We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jekyll Island Club Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want to step back into time when the Goodyears and Vanderbilts walked the grounds, this is the place to go. The hotel is old but the rooms and bath are very nice. Just don't get a room near the ice machine as the walls are thin. The restaurant is a period location and well worth dining in. Then you step outside! The summer cottages (mansions) of the elite of American society before the days of income tax surround you. You can easily spend a couple of days walking the grounds and touring the homes. A very nice weekend.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the ice machine. Noise all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipsnblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

694 - 700 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel was more than could have asked for......Food in dining room wonderful - historic surroundings - everything was perfect. Service excellent - idyllic surroundings ....Of course, a bit pricey.....but a wonderful three days on Jekyll. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had visited Jekyll twice before, and actually had attended a dinner dance there, I did so want to stay in this hotel... then the excuse arrived... Husband's birthday and Mothering Sunday. So off we went with another couple. The room they gave us to begin with wasn't nice, so I asked for an upgrade.The new room was lovely, with a view over the garden and croquet court.
Dinner that night was gorgeous, the dining room is a wonderfully historic room complete with chandeliers and plantation shutters. I had fish, others had veal and duck, all very good. The dessert was a chocolate turtle complete with 'sand' (sugar" ) and 'sea' (blue syrup). It was yummy.
the Mothers' Day brunch was a Spectacular.... buffet of omelette counter, all the usual bacon and sausage, fruit, baked goods, seafood table piled high with shrimp, crab, salmon and caviar. Cheese of all kinds, .. then roast beef, lamb, chicken and ham. Then the dessert table.. Ahhhh!
Two hours later found us on the croquet court, ready for a competitive game .. then relaxing by the pool.
We took dinner at Latitude 71 on the pier that night. No not a huge meal, just a fine soup and spinach salad.
We took our bikes out the next morning and explored the island. It is full of historic interest as it is where the rich and famous came to play in the summers from 1890 to 1942... the golden years.
Do stay here when you visit Jekyll ... you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for a double double facing the front in the main hotel building. They might try to put you in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishlady_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

When my 91-year-old grandmother read a book about Jekyll and begged for her family to take her, we really expected an ancient hotel with matching amenities and a dated sense of style. Boy were we surprised! What we had was an amazing time in one of the nicest, richly historic hotels we've ever experienced! From the stately, beautifully restored hunting homes for the rich and famous that greet you through moss-covered oak groves to the uber-smart and friendly valet and front staff, this experience is not to be missed! And next time, I plan to take the kids.

Pros: We took a tour of the hotel through the Jekyll Island Museum first and appreciated everything we saw thereafter with a more thorough appreciation of the past. I highly recommend this, even with kids. The tour is not too long and you'll even get to tour two of the homes (which is so worth it!). Secondly, the food is amazing and varied. Whoever wrote reviews of bad food here just couldn't have eaten what I did. And I ate at several different restaurants. Even the pub has an excellent bartender (Cindy), lovely home-y Cheers-type welcoming feel, and the food is ordered through the hotel dining service (which is excellent!). If you aren't quite up for a full morning breakfast, there is an on-site cafe with Starbucks coffee and perfectly delicious croissants and pastries that'll knock your socks off.

Cons: There is peeling paint in some locations. But if you've been on the tour and learned a bit of the history, you might even learn to see the peeling pain as a certain charming quality on such an incredible piece of history.
I can't wait to take my family (and my 91-year-old grandmother) back again. This place is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Jekyll Island Club Hotel boasts beautifully appointed meeting spaces and commons areas on absolutely gorgeous grounds. I enjoyed exploring the hotel itself and found my room, while on the smaller side, to be comfortable. There was quite a storm the night I stayed, and there was a lot of noise coming from outside the window where something attached to the building was clanging against it in the wind. This added to the haunted charm of the place. The room's bathroom had been recently updated and was very nice with a large shower/tub, toilet, and sink area. Having accidentally left my glasses in my vehicle, I found the valet staff to be very friendly and accommodating. While the mattress and room decorations cannot compete with more modern hotels that offer dream mattresses and down comforters, one almost expects more old-fashioned appointments while staying at a hotel with such a rich, storied past. I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apcoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

As soon as you enter this beautiful hotel you can picture the genteel ladies of the upper social class arriving in their gorgeous gowns with hats and gloves, of course. The woodwork is restored to it's original luster and the grand dining room is set to perfection. You can enjoy an "afternoon tea" in the solarium after exploring the island and before retiring to your room, which has modern fixtures, but retains all the glory of days past. Many of the rooms have porches surrounded by windows where you can oversee the fabulous grounds of the club.
Lunch or dinner in the dining room is an experience with food prepared by some of the best chefs in the South and smaller, more casual eateries can also be found on the property. All in all, a "must experience" .

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a porch or balcony. Well worth a little extra cost. Rooms facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cemrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

If you like the idea of staying in a well-run hotel with a story, this is the place. The fact that it was designed as a private club for millionaires means it must have quality and charm built into its structure, which it does. The hotel itself has a lot of interesting places to just sit and relax and the rooms are comfortable. The prices are reasonable for a hotel of this caliper with a range that allows for plenty of options. The formal dining room is excellent for dinner and breakfast--great food, really great atmosphere (the dining room was featured in the film The Legend of Bagger Vance), and true Southern hospitality with servers who know how to serve in a friendly, relaxed but professional way. Even if you just came to sleep and eat, it would be worth it. But there is plenty to do also. How many places can offer authentic croquet? There is a pool that's a bit small for a resort, but somehow historically appropriate. A bike path connects almost the entire island and is a pleasure to ride. You can rent bikes or bring your own. The beach associated with the hotel is not private but it is the nicest part of the beach (the north end of the island has suffered severe erosion) and has staff to set up chairs and umbrellas, a nice amenity. The hotel is surrounded by historic cottages that were part of the club and belonged to household names like Rockefeller, Crane, and Pulitzer. Some of these are owned by the hotel and can be stayed in or eaten at. The Crane house restaurant was excellent for lunch, but check the schedule as it is often closed for wedding events on weekends. A walk out to the pier finds a couple of restaurants not owned by the Hotel but nice also. The indoor bar at Latitude 31 was quaint, with a great view and a bartender who was delightful, and talented. At the hotel, we enjoyed sitting in the lobby bar before dinner just playing cards. This was an anniversary trip and the manager was kind enough to send champagne and strawberries our first night. In the end, it's the atmosphere of a Georgia coastal environment that lowers the blood pressure and makes you want to just sit for a spell on the veranda.

Room Tip: Ask about the different rooms associated with different rates. There are a lot of options, including...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
767 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: £138 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Resort Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing