We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Hampton Inn for a family, but has annoyances.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good Hampton Inn for a family, but has annoyances.”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is what you would expect from a hampton inn on a somewhat private island. The rooms and breakfast are very good! And so is the pool. The ocean is a little brown. My bathroom floor was kinda sandy and had a loud vent. The walls were a little thin, so I could hear people. Also, there is no ATM in the building. Overall, it is still a good hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
I appreciate you taking your time to share your experience at our Jekyll Island Hampton Inn & Suites.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay including our rooms and complimentary breakfast. I have shared your notes with our housekeeping staff as cleanliness is one of our top priorities. Thanks again for visiting and hope you are able to travel back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    498
    140
    62
    37
See reviews for
686
778
47
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We went there for my wife's birthday. The place is beautiful. Walk the boardwalk to the dunes OR just sit and feel the warm ocean breeze. We spent 2 nights on the boardwalk, one night marveling at the stars and the next night watching deer play on the sand dunes. The lighting of the live oaks make the trees look like the fingers of God rising up from the ground. Rooms are clean, cool and well maintained. Free breakfast is an added bonus. My ONLY complaints are to some petty, but to me important. Ice machines did not work on 4th floor and 2nd floor, inexcusable. The bar is WAY TOO BRIGHT also. Bar prices are high, but the free breakfast makes me call it even.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrightsville, GA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We love Jekyll Island. We visit once a year. We normally stay at another chain but decided to try something new. We have had an excellent experience. Our room was clean and spacious, comfortable enough for 5. All staff was very nice and helpful when we needed them. Pool was great for after the days at the beach, which was secluded and not crowded at all. We loved the fire pit at night. We bought our own chairs and umbrellas and ended up renting some as well (Saul was a delight to get to know). Breakfast consisted of Sausage (in different forms) and Eggs which was good but would have loved to have had a variety of meats. Room services was given daily, only downfall was only enough linens for 4 were left so we had to ask for extra. The Bar was great where we purchased Smoothies for the family.There was only two issues: Only one set of elevators at the end of the hall and kids woke us at 11PM running above our heads. We will def return!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room; no ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmorris8882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was absolutely beautiful, not at all what we are used to seeing at Hampton Inn's. This hotel was decorated beautifully in the lobby and bar area. They have a very nice shaded patio area that can be used for special events such as weddings which is why we were there. In fact, during our stay there were three weddings/receptions held there, that says something. The rooms were big, the bedding was very nice and we were pleased. The beds to us were very uncomfortable because they were quite firm, which isn't what we prefer. However, some don't mind that. We paid the wedding rate which we found to be "ok" but the non wedding rate was really high considering. Because of the rich vegetation there is no beach view however it's pretty. There's a nice boardwalk to the beach and those with health concerns should know there are two tall sets of stairs leading to the board walk and down to the beach. Overall we were very happy with our stay, the staff were extremely nice and Sylvia the 4th floor housekeeper was very kind. We enjoyed our visit to Jekyll and would most likely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 403 and although it faced the parking lot, there would not have been a beach view anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winder, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Nice to have a new choice on the island, and the Hampton is lovely. I did feel that the rooms are overpriced. We were there for three days and never had maid service -- she always came late in the day when we were already back in the room and did not want to be disturbed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Room is good great location pretty much private beach hotel is not as friendly as I remember from last time I stayed here never have any towels at the pool and the pool is not as clean as I remember only reason to come back is location to beach.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lissa1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
It is a pleasure to have you return to our hotel. I do apologize that your experience this time wasn't as good as the last. We do value your feedback and I have spoken to our management team to ensure we do a better job ensuring the pool is kept up to our high standards everyday.
Thank you for your time and hope you do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Hampton Inn met and exceeded all our expectations and needs. Very pleased with our stay. We recommend this place highly to others. The access to the beach was very nice and safe. The breakfast each morning was plentiful and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 689cheriem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,205 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
387 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing