We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot for a family weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely spot for a family weekend getaway”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My sisters and I came here for a relaxing birthday weekend getaway, and found ourselves planning a return visit before we'd even left. Our rooms were quiet, comfortable and nicely appointed, though we spent very little time in the rooms because of all of the other amenities. Service was, without exception, excellent. We appreciated that the staff was gracious and attentive without being pretentious or snobby. The dining room and common areas were elegantly appointed, and the grounds were just gorgeous. I only wish it had been warmer, so we could have spent some time relaxing on the glorious porch. We very much enjoyed dinner and Sunday brunch in the Grand DIning Room, as well as the VIctorian Tea. Vincent's Pub in the basement was a cozy spot to warm up, chat with other guests, and enjoy a few adult beverages. Although we saw quite a few families with children, the hotel was large enough with sufficient kid-friendly activities that the children did not detract from the peace & quiet of an "adult-only" weekend. Although I was reluctant to take the trolley tour of historic homes, I was very pleasantly surprised. The gentleman leading the tour was a knowledgeable and enthusiastic historian, and gave us an appreciation for not only what we were seeing, but the stories and culture behind the historic homes. Our final treat of the weekend was a horseback ride on the beach - wow. Just wow.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvisLoveChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    269
    90
    57
    31
See reviews for
240
581
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Hotel is steeped in history and is maintained beautifully. The staff is very courteous and hospitable. The room was large and well furnished. It is an expensive hotel but it was worth it for Valentines' Day and Night.

Room Tip: be sure to ask for the "out the door price", as there were add on's which were not men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNGREG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kutztown, pa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked the Jekyll Island Club during their 125th year special as a post cruise treat. After driving up from Fort Lauderdale our post cruise slump turned into ...cruise, what cruise.
Just driving into the club along all the cottages took our breath away. We had a king suite in Sans Souci and when we walked in and opened the door to our porch I was overcome by the view and the sunlight that I think I actually swooned as I sank into my rocking chair.
Fortunately we booked for two nights so had time to enjoy the grounds, explore the island, get in some beach time (on a wonderful deserted beach recommended by the front desk) and just relax.
I agree with the other review about the sounds of the birds in the morning, a great wake up call.
We dined one night in the Grand Diningroom, when we played Great Gatsby with my husband wearing his tux.
We have stayed in historic hotels in the past and in general avoid typical chain hotels--even the posh names and we agreed that this experience was the best we have had.

Room Tip: THe King jacuzzi suites in Sans Souci are amazing. Ask to face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

My sisters and I stayed 2 nights at the Jekyll Island Club in January to celebrate our sister's 40th birthday. The rooms were comfortable with very nice beds, linens, and amenities. The staff was exceedingly helpful - from the front desk, the valets, the bartenders, the restaurant and waitstaff, and everyone in between. We met not a single unfriendly face in the place. The food was excellent - I highly recommend the Victoria Tea in the afternoon, the Sunday brunch (OMG seafood), and the little basement bar tucked in down the hall from the surprising Lions Club library. Two of my sisters got in-room massages that they raved about. Definitely take the trolley tour of the historic village - it seems cheesy but the guide obviously loves his job and lent some real interest to his descriptions of the amazing old homes, their restoration efforts, and the families who resided in them. Also highly recommend the horseback riding on the beach - just watch the jello-legs on your dismount! The scenery was stunning and horseback is an excellent way to take it all in. I can't wait to go back with my husband for a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilpeanut44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying, once again, at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel and found our experience to be as special as our previous stays, and perhaps a bit more.

The Hotel is beautiful! The rooms, the grounds, the dinning rooms, the lobby bar, and the reception area, all speak of another time in history when staying at a hotel was a special experience, yet the guests can enjoy all of the modern conveniences one would want or need.

It is a delight to drive in and see men and woman playing croquet all dressed in white, and playing like ladies and gentlemen , or seeing groups of guests playing Bridge or reading in front of the several fireplace's available.

We have been staying at this hotel for several years, and have never been disappointed, The staff is amazing, not just in service, but the way they make a guest feel, as though we are old time friends or family, not just someone checking into a hotel. I would like to start with William, at the front desk, who took our reservations,and made our stay very special. We stayed at the Crane Cottage, which is so beautiful that we felt we were in a part of Spain! William made sure that we were well taken care of. Our room was large with a working fireplace, beautifully furnished a lovely large bathroom, and a view of the grounds and the river. Fun to see the shrimp boats pass by! Our room was taken care of by Belinda, a delightful person, who does a great job and again asks how you are, if you are enjoying your stay, as well as" is there anything else they can do to make our stay more comfortable or enjoyable". Special.

We had cocktails at the lobby bar. Mark, the bartender, is wonderful, not only does he make excellent cocktails, but he has this ability to remember the people , in his bar, both past and present and what they like to drink, as well! Mark creates a warm and welcoming atmosphere. One can enjoy their drinks either at the bar and meeting other guests, or one can sit in comfortable chairs in front of one of the 2 fireplaces and listen to the live pianio or have Jack, one of the special servers, sing to you. A special experience.

Dinner in the main dining room is fantastic. Our server, John Davis, was professional, knew every item on the menu and described it perfectly, as well as suggesting the perfect wine for our dinner. John's service was excellent, he never made you feel rushed and made sure your dining experience was the best, it was an special evening for us . The next day we were in the lobby and John greeted us by name and asked how we were enjoying our stay. Another special touch by the staff.

We also had lunch at the Courtyard at Crane, food and service excellent. It is a beautiful spot to enjoy breakfast or lunch. We were told by other guests that dinner is fantastic,

We only ordered room service once, and Ruby made sure that our breakfast was served perfectly and in a timely fashion.

When we checked out, we had Melissia at the front desk, who remembered us from previous years. Again Melissia, like the rest of the staff is professional and lets the guests know how important they are to the staff and General Manager, Kevin Runner.

We cannot wait for our next stay at this wonderful and very special hotel. Thank you all for a perfect and special time at Jekyll Island club Hotel!

Room Tip: The Crane cottage is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannedavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We really enjoyed our brief stay the Jekyll Island Club Hotel - we booked a small room - and they thoughtfully offered the next larger room upon our arrival. The room was totally satisfactory - nice sized tub for soaking - and all the amenities. We enjoyed the grounds - it is a most magnificent setting - and you feel like you are part of a very special place with all the historical appointments and the cheerful staff. The decor is tasteful, as befits a place of this grand manner - and we are croquet fans, so we played several times with members of the local club. Warning: It is an easy place to get used to! You will be back!

Room Tip: The prices of the rooms are according to proximity to the river - we lucked out and had the tree on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentStaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton SC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

On a return trip from Florida we took a detour onto Jekyll Island. We booked an overnight at the Club and were so sorry we aren't 't staying longer. Tried to book add'l nites but sold out. This historic property goes back to 1896. It was the vacation spot of the rich and famous during the turn of the century. It was basically a private club and members built these mini mansions for their families ... It all but shut down when world war 2 broke out. It remained unoccupied for 40 yrs and renovation began in the mid 80s. The property has many of the mansions renovated with others undergoing renovation. We stayed at the San Souci house which is right next to main building. We ate at the main dining room for lunch and food was reasonably priced and delicious. This is well worth the trip, but stay for several days. Biking is a great way to see the property and island.

Room Tip: There is a $5 fee to enter the island
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Resort Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing