We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Historic Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel reminds me of other historic hotels like the Summit Hotel in NJ, the Coronado in San Diego, Turnberry in Scotland. The minute you drive onto the grounds, you get a sense of an affluent oasis from the past complete with the croquet lawn. The pool didn't look that inviting so we never used it (lots of kids and a bit worn). The Sunday brunch was one of the best that we've been to, complete with a pianist and service of a past era (we enjoyed dining in the sunporch). Our room was charming but the bathroom was a bit worn around the edges (it seemed odd to have an 80s jacuzzi in a 1890 room) - our room (in Sans Souci) was on the third floor and had a porch overlooking the river but the trees hid most of the river. We wish that Crane's Court was open but it is booked on most summer weekends for wedding. There aren't many restaurant options on the Island - we drove to one that was recommended on TA (the beach one) but it was in a tired villa complex so we drove back to the Club Hotel and ate at Latitude on the pier. The setting was beautiful with the sunset - but my entree of shrimp wasn't fresh and was a bit "chewy". I wish we had dined at the Grand restaurant in the hotel - probably much better food and the ambiance again looked like it was from an bygone era - very historic and grand.

The front desk staff was very gracious and when they found out that we were celebrating our anniversary the end of my chemo - they gave us a very nice room and sent up champagne. We were only here for one night so didn't get to settle in like I would have wanted to. I loved the historic photographs throughout the hotel. One minor glinch - after brunch I needed to go onto my computer and do some work and the wifi was very slow....I finally gave up.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DebinMillValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful setting. Food is absolutely fabulous! The staff is tenured and provide impeccable service. Great place to getaway for a weekend trip. Our business has held annual meetings here for years and we have continued to return because it is so great! Highly recommend for business, family or couples!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Lane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Right from the start we knew this was going to be something special, the hotel just oozes charm. Our room was at the front of the main building and looked out on great views of the grounds. The room was clean and very comfortable with a lot of old fashioned charm. There is lots to do around the hotel from golfing to walks to riding around on hire bikes, shopping in the historic district or just chilling out on the veranda which is how we spent some of our time just watching life go by.Do try the main restaurant, we did and were very impressed, the steaks were the best we ever had. The staff were very attentive and knowledgeable and made our meal a very enjoyable experience.If we are ever back in this part of the states we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: any room would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We just returned from a weekend gateway in Jekyll Island and we loved it. This Hotel is awesome! It's the place to stay in the island. It's right in the middle of the Historic District. It's actually part of it! Make sure you rent a bike to sightsee the hotel grounds. It's absolutely gorgeous!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We spent 4 nights at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel at the end of June with our family. We have 5 children ranging in age from 11 to 16 and they absolutely love this place. My husband and I grew up coming to Jekyll Island as kids with our families. We always feel at home at the Jekyll Island Club. You can literally park your car for the week and not get back in it unless you just want to. Everything you need is at your fingertips here. They have 3 awesome restaurants to choose from (really 4 if you count the pool bar and the food is awesome at it as well). Also you can rent bikes from the hotel and enjoy all of the bike trails around the island. Our kids especially love riding their bikes on the hotel property because it's mostly shaded. Jose and Mike will help you with getting a bike ready, and they always take care of helping us with our luggage. Both are super nice guys! The pool is one of our favorite spots to relax. The hotel always has fresh towels out at the pool so you don't have to bother packing your own. The pool bar has fabulous drinks and food. Don't miss the salads! They have a cheeseburger salad and a salad with grilled tuna on top. Both of these are the bomb. My kids LOVE the pool burger's and banana smoothies. Danny and Ashley work at the pool bar and always take good care of us and our kids. They serve up great drinks and food with a friendly atmosphere. The hotel even has a lending library. While here my two youngest children went down to the library and got a book to read. The Club Cafe has great breakfast options and feature Starbucks Coffee. Don't miss their ham, egg, and cheese sandwich for breakfast or their JP Morgan sandwich for lunch. Our kids love their pizza too! Overall this place is great for family and couples trips. When making your reservation make sure to ask for Katha, she's super friendly and always gets us a room that will meet the needs of our big family. Enjoy this little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: Just talk to Katha or Kendra they will get you set up in a great room that suites your needs! Sans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VSUer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent a pleasant weekend here and would return. You are definitely stepping back in time and should enjoy the ambience of this turn of the century hotel. Make sure you take time to walk the gardens and learn the history of the Club and its founders. Take time to visit Brunswick and St. Simon's Island. My only real negative is that you have to drive to their beach property as the Club is located on the Intercoastal.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Frances K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed from August 1 to August 4th and stayed in Sans Souci in a river/marshfront room. I have stayed here 6 or 7 times over 20 years with different partners, sister, friends, husband, etc. One trip was for friends' on site wedding. I travel a great deal and still love coming back to this property. Each time it seems to get better, too! There are more bike paths on the island, we loved visiting the Sea Turtle Center; I could go on and on. But the 2 best things about this place are the food at the Rah Bar on the Jekyll wharf and the friendliness of the Club Hotel's employees. Everyone seemed to want us to have a great visit, and it worked. The bellmen, our housekeeper (Kanesha), the concierge (Sherrie), waitress (Ashley), and our favorite bartender (Victoria at Vincent's Pub) are all top-notch. On top of that it's a gorgeous place with so many activities to keep you busy. The only minus was that the ice machine in our building was on the fritz during our stay. If that's the only complaint I have, well, it was a great trip.

Room Tip: Sans Souci, river-front, is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Margot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: £132 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Resort Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing