much more than if we had been in a large city and had to worry with parking, traffic, whether or not the hotel we got would be close to the meeting site, etc. We will definitely use Villas By The Sea again for future meetings or even retreats, and on a personal note - I will be back for a family getaway as well! Very nice indeed.

  • Stayed March 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2006

My husband brought me here for my Birthday weekend. It was a surprise, and boy what a surprise. The Villas by the Sea is an absolutely georgous place. The oceanview from our Villa was magnificent with a beautiful morning sunrise. The grounds are well maintained and very tropical. The staff was very warm and friendly. Our villa was very romantic and cozy. We will be back for many years to come. Love it!!!!!

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank 151GMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2006

I was at the Villas by the sea for a conference and was amazed at how different and great the hotel was compared to others. Just by driving past other island hotels to get to the Villas, I could tell a difference. I hope that the conference I attended will be conducted at the Villas on Jekyll Island next year which I am sure it will be. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank beach31525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
702 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea
Villas By The Sea Resort & Conference Center Jekyll Island, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing