We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Approachable Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Approachable Elegance”
Reviewed 31 March 2009

My husband (a self-professed "average Joe") was initially intimidated when we pulled up and there were people on the front lawn dressed all in white playing croquet. Thank goodness for our valet, who must have sensed that my husband was uneasy, because he immediately made both of us feel welcome. You would have thought his only job was to make our stay a great one - which he definitely accomplished. He showed us around the property, provided us with "things to do" ideas, and gave us great dining suggestions.

Our room rate included free valet and free breakfast in the dining room. That, plus the charming room and the excellent service from everyone on property, made it worth what we paid.

One precaution - we were by far the youngest people there (We're in our late 40's). It is a lovely place to relax, but don't go looking for a wild time. Definitely bring a white outfit, because croquet actually looks like fun!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CableCarBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    269
    90
    57
    31
See reviews for
240
581
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Stayed at JICH late Feb '09 for a wedding. The $169 room rate did not include a $10.70 per day resort fee, and $20.28 in taxes = that's about $200/night for a smalll queen room in the main hotel. Although that's more than I usually spend on lodging when I travel, the resort was beautiful and the staff - once we got there - was very attentative and friendly. Stayed there for a wedding and called a few weeks before I arrived to get the skinny on the kayaking and canoeing. I left a messgae with the concierge but no one ever called me back. I did rent bikes (1/2 day for $9) and had a wonderful time riding around the island.
Be warned that there is nothing to do here at night and the club restaurants close at 10PM. My sister and brother-in-law wanted a late meal but no restaurants were open. The bartender and a woman from the Solterra restaurant made up two sandwich boxes for them - it was really sweet and they would not accept a tip!
Went on historic your which was also great ($15/$16/person I think). The Island is really beautiful but very sedate and not for those seeking a wild night life.
The wedding was held in the Crane Cottage and the garden just outside. What a beautiful setting for a wedding!
Overall, ther service was excellent. You definitely get what yo pay for at JICH, you just need to decide if that's what you want to pay for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lives2vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington KY
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed in one of the cottages. They were very private and personal. The property was gorgeous and we were able to tour the histroical houses of the countries former Wealthiest famlies. Very nostalgic for me. We only were in the hotel for dinner one night. There's nothing "to do" on the rest of the island so don't expect to go there for "night life". Purely a decompression chamber.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HEA_Russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2009

A member of Historic Hotels of America, the Jekyll Island Club Hotel was completely renovated in 2008. The property preserves the luxury of the Gilded Age while pampering the guest with modern amenities that are blended perfectly with the original structure.

  • Liked — Comfortable and quiet
  • Disliked — Limited food choices
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SavvyGAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Firts this is a Land mark hotelfrom the 19th century

Nice surroundings, pool heated, clean clean clean, quiet,
need the car to go to the beach, but they have the Pavillon, that belong to the club, with Cabana, parking, bar...no beach, intercosatal.

THE BAD
Room: charming means small, not even a queen bed, more like a full size , had to request extra blankets (3 ) to make a makeshift bed for my 3 years old daughter (NO WAY you can fit a crib in there and still move) we had the cheapest rooms (179$) I guess the more expensive have more expansion (hahaha)
and very bad coffee...

equipement in room: bar (packed, very epensive again), you are not allowed to put in you own things , even medication, supposedly for fear of cross contamination... how to you do if you need medications refrigearated or a bottle ??? NOT GOOD

THE GOOD;
, clean, quiet VERY good sunday brunch buffet, with usual fare: egg, bacon, fruits and extra like made to order omelet and egg benedict, salmon, pate, fresh salads, ham, fish...
Location, architecture
gift shop

hurry to go they are building on the island on the beach side 2 more huge places (yaks)

Would i go back...not for the night, way overpriced. go to the beach for the sunday, start with the sunday brunch, go to the beach, stop by the island welcome center


Maybe if you get a bigger room,(much bigger) and pay more money even though 179 is not cheap... maybe you get and unforgetable treatment...)

  • Liked — history, sunday brunch
  • Disliked — overpriced, small bed, small room, not so comfortable bed
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AuCaPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My partner and I headed to Jekyll Island as a post Christmas getaway from Atlanta. We were blown away. Happily, the hotel is an authentic victorian resort. The place does not try to be something is not and remains true to its roots.

We booked a room at Crane Cottage (a few steps away from the main building). We had the former mansion completely to ourselves. Our three sided room felt more like an apartment than a hotel.

The room was comfortable and had a great view of the old church, palms and moss filled trees. The bath was large, complete with plenty of hot water and jetted tub.

Note that there is nothing to do at Jekyll and that is completely the point. Wake-up and listen to the birds, eat, rent a bike and head for the beach is the itinerary for the day.

The history and homes (built by the richest men of the early 20th Century) of the historic district are remarkable. The white sand beach is immense with nobody on it.

If you want energy, dining options and nightlife -- stay away (head to Miami). If you enjoy history & architecture, and like nature walks, reading, and relaxing -- Jekyll is for you. We will return with expectations to do nothing.

  • Liked — Authenticity
  • Disliked — Other guests
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlantaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
287 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

We planned a romantic holiday getaway to the historic Jekyll Island Club. Unfortunately, the planned trip was trumped by the club's (and to some extend the Island's) irresponsible attitudes.

When we arrived on the island around 11am, we headed to the Museum for one of the Holidays through History tours. We left a message with the contact number on the flyers and from the website, but never got a return call. We verified with the flyers available at the Hotel front desk that the tours were scheduled to run that day (later we found out the lady who runs the museum had decided to take the day off.) I just wish she would have left a note (or changed their answering machine message) to say the tours would be cancelled, so we would not have continued to show up on time for each of the 3 advertised tours.

The next issue we experienced was at dinner that night. We had made dinner reservations for the Crane Cottage. When we arrived for dinner they initially could not find the reservations. After reading through the reservation list I was able to find my wife's name and some other words that could sound like our last name if spoken with an eastern European accent (which most of the staff has). Dinner was very pleasant once everything was said and done.

The following day we ate an average breakfast (not brunch) in the Grand Dining Room. I mention that since the package we had purchased included breakfast each day. Unfortunately, the big meal for that was advertised and that the front desk was giving hours for was the brunch. Luckily, after the chaos with the Crane Cottage, I had confirmed the hours and which meal our package included.

We ordered sandwiches from the Cafe Solterra and took them out on the bicycles for a picnic on the beach. This would have been perfect if the trails had been paved since 1970. There are reported to be 22 miles of bike trails on the island. Of that 22, three are nicely paved (south of the Club), five are smooth gravel and/or sand, and the balance is uneven asphalt (that actually caused the tragic loss of my dessert.) Also I'd recommend that you bring your own bike, the Club charges almost $20 per day and I think I will be sore for the next week.

Our dining experience in the Grand Dining Room that evening was the final disappointment. We arrived for our reservation, and found a fixed menu with "gratuity not included". Unfortunately, when the bill arrived it had a 20% "service charge" and then taxes and a blank for tips and the grand total. After pondering the service charge we decided just to leave a decent tip since the service had been good. On the way out the manager asked if we enjoyed the evening and I inquired about the service charge. He informed me that it was the 20% tip that they included and then pointed to the menu where it said not included. At this point he looked slightly embarrassed and took my name and room number and said he would take care of it. The next day when we checked out it was not taken care of.

Overall, the island is worth a day trip (only a $3 parking fee), but don't bother staying overnight. The food at the Crane Courtyard and Grand Dining Room are average, and the rooms are not on par with what you might expect from such a historic hotel. And finally, don't believe info from websites or flyers. The Island as a whole does not keep regular hours. We still haven't seen the Sea Turtle Museum or the Club Museum since they didn't keep their advertised schedule.

  • Liked — Historic location
  • Disliked — Bugs...lots of flying bugs.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sweagle97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Club Resort Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing