We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Considering Jekyll Island is a small island with few hotels to choose from, this hotel was a good choice for us. We had never visited this area before and were just looking for a few days to relax on the beach. We would have loved to stay at the Jekyll Island Club, but after visiting there for dinner one night, I'm happy we chose the Hampton.

Hotel - The hotel itself is kept VERY clean. I think the vacuum is running throughout the day, and you can always smell some kind of cleaner in the lobby area mid afternoon. That's always reassuring to me, I don't know about the rest of you. There is a hotel bar that is open from 11-11 everyday. They serve drinks and bar food, nothing fancy, but I was happy we didn't have to go off property for a quick lunch. Also, the bartender Rob is awesome! He was offering some good tips where to go and what to do and where to eat. Very nice guy!

Yes, breakfast is complimentary every day. They had a wide variety of things to eat from cereal to oatmeal to waffles. If you want to find a table, you should probably go on the earlier side... between 8-10am it turns into something similar to camp. People are crazy when it comes to free food and jockeying for position at tables. Crazy.

Beach - We love the beach. This beach is huge. It's not clear water, but it's calm and comfortable and you can swim in it without a problem. there did seem to be a jelly fish problem one day, but there's nothing you can do about that. I was a little disappointed to have to pay a rental fee for the lounge chairs and umbrella ($10/day per item). For locals who are driving to this spot, you can always bring your own beach supplies, but since we flew in that was not an expense we were expecting. It's not a long walk from the hotel, but I guess if you had to schlep all your stuff every day in that heat, it's a pain.

Pool - We are not really pool people, but we do like to go into the pool after a day at the beach. However, there were so many kids in the pool and it's not that big, we didn't go in.

It looks like they are building a Westin down the road, so there will be a lot more to choose from on Jekyll Island. This spot is great for families and a quick getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    469
    125
    55
    30
See reviews for
642
736
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My best friend, from as far back as grammar school, and I usually take a short vacation together each year just to visit. This year we went to Jekyll Island and stayed at the Hampton Inn. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was nice and the staff was very friendly. Since we are both older and walking long distances is usually a problem for us, we thought we would try for a stroll to the beach. Knowing it would be a long walk for us both we didn't take our beach chairs because I thought I had read the hotel provided us with beach chairs on the beach. After that long, long walk across a beautiful boardwalk we finally made it to the beach but not a chair was in site. Instead all the beach chairs were stacked on the boardwalk locked. It was much too far to go back to the room and get our chairs so we just sat on the sand for a short while then wandered back to the pool. All in all though our stay was great just remember to take your beach chairs with you when you go to the beach!.

Room Tip: There was two weddings being held on the beach with guest (and a lot of children) staying at the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanaof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel offers a wonderful location on Jekyll Island with direct beach access. We had a great stay and the hotel staff were very nice and helpful. We had a King suite which offered an abundance of room for two people to relax after a day swimming, biking, and touring the island.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tammie D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Though this hotel is relatively contemporary...it's nestled right on the beach. It also has a charging station as do many places on the island for charging the little "red bug" cars that are wonderful for exploring the island. One of our stays was in February and despite the cold we were able to use the 10 person hot tub because it is located 20 ft from the hotel door! I would have given this hotel 4 stars,but the service there was so good! If you asked for some extra towels or anything they were off and running. Not only were they efficient but they truly seemed sincere about wanting to make your experience nice. And last but not least the Hampton multiple pillows made sleeping away from home cozy. I'm sure we will come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coopermicll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Love the boardwalk that takes you directly to the beach! You get the quality and predictability of the Hampton Inn on small Jekyll Island. The bar was really nice, and happy hour specials were great! The best thing about this hotel is the FREE shuttle that will deliver you and pick you up to various locations on the island! So convenient!
Also, of course, you get the free breakfast and coffee all day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony NOT near the pool, so you don't have to listen to kids in the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillEJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our Hampton Inn & Suites on Jekyll Island. It is a pleasure to hear about your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the boardwalk to our beautiful beach! Also, glad our complimentary shuttle helped you explore our wonderful island. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The boardwalk right to the beautiful beach makes this hotel! We had a balcony room, not poolside, that was great and quieter than the poolside. Great place for families and kids, but nice for couples as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank karenl378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel need to be updated especially the cooling systems and also the noise level of children running up and down the hallways during various times of the night. Noisy and old looking inside. The beds were not comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing