We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best OLDIES still around.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
St. Marys, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one of the best OLDIES still around.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

my husband and I return to the main old hotel every year for our anniversary. we have never ever been disappointed with anything. the valets greet and hug us. the staff does the same. we have always enjoyed our stays and each time we try something new. last year it was the horse and carriage ride and it was sunset and delightful. we love the main dining room and , of course, the Crane cottage since my parents were friends with the Cranes in Chicago. I always thought it was funny when they said they were having dinner with the plumer and his wife.......the cottage also resembles many homes on the North Shore of Chicago so I love eating there. but both choices are excellent and we already have our dinner reservtions for Sept. I also highly sugguest any holiday meal here.....a tad expensive but oh so so worth it. I look forward to going back many many times.

Room Tip: we reserve a suite overlooking the pool in the main hotel. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antiques123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    278
    92
    59
    31
See reviews for
254
594
29
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was in town for a conference at the Jekyll Island Convention Center, so I opted to stay at the nearest hotel...the JICH. It was nice, and old. The room was small, the bathroom was a nicer size but nothing amazing. Worst of all, I had no cell service and the WiFi signal in my room was nonexistent. This is unacceptable in this day and age and for the cost of the room. Oh and there weren't many outlets either. I guess that's quaint.

Room Tip: WiFi signal doesn't work in 2215.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My now-husband and I spent four nights at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel in early June for our honeymoon and absolutely could not have asked for more. The property is incredible-- the buildings and grounds are flawlessly kept, the historic aspects all preserved, and the overall feeling is relaxed, genuine, and luxurious. Anyone who says the rooms are "outdated" is simply looking for a Marriott; the whole point of this resort is the preservation of the original finishes, architecture, and furniture. We spent quite a good amount of time just wandering the property-- there's that much to see and enjoy. We stayed in Cherokee which was amazing: we were one of perhaps only three other couples in the house and loved the quiet and privacy of being away from the hustle and bustle of the main hotel. No matter where we went the service was spectacular, from the beach club staff to the ladies at Cafe Solterra to the waiter in the main dining room to the valets. During the reservation process months earlier I had been asked why we making the trip to Jekyll Island and told the reservationist it was for a honeymoon. The evening of check-in, we were surprised with strawberries and champagne on the house-- talk about hospitality! The beach area itself was stunning: quiet and extremely private. Other than one slightly mediocre dinner at Cafe Crane, our meals were all excellent as well, especially two we enjoyed in the main dining room. All in all and incredible place, and we can't wait to head back for our anniversary!

Room Tip: Crane and Cherokee offer privacy and quiet that might not be found in the main resort building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getawaygirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Sadly we only had two nights to stay in this lovely hotel. Our room in the annexe, was very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had breakfast on both mornings sitting on the verandah outside the cafe soltarra, which was lovely. We had dinner on one evening in the Latitude 31 restaurant and on the second evening in Courtyard at Crane. Both meals were excellent.
We went to Driftwood beach and then along to the beach by the Jekyll island club pavilion. We loved it. Unfortunately there were two storms later in the day, so we had to leave the beach, but we sat in rocking chairs on the verandah watching the storm.
We wandered around the cottages and shops before leaving on our last day.
We would highly recommend this hotel, it was paradise!

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dotty003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was very impressed with the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. It is such a beautiful place. All of the employees were so nice and helpful. They were very accommodating with all of my questions and seemed to enjoy sharing the club's history with us. I like to take my children (ages 13 & 9) on historic vacations so that we may learn as we relax. We have stayed in several historic hotels, but this one by far was the friendliest for children. We will certainly return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We took advantage of the summer retreat special and stayed in the Annex. It was so good to get away to a place where one can actually relax. We never encountered an employee who wasn't pleasant. The room was smaller than anticipated but the charm of the Victorian style made up for the size. The Grand Dining Room has been lovingly restored. We had a dinner meal that was superb. From the appetizers to the dessert everything was well prepared, tasty and well prepared. The hot food was served hot. The desserts were all made in the kitchen and were tasty, even after a full dinner. The breakfast buffet was also excellent with many good choices. We enjoyed their beach pavilion and relaxing on the beach chairs with umbrellas. We got free refills on sodas. The pool was clean with good service. It was so relaxing just to stroll around the immaculately kept grounds and read about the various "cottages" with the Live Oak lined streets. This is a place to which we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the various packages that the hotel offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is is a fantastic place for a relaxing family vacation. The hotel and grounds have an old world charm that is simply impossible to replicate with modern resorts. We just got back from our 3rd summer trip here, and it was just as fun as the first. For many years prior, we would spend our summer vacations at more popular/touristy beaches, but amazingly our kids actually prefer the slower pace of things on Jekyll. I think it's helped them understand that vacations are supposed to be "relaxing". The parking lot always seems full, but the hotel never seems "crowded". I suppose this is because the property is so large relative to the number of rooms.

Don't bother bringing a bunch of beach gear. The hotel provides chairs, towels and umbrellas at their private beach pavillion (which also serves lunch and beverages). That's just one example that illustrates the fact that this is a truly full service hotel, and the staff is fantastic. During your stay, be sure to rent bikes (or bring them) to enjoy the miles and miles of bike paths around the island. Take lots of walks. The boardwalk paths along the marsh at sunset are amazing, and all the old "cottages" and live oaks give the whole place a magical feel. Be sure to eat dinner at the club dining room at least once during your stay. It is definitely key to the whole the experience. There are a lot of activities within walking distance including dolphin tours, ghost tours, museums, golf, charter fishing, shops, etc.

Room Tip: I would recommend calling and speaking with one of the booking specialists at the hotel during busin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
718 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
588 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Resort Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing